Blackberry Vinaigrette

In the past few weeks I have seen some delicious berry vinaigrettes.  Raspberry-Honey Jalapeño and  Sunny Honey Vinaigrette to name a couple of my favorites.  Plus Chris’ blog has so many delicious recipes, you cannot just like one thing.  I must have 89 recipes pinned on Pinterest from her blog alone.

My Mom and I had picked some of my blackberries one day.  We had picked quite a few and we both found things to do with them.  Ice cream topping, muffins, pies.  Still I had more to pick soon.  Would you look at the size of these blackberries!  And yes guys, that is my hand and not a child’s hand…lol!
blackberries
blackberries
I was able to pick some more a week or two later and really wanted to make a blackberry vinaigrette.  I was almost craving it.

I had a couple friends over last Saturday and instead of cooking we had pizza and salad takeout.  I did make the blackberry vinaigrette though because I was craving it.  It went over well, they liked it and so did I.  In fact, I enjoyed it for the next 3 days as well!

Blackberries are most likely still available to you, especially my southern friends.  I would highly recommend making this dressing.  It was so refreshing, so tasty and for some of us, that last hold we have on summer 🙂

I looked up recipes and within a few tries, came up with my own. Feel free to add less or more of any ingredient.   I had fun coming up with this and will make it again…next year.  My berries are all done.  Salute to summer!

Blackberry Vinaigrette

1 c. fresh blackberries
1/4  c. balsamic vinegar
1 t. Dijon mustard
3/4 t. minced garlic
1 T. agave nectar (or honey)
slightly less than a half cup of olive oil
salt and fresh cracked pepper to taste

In a blender or food processor add all ingredients except the olive oil. Blend until smooth.  Slowly add in the olive oil through the top and blend until smooth again.
blackberry vinaigrette

Strain mixture through a sieve (optional) to remove all seeds. Taste to see if more salt or pepper is needed.  If you want it sweeter add a little more agave or honey.
blackberry vinaigrette

Enjoy!  Have a wonderful weekend y’all!  🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Condiments/sauces/etc., Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Blackberry Vinaigrette

  1. wow I am jealous those giant juicy babies were all from your own garden!! The vinaigrette must taste heavenly, Suzie.

  2. Gorgeous blackberries! And a great vinaigrette. 🙂

  3. Pinned! I’m guessing this could probably done with blueberries, too?! Thank you.

  4. Suzie, thanks for such kind words. The photos of your blackberries are just stunning, I can’t stop looking at them! And that dressing looks amazing, our blackberry season is about done but I’m pinning it!

    • Suzie says:

      Thank you for the inspiration to make it. Aren’t those berries scrumptious looking 🙂 When I pick them even the dogs are picking them along side me!

  5. I love vinaigrette, so delicious as a flavouring but I LOVE blackberry as well so together, it is perfect 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Nice dressing my friend…
    btw, how long this dressing last in the refrigerator???
    i think i’m using the canned blackberry jam since the frest is away too pricey….

  7. biz319 says:

    Not that it doesn’t look amazeballs, but I think I NEED to go to the link for the raspberry honey jalapeno one! 😀

  8. eliotthecat says:

    Good grief! Those are huge! Our blackberry picking season was over with in late June. I will save this recipe for next summer’s bounty. Thanks!

  9. Joanne says:

    So many berries! I’m jealous. And I did not have a single fruity vinaigrette this summer! Need to change that ASAP.

  10. Sam says:

    Sounds amazing. I don’t know why, but I’ve only made my own dressing a few times. I wish I could find some berries that looked that good!

  11. Holy cow, those are freaking huuuge! (that’s what she said) 😉

    I imagine this vinaigrette would go over well with me too. I love having a salad and fries with my pizza and like my pizza pretty spicy so I bet this would balance things out very nicely. The color is great too. I hope you’re having a great weekend, Suzie!

  12. Wow, look at those big beautiful blackberries and I love that you used in a vinaigrette!! Sounds incredibly delicious!!

  13. You know what’s funny…I don’t care for raspberries, but I love blackberries! Dressing looks nummy.

  14. Veronica says:

    I’m weird and usually avoid sweet stuff on my salads but I just tried a salad with raspberry vinaigrette and really enjoyed it. The sweet & sourness of the berries and the vinegar was so nice and refreshing! This sounds great. And I’m totally jealous of your berries. Those are from your own bushes? Dang I wish I lived by you, for so many reasons. But right now I just wish I had access to your blackberry bushes. 😉

  15. Sarah says:

    wow, what impressive berries! i wish i was your neighbor 🙂 this dressing looks amazing.

  16. Monet says:

    What beautiful berries…and what a wonderful way to use them! Thank you so much for sharing yet another delicious post. I’m hungry now! I hope you are having a great Tuesday!

  17. Tamara Faith says:

    I always enjoy making homemade salad dressings! This one will be a must try 🙂
    http://www.prettybitchescancooktoo.com

  18. themondaybox says:

    I rarely make my own salad dressing, but now you have me craving this one, Suzie! My favorite salads have a berry vinaigrette and goat cheese crumbles….tangy-creamy cheese, sweet-sour dressing, crunchy greens…..heaven. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe. I will be using little store-bought blackberries, no magnificent homegrown available, but I will be making this dressing soon.

  19. bec {daisy and the fox} says:

    perfect cook up for a summer farewell!
    sounds like this is the perfect dressing 🙂

  20. Rebeca says:

    greetings from Guatemala!

    I just made this recipe and it is awesome! (our blackberries are really sour) but it worked perfectly! thanks for sharing your recipe!

    • Suzie says:

      Hi Rebeca! Nice to have you here, I’m glad you enjoyed the dressing. I think I’d like the sour blackberries too, I’m a fan of sour things 🙂

  21. Pingback: Recipes | The OM Tree

  22. jguer016 says:

    Amazing find! I always stick to the traditional house vinaigrette and never really explore. I’m looking forward to trying one of these and changing up with salad routine. Thanks for sharing! Pinned 🙂

  23. This sounds awesome. Made a dressing way back then but have to go hunt for my recipe. Now that I found your blog and this recipe I must try your dressing. Thanks
    As I am following your blog, I wanted to invite you to participate and feature as a Guest poster with us, and share some of your awesome recipes on our blog?

    Have a look at: https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/2016/09/09/update-fellow-bloggers-sharing-is-caring-recipe-exchange/ and leave me a note in the comments with a link to a recipe on your blog, if you’re interested. That will be just fantastic. Hope to hear from you soon 😊

Leave a comment