Perfect Lemonade

Long weekend, short post 😉

Perfect timing though, since it’s finally heating up around here…yay!

Perfect Lemonade

Remove wide strips of zest from 2 lemons with a vegetable peeler (do not remove the pith).  Make 2 cups of simple syrup (see below), adding the lemon zest before heating.  Let cook then pour into an ice-filled pitcher.  Stir in 1/2 t. salt, 2 cups each fresh lemon juice and water, and some lemon slices.

To make 2 cups simple syrup, bring 1 1/2 cups each sugar and water to a boil, stirring until dissolved.  Let cool.

If you like a more tart lemonade, like I do, add the simple syrup gradually.  I actually used half the syrup and saved the rest for another batch.  Pucker up!

This lemonade is one of my all time favorite drinks 🙂

Source: Food Network Magazine

In case you didn’t see the picture on facebook I’ll show you here…

I took Friday off and scored big at some annual rummage sales.  I got everything in the picture for $35! Woohoo!  Preparing for being a Grandmama 🙂  So fun.  Did anyone else get any good deals this past weekend?

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Perfect Lemonade

  1. Jay says:

    Your lemonade looks yummy. (I never find anything good at rummage sales. Maybe I need to get to them before everyone else does.)

  2. Jenna says:

    Wow, that’s a great deal on all that cute baby stuff! You’re going to have a blast being a grandmama, clearly. =)
    (and tart lemonade sounds glorious. it’s been way too hot here in Chicago)

  3. Veronica says:

    I still have this saved from when you shared on f/b and I’m sure my husband would love it if I actually made it! Need need. Can’t believe the great deals you got on that stuff. Just one of those pieces would be more than $35 new! Wow!

    • Suzie says:

      Aww…you need to make him some, guaranteed to be a hit and then YOU will be the superstar 😉 I know, I really lucked out shopping that day.

  4. That is a total score! awesome finds. I love my lemonade nice and tart, I will have to give this a try!

  5. biz319 says:

    I am a garage sale/thrift store whore – I don’t think I’ve bought anything retail in 15+ years! 😀

Leave a Reply

