Crockpot Chicken Tacos/Fajitas and Pico de Gallo

I crave Pico de Gallo more often than I actually crave tacos but, I was looking for some tasty tacos/fajitas to make for a weeknight or two.  I found one and it’s cooked in the crockpot while I work, even better.  I love coming home to the house smelling like good eats.

When I got home the chicken was fall-apart tender.  I barely had to shred it.  I skimmed some of the fat from the juice/broth left in the crockpot, then added the chicken back to it.  If it needs a bit more broth feel free to add more, mine was fine as directed below.

Do you have a favorite crockpot recipe?  If so, tell me what it is in the comments or leave a link 🙂

Crockpot Chicken Tacos/Fajitas

3 or 4 chicken breasts
1 small vidalia onion, diced
2 T. lime juice
2 garlic cloves, minced or 1 t. garlic powder
3/4 t. ground cumin
1 t. seasoning salt
1/2 t. chili powder
1 green pepper, thinly sliced (optional)
1 c. chicken broth

6-8 flour tortillas

Optional: shredded cheddar cheese, pico de gallo, sour cream and shredded lettuce.

Place first nine ingredients into crockpot.  Cook on low 6-8 hours.

After alloted cooking time remove chicken and let cool for a few minutes.  Shred chicken with two forks and add back into the crockpot.Let re-warm for about 15 minutes.Serve in warm tortillas and add your favorite toppings.(This is my hubs tacos, myself I pour on the pico baby!)

Pico de Gallo

4 seeded, diced tomatoes
1/2 of a large red onion, diced
2 habanero peppers, seeded and finely diced (or whatever hot peppers you prefer)
2 cloves garlic, minced
Juice of two limes
Couple of splashes of red wine vinegar
1/4 c. chopped fresh cilantro
Salt and pepper to taste

Dice your tomatoes and add to a large bowl.Dice your onion and add to the bowl.Dice your garlic and add in.Dice your habanero and don’t touch your eyes!  (I advise wearing rubber gloves to dice the hot peppers).  Add to the bowl.Add all remaining ingredients and stir to combine.  Let chill for an hour so flavors can meld. 

Chicken tacos/fajitas adapted from here.

Enjoy Amigos!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Condiments/sauces/etc., Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Crockpot Chicken Tacos/Fajitas and Pico de Gallo

  1. Delicious! I am ordering a slow cooker, been meaning to do so for a while. I love that you can cook without the stove and go about your daily routine coming home to a beautifully cooked meal. The tacos and fajitas are wonderful.

    • Suzie says:

      Oh Suzanne, you will love a slow cooker! They really do have endless possiblilites with them. Great for meals, soups, stews…you name it. Search online for crock-pots recipes and there are probably millions of them. Even desserts in the crockpot! 🙂

  2. Mmmm Mexican cuisine and crockpots definitely are made for each other 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. Katerina says:

    I love Mexican kitchen and tacos is always a choice when I go to Mexican restaurants. They look extremely tasty!

  4. Those are some great pictures of some delicious-looking food!!!!
    YUM. 🙂

    Bonnie

  5. Rhonda says:

    Those tacos look awesome, I love pico except for the darn Cilantro 😦 I think my favorite thing in the crockpot is definitely just a roast with some carrots and potatoes.

  6. Michelle says:

    THIS LOOKS AMAZING!!! My hubby and I both LOVE Mexican/Southwestern foods. OOOOH, yum. 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      The chicken enchilada chili looks delish. Wonder where I was when you posted that??? As far as beef stroganoff, I’ve been poisoned for life from that stuff, blame my mother. Never, ever force feed a kid! :O

  7. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Yum, yum, yummy! This would be a nice change from my slow-cooked pork that we’ve done just once or twice too often lately.
    I never use recipes, more like ideas and a loose assembly of ingredients but I’m sure you can clean this list up to something usable and edible:
    Green Chile BBQ Pork
    1 package of pork stew meat.
    1/2 beer
    2-4 Limes
    Garlic
    Onion (diced)
    1 can of Rotel green chile-tomatoes, unstrained (I use hot)
    Diced green chile
    1-2 bottles of bbq sauce.
    If you have time marinate the meat in the beer, Rotel and lime juice overnight before cooking. Dump it all together & cook until pork falls apart. And of course, adjust green chile to taste. The Rotel alone isn’t enough kick so I usually add another diced pepper or two.
    Serve with cold green-bean & cactus salad…dinner is done!

    • Suzie says:

      I could definitely see myself making this (except the cactus salad, I’d never find the stuff for it here). Sometimes I follow recipes but, usually I do my own take on them. They’re a good start for many ideas. Also, like you, I like to add a bit of kick to things! The hubs likes it more mild though, so I have to be careful when using hot peppers 😉

  8. That chicken just shredded up effortlessly—and pico de gallo? I could put buckets of the stuff on anything and everything–what a treat for a weekday meal!! YAAAAY SUZIE!!!

  9. daisyandthefox says:

    always love meals in the crockpot! – awesome winters warmers 🙂
    this one looks like the next one to try out!

Leave a Reply

