Hidden Valley Ranch Tortellini Salad

Over Labor Day weekend some friend’s had a (last of the year) pool party and skeet shooting party.  It was a great time and I think I’m just as good as my husband shooting skeet 😀  We were asked to bring a dish to pass and even though my hubs does not like this dish, it’s always a hit and I bring home nothing.  Which is good.  I guess ranch is too close to mayo for him to even try it…ha!  I always get ask the recipe too, which means it’s yummilicious and people want to make it.  I must have been asked 15 times at the party!

I know it’s the end of summer but you may have one last hurrah to go to, or a baby shower or just some kind of get-together.  Or if you’re just clinging onto the last threads of summer for dear life, this will at least keep your taste buds happy.  This is easy, quick and won’t break the bank.

(Once again sorry for the picture quality my flash is still broken, it should be fixed by next week.  Seriously, these pics are horrid).

Hidden Valley Ranch Tortellini Salad

9 ounces cheese-filled tortellini, cooked and cooled
1 c. diced (cubed) ham
3/4 frozen baby peas, thawed*
1/2 c. Swiss cheese, cubed
2 T. minced green onions
1 T. minced parsley
2 c. prepared Hidden Valley Ranch Original Salad Dressing** (1 package Ranch salad dressing)

Prepare your dressing and set aside.  Toss all ingredients together in a bowl.  Pour dressing over ingredients and toss to coat evenly.  Chill until ready to serve.*I prefer to use cut up snap peas (normally) in place of the frozen peas.  You can use whichever you prefer, I just like the little bit of crunch from the snap peas in the salad.  Unfortunately, my store was out.  Hear that quite often don’t you? Dang small towns.

**To make the dressing I use 1/2 c. milk and 1/2 c. buttermilk and 1 c. mayo, it’s just a personal preference but, I think it really adds to the dish.  In fact, people ask what the “secret” dressing is…lol!

Double or triple recipe depending on crowd size.  This batch was quadrupled and filled a roaster pan to the brim.

Serves: 4-6

Have a great weekend y’all!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Salads and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hidden Valley Ranch Tortellini Salad

  1. I enjoyed the pics–and cannot fathom why one wouldn’t LOVE this dish–I just read about it and love it already =D

  2. Suzanne says:

    I love your no fuss recipes, you take simple ingredients and turn them into tasty meals. Love tortellini and this cold pasta salad sounds fantastic. It reminds me a little of a dish I used to make when my daughter was small, pasta, canned tuna, peas and mayo. So delicious, and took minutes to prepare.

  3. I think this dish would be perfect for any occasion it looks so incredible 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Veronica says:

    Guess what, this is another thing I’d turn into a meal! Saved! Don’t worry about the bad pics, it still looks good to me. And what the heck are skeet? lol

    • Suzie says:

      Skeet, aka clay pigeons, are a round clay disc approximately 3 1/2 inches across that you load in a thrower and then when you say “PULL”, they fire the skeet and you have to try to shoot it with a shotgun. It’s awesome! I did have a black and blue mark from shooting to prove how much fun it was…ha ha ha! 😉

  5. Jorie says:

    Yummm! Thank you for sharing. This looks like a great “backyard barbecue” recipe!

  6. Rhonda says:

    That looks super, I love pasta salads with big bites of cheese in them.

  7. MisBehaved Woman says:

    This is going to be awesome with our bbq pork tomorrow. I’ll have to leave out the peas but I bet it’ll still be yummy and will get gobbled up! Skeet shooting sounds fun, too. Never gotten around to trying it & don’t even know why. We always just shoot up cans and golf balls and whatnot. (And yes, we always clean up our mess when we’re done!)

    • Suzie says:

      Hope you guys liked it! I love skeet shooting. Our friends have the electronic thrower so that makes it all the better. You just push a button and shoot!

Leave a comment