Baked Parmesan Garlic Chicken Wings

Wow! Has it really been a month since I last wrote a blog?  Yes, sadly it has.  I had internet connectivity problems, then all the holiday bustle and then well, I was liking being a bit lazy 😉  Since the Superbowl is coming up though, I thought I would share this recipe.  My computer has been “dying” lately and this has happened before, which usually means I need a new hard drive, so I figured I’d post before I can’t!

Each year we have a chili cook-off, soup cook-off or a wing cook-off.  The last party was a wing cook-off.  I had never cooked wings in my life.  Can you believe that?  My husband is a big fan but I always looked at it like, “That’s a lot of work for a little bit of meat”, so I never was interested in them.  I made 4 or 5  batches of wings and had my friends try them and tell me what one was the best in their opinion.  The Parmesan Garlic won by a long shot.

They also won at my party!  Even though I pass the prize to the next person.  I can’t host a party and win, that’s just not right.  But, I do like to compete 😀

So, let’s get started…

Baked Parmesan Garlic Chicken Wings

1 t. dried oregano
1 t. dried rosemary
1/2 t. ground cumin
1 t. sea salt (or 1/2 t. table salt)
2 1/2 lbs. chicken wings
3 T. melted butter (or extra-virgin olive oil)
2 T. minced fresh basil
2 garlic cloves, finely minced
1/4 c. freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 t. seasoning salt (like Lawry’s)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  In a small bowl, mix together the oregano, rosemary, cumin and salt.  Lay the wings on a baking sheet (sprayed with cooking spray) and season the chicken wings with this mixture on both sides.

Bake the chicken wings for 20-25 minutes.  While the chicken is baking, mix together the butter (or oil), fresh basil, garlic, Parmesan cheese and seasoning salt.006 copy

When the chicken is cooked through, toss the wings with the garlic/cheese/butter sauce.  Serve immediately.008 copy

Serves: 4

Original recipe found here with the dipping sauce.  I did not use the dipping sauce because these are so good on their own there really is no need for it but, in case you want it, it’s posted!

Have a great week y’all!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Baked Parmesan Garlic Chicken Wings

  1. Like you I have never made chicken wings for the same reason, I do however really enjoy eating wings. I love your recipe, they sound delicious and I agree with all that flavor who needs a dipping sauce.

  2. I don’t do wings either but I bet this would work for homemade chicken tenders. Or boneless chicken wings if you will. 🙂

  3. These look delicious Suzie. I don’t cook wings either…too calorie dense for such little things. But the seasonings in this dish sound wonderful. Might also be good on some chicken breasts! Yum!

    • Suzie says:

      It was my husband’s idea for the wing cook-off because he loves them or I would have never chosen it…lol! But, I did have fun cooking them and tasting them. Not something I will do often but, this recipe was a definite keeper and it would be great on other pieces/parts of chicken 🙂

  4. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Well now, I don’t usually cook wings (same reason, too small…may as well eat squirrel!) and since we have no TV we don’t have superbowl parties but…I’m thinking I can make an exception on making wings anyways just to make my kiddo happy…this has Parmasan..she’ll flip for ’em.
    Hope your PC keeps on kickin’ for ya!!

    • Suzie says:

      Girl, I love me some squirrel. I don’t post many recipes like that because I know it’s not the most common sometimes…lol! I don’t watch the Superbowl, in fact, I could not even tell you when it is. I know it’s coming up though because of facebook! I hope you and the kiddo enjoy Reb!!

      • MisBehaved Woman says:

        I grew up eating squirrel and never realized it wasn’t *normal* until a rabid bunch of kids took to teasing me about it. Who knew it wasn’t on everyone’s table?! The rugbrat left tonight for a few days at her dad’s…will let you know thumbs up or down when her majesty returns!

  5. Welcome back! We missed you. And just wanted to let you know that I made your lasagne soup for soup night at our poker tourney and it came it 2nd place! 😉 it was soooo good!

  6. I love wings, I think I just like anything I can eat with my fingers to be honest 🙂 These look delicious, and easy.

  7. daisyandthefox says:

    yum!! these wings look delicious!! 🙂 that combo of flavors sounds sensational!

  8. I see why they won–they look amazing, Suzie! Also, I’m so very glad you’re back to blogging. I’ve missed spending time here (though, every time I came to peek, it only made me crave your meatballs that much more, lol)…I’ve really come around to cumin in the last few years and love how you’ve dressed these up. I hope you have a wonderful weekend, Suzie!!! lovelovelove!!

