Garlic Herb Rolls

I was excited to make these because the amount of garlic that was in the recipe.  So, we’ll get right to it and then maybe someone can answers my questions that I have.  I’m so not a baker.  Cook, yes.  Baker, no.

Oh and notice I have lots of pics for something as simple as rolls yet, other blogs I will have one final picture.  I guess some days I like the camera and others I don’t or I’m really, really hungry…lol! 😉

12 garlic cloves, peeled
1 1/2 c. milk + milk for glazing
4 c. all-purpose flour
1 t. table salt
2 1/2 t. active dry yeast
1 1/2 t. dried, crushed Italian herb seasoning
2 T. canola oil
1 large egg, beaten
Coarse sea salt

Place garlic cloves and milk in a 2 quart saucepan. 

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.  Remove from heat and cool slightly.  Place in a blender and pulse to puree the garlic.  Set aside.

Place flour, salt, yeast and herbs in a large bowl.  Whisk to combine. 

Add milk, oil and egg to dry ingredients.  Mix with hands or a wooden spoon to form a dough. 

Turn onto a lightly floured work surface and knead until soft and smooth, about 3 minutes.

Place dough in a greased bowl.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until it doubles in volume, about 1 hour. 

Coat a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.  Set aside.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees. 

Turn dough onto a work surface.  Knead gently for a minute or two.  Form into 8 rolls (I made 15 or they would have been huge).  Place on prepared baking sheet.  Lightly score the tops of the rolls with a knife.  Cover and let rise for 15 to 30 minutes. 

Brush rolls with reserved milk.  Sprinkle with sea salt. 

Bake until rolls are golden brown, about 15 to 20 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool. 

Yes, I like love butter 😉

Recipe from One Perfect Bite

These were good but, they were very “heavy”.  We ate what we wanted after they cooked.  The next day though, even covered, they were hard as a rock.  The birds ended up getting them.  I followed the recipe to a T. 

My question is how can these be lightened up to be light and fluffy?  And what can you add or do differently so they keep more than overnight?  The garlic flavor was spot on, so I want to keep the recipe, just change a couple things.  Any suggestions? 

I’ve read cake flour “lightens” things up but, I really have no clue when it comes to different kinds of flour.  It’s kind of like speaking to me in Swahali.  Plus, I know baking is precise measurements and I’m not about to go changing things in the baking world because Lord knows what kind of kitchen disaster that could be!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Side dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Garlic Herb Rolls

  1. biz319 says:

    I am not sure why the biscuits turned into rocks overnight – so weird! I am not much of a baker either, but I make these mile high buttermilk biscuits – they keep really well and are light and fluffy. Unless you put sausage gravy over top of them like I did! 😀

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2010/11/01/phase-i-day-one/

  2. Jenna says:

    Yum!! Wish I could help with the fluffiness issue, but I’m just not a baker (alas!). However, the picture of butter melting has me drooling over here. I love butter so, so dearly . . .

  3. Suzie says:

    Paula Deen would be proud 🙂

  4. I suck at baking, so I am no help to you on this one. Perhaps just drink the garlic milk next time and follow with a spoonful of butter?? 😉

  5. Mary says:

    Try spooning the flour into the measuring cup rather than scooping it. Usually heavy rolls are the result too much flour. I am sorry you were disappointed with the rolls. Blessings…Mary

  6. Veronica says:

    These sound wonderful!! Love the garlic in there. Bread is a little tricky, but I agree with Mary that it sounds like you had too much flour. With bread, things like your humidity and the temperature can effect how much flour you need, so even if you follow a recipe exactly, the amount given may be too much or too little for your current environment and maybe even sea level. (LOL, after saying all that, I see why so many people on your comments said “I suck at baking.” It does require practice and patience!) When working with bread, it’s more important to learn the right feel of the dough so you know when it has enough flour. I’ve baked quite a bit of bread and still am not quite sure of that feel (I believe it should be not too sticky, but not too tough), but I used to add not enough and that’s just as bad as adding too much, making the dough too soft to rise with a mound and making a too-firm texture once baked. The happy medium is what gives the light texture. Hate to say it, but this just takes practice! But with bread, the practice is worth it. Homemade bread is so good! OK, here’s my tip, although I’m not an expert. Add flour just until the dough stops sticking to your hands as you knead. That’s pretty much what I try to do. If you add too much, you’ll notice the dough will be very stiff and might start tearing instead of stretching as you knead. Hope this helps…and don’t be discouraged! If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again!

  7. Veronica says:

    P.S. Cake flour probably shouldn’t be used in bread baking as it has less gluten, and gluten is what helps make the wonderful texture in bread. Personally, I’m against using anything but AP flour in any recipe. If you need bread flour or cake flour, it’s not a good recipe. 🙂

  8. Veronica says:

    Well, I mean I like whole wheat and other kinds of flours like rye, but when it comes to just white flour, I stick to all-purpose.

    • Suzie says:

      Well, thank you Miss V! I was waiting for your words of wisdom 🙂 I am going to give this another shot but, add the flour like you suggest. Or…could you just come over and make them? hee hee 😉 Really, thank you for all your input and suggestions and it’s good to know that all you use it AP flour, I will remember that.

  9. Those rolls look delicious, really brilliant blending the garlic with the milk. Every bite will be loaded with garlic. I could eat a whole batch warm with butter, (I wish)

  10. Raquel says:

    I would add maybe another teaspoon of yeast, as garlic inhibits yeast growth

Leave a Reply

