Galaxy jars or Glow jars

I first seen this project on Pinterest and I immediately knew that I wanted to make some of these jars.  I have a thing for lights you see.  I think it stems from being outside late in the summer whether using the pool, sitting around bonfires or parties that spill into the night.  I like pretty lights outside, not bright in-your-face lights.  Plus, low light keeps the nasty mosquitoes away, along with some citronella.

Around the pool I have tiki torches filled with citronella, a path to the pool is lit with solar lights.  My driveway looks like a runway with solar lights all down both sides.  Solar lights are lighting the entrance door walkway.  Then on the tables I have regular candles, more citronella candles and tea lights in various colored glassware.  So, you can see my love for soft-glowing light.

And then I seen this project and fell hook, line and sinker…

Galaxy jars or glow jars

mason jars or any kind of jar with a wide mouth works best
glow paint
small paintbrush
water

I bought my glow paint here or you can get it here, I can only vouche for where I bought mine.  The 2nd link the paint was a bit cheaper and looks to be the same.  I can say the paint is the only costly thing in this project.  I bought 2 oz. paints and I would highly suggest buying 1/2 oz. or 1 oz. paints because it does go far and is pricey.  It would also help if a friend or two were interested in the idea and wanted to split the cost.

I hope to sell some jars this summer as I bought a sample pack that consists of 5 (2 oz.) paints.  I’ve only made 3 jars so far and haven’t barely made a dent in the paint.  Many glowing gifts will be given this year!

I lucked out with the mason jars.  I always have some on hand but, I use them for canning.  Our renters just moved out of our rental house and left a whole bunch of stuff/junk at the house.  John found a few tools that are from the 1800’s though and could be worth something.  I scored with two big boxes of mason jars 🙂

So, start with a clean jar.  Stir your paint throughly to get the glowing particles all separated.  I just used the end of my paintbrush to stir it with.  Then you just dip the paintbrush in the paint and start adding dots to the jar.  I started with one color of paint per jar but, you can use more than one color if you desire.  This is what it will look like during the day.

Nothing special right?

Against a darker background.

Here’s how they look after drying and sitting in my windowsill for a few hours.  (They are supposed to stay lit 8-10 hours by the way).

Pretty cool huh? Do you know how hard it is to get glowing pictures in the daylight?  I made sure they had sat in the windowsill for a few hours then decided it was picture time.  So, where do you go for total darkness?  The closet right?  I had to have something to set the jar on and to be able to hold my camera steady, as glowing objects appear to be almost moving and hence turn out blurry.

So, into the closet I went.  A full closet mind you.  By the time I was done taking pictures, I tried to get out of the closet (sliding doors on a track) well, one fell off the track and the other one just fell off!  My hubs comes in and says “What ARE you doing?”  All I could do was laugh, cuz I’m sitting on the floor of the closet with my camera and a jar.  I’m sure it looked a bit odd.  But, he’s used to me so he just put the closet doors back on and went about his day.  No further questioning was needed…ha!

Here is the original post with better pictures than mine, I don’t think she was hiding in a closet though 😉

Have a wonderful Memorial weekend y’all and I’ll see you back on Tuesday.  And remember those who have fought for our freedom…God Bless!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Galaxy jars or Glow jars

  1. Jenna says:

    What an awesome, awesome project! And the fact that your husband just accepted the fact that you were in a dark closet with a jar and a camera–hah!

  2. Suzie says:

    One of the perks of being with someone for a long time, they don’t question your oddities 😉

  3. biz319 says:

    OMG, I’ll have to show that to my daughter – she’s pretty crafty! Have a wonderful weekend!!

  4. Rhonda says:

    I love this idea!! I have all kinds of things that light up inside and outside!

  5. Suzie says:

    Me too…love lights 🙂

  6. Veronica says:

    That looks so neat and will be a great addition to all your softly glowing lights in the yard!! I had to LOL about your photography escapade in the closet! And we’ve been watching Pawn Stars on netflix and that’s what I thought of when you mentioned the 1800s tools, that’s the kind of things people bring to those guys. So, tell John those old tools call for a trip to Vegas so he can sell them to Gold and Silver pawn shop and you guys can have some fun while you’re there. 🙂 Maybe you’ll be on TV!! Though I think the lines to get in that shop are crazy long since they’re on TV.

    • Suzie says:

      I’ve seen the show too, J watches it. Though I’d love to go to Vegas (again) it wouldn’t be to visit a pawn shop…lol! 😉 I am however off this a.m. for some shopping of my own…annual rummage sales…yay! Have a great weekend V! 🙂

  7. I have to make these, the my two grand daughters will love it! Very nice idea.

  8. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Love these! I saw some others that looked more complicated than anything I’d mess with…they involved metal, an awl, patterns of constellations…WTF?! I just wanted something to light up the backyard a bit, not a project that required an astronomy degree and these are perfect!

    And the falling closet doors…hysterical!!! Our hubbies seem to lead very similar lives…go figure?! 😉

  9. Suzie says:

    Oh no, I don’t do to many complicated crafts…lol! I simply puts dots on these, like the original poster did. Just a hint, they do need a full day of sun but, if it’s too hot the dots will melt to the bottom, they may do better in indirect sunlight. They don’t glow that bright for too long either. Yes, the falling doors is something we still laugh at 😉 I’m sure J and Steve are quite a bit alike.

  10. Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a while
    now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

  11. Kate says:

    I have a tips for you that might make it easier for you to paint.If you slice a clear plastic bottle with an exacto knife it fit inside the jar ,You can use scotch tape to seal the edges or end once your done, lay it flat, paint it, then slip it into your jar, it becomes far easier than to paint the jar it’s self and you can re use the jar. Also if it is non toxic paint, you can plant a cute little plant in it. I use small jars and plant grass in it for my cat.The cat could careless if it glows but I like it.

Leave a comment