    • Suzie says:

      Aww…thank you!! I have missed blogging too but, I kind of fell into a lull. Hopefully, that’s ended though. I do have some recipes lined up 🙂 I have only come to love cumin in the past few years too but, I am hooked now. Even sprinkling it on buttered popcorn…so good Ang!! 🙂 You have a great weekend too Squishy!! xoxo

  9. biz319 says:

    Um, pretty sure that would be a serving of ONE for me. Can’t wait to make these!! Thanks for sharing – have a great weekend!

  10. I actually prefer chicken wings to chicken drumsticks or the whole leg. These chicken wings look flavoursome and amazing!

  11. These sound wonderful, you’ve definitely made my mouth water. I just cleaned up the kitchen but I’m ready to head back there! 🙂

  12. Veronica says:

    Yikes, I was looking forward to this and totally missed it by two days! Man they look good, it’s no wonder you won. The cumin in it is something I never would have thought to add–I only use that with Mexican dishes, and that’s why I’m not really a cook–I can’t imagine how well flavors might taste together (desserts being the exception, for some reason I’m great at that-haha). But I can follow a recipe, and guess what? I’m going to try this one b/c it fits in with the way I’m eating right now. Except I’ll probably use the coating on breasts b/c I too am not a wings person. Not only are they small, which I can get over b/c that means you can eat a lot of them (yay!), but they are almost more skin than meat and I’m just not a skin fan. Thank you for (finalllllly) sharing this with us! hehe! Glad you’re blogging again too. That sucks about the computer….maybe your IRS tax refund will pay for it!

    • Veronica says:

      PS Did you use dried basil and if so, how much?

      • Suzie says:

        I knew you’d be happy to see this one V! I was waiting to get better pics and then I said, “Just post it!!” Lol! The wings I bought (in the bag) did not have a lot of skin on them. I did like this on the wings but, I’m sure it would be good on other parts as well. I would actually use tenderloins b/c they’re thinner 🙂 And now for the trick question…yes, I used dried basil (all I had) and I did not measure, I just shake until it looks right!! If you are following this recipe though, I would add 1/2 – 3/4 t. dried basil. I hope that helps 🙂

        • Veronica says:

          I do that too, eventually posting things b/c I never do get better pics. OK, so I made this for dinner using chicken thigh fillets (boneless) cut in half so they weren’t too big and it only took 15 minutes for them to cook. Dennis gave them 2 thumbs up! He really really liked this recipe. I wasn’t digging them much but that was because I’m really weird when it comes to meat and they were just too meaty for me, but I did love the flavor so I could tell this is a great recipe for people without issues. And guess what, I can tell I would love this for wings!! I will do that next time like a good girl. haha! Oh and I used 2 t dried basil and went ahead and put it in with the other spices.

  13. Joanne says:

    Parm is such an unusual flavor to add to chicken wings but I love it! Total fusion food. The boy would probably marry me if I made these for him lol.

    • Suzie says:

      If you go to Buffalo Wild Wings restaurants they are very common, that is where I got the idea 🙂 Then I found the perfect recipe online. It’s a match made in heaven…and yes, you should make them for the boy 😀

  14. Sarah says:

    ooooh, these wings sound fabulous! i love fancy wing recipes, while my husband would be content with buffalo sauce. haha…but i did email him the link for next time. 🙂

  15. I have the same stance as you on wings (so much effort for such a small amount of meat) but these look so great (especially with the fresh parm), I may have to give them a go. No wonder they won the wing cookoff 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Every time my hubs eats them I think “That’s a lot of work for that lil bit of meat”…lol!! He picked wings for the contest so I just went with it. I had to do a lot of taste testing and realized I do like wings but, they are still a lot of work! 😉

  16. PolaM says:

    Love these wings! They really look delicious! I can see why they won!

  17. Soni says:

    These look so so good!They’re uniquely different and I particularly love the use of cumin along with the rosemary and other ingredients!!Not surprised that they won 🙂

  18. LinsFood says:

    Hey Susie, these look extremely delicious, glad you joined us this month! Never thought of cheese on wings!

  19. diabeticfoodie says:

    Love this combination of flavors. I’m with you – no dipping sauce required!

  20. Stacy says:

    Chicken wings in all their forms are one of our addictions at my house. When they are finished, my plate holds a pile of the cleanest bones you will ever see. True story. Your Parmesan garlic wings look like winners for sure and I cannot wait to try them. Yum!

Leave a comment