Water Chestnuts wrapped with Bacon

I’m always looking for new appetizers.  I like making them for get-togethers but, sometimes I can just make them to take for lunch a few days in a row.  Maybe that’s strange but, that’s how I roll 😉  This is definitely not a “new” appetizer but, one of my all-time favorites.  If you haven’t had these, you must have a party (even if for one) and whip up a batch of these morsels of love. 

My friend Kathy used to make these when she had poker parties.  I don’t know how I ever played cards because I was always in the kitchen eating.  Or maybe it was my game plan all along.  Eat and let everyone else drink, then slide into my chair and start playing poker.  Act like I’m confused at the game and get everyone to “up” the ante because they think they are going to take my money, then like a snake, I attacked!  I laid out my winning hand and took all their money…while cracking up at them and how clever I was.   Yep, this appetizer brings back memories 😉

Water Chestnuts wrapped with Bacon

1 lb. of bacon
2 cans of whole water chestnuts
3/4 c. brown sugar
1 t. worcestershire sauce
1 c. ketchup
1 T. garlic spread
1 t. sriracha (or more to taste)

35 toothpicks – soaked in water for 30 minutes before using them.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut bacon strips in half.  Wrap a chestnut in a half piece of bacon.  Secure with a toothpick.  Place wrapped chestnuts in a glass 13 x 9 pan and put in the oven.  Cook for 30 minutes and drain the grease.

While cooking the first 30 minutes combine the brown sugar, worcestershire, ketchup, garlic spread and sriracha in a medium bowl.  Stir until well combined.

After draining the grease pour the prepared sauce over the bacon wraps.

Return to the oven for an additional 20-30 minutes.  Serve warm and use extra sauce for dipping.

Makes approximately 34 wraps.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Water Chestnuts wrapped with Bacon

  1. Jenna says:

    Yum! My aunt Jessie made something similar for my sister’s baby shower, but the sauce was a dark brown and not as thick–I think she just used soy sauce and brown sugar? Anyway, I could definitely go for a few of these at lunchtime!

  2. Kelli says:

    These look so yummy! I think I’ll share the recipe with my readers. Thanks!

    • Suzie says:

      Hi Kelli, I didn’t know you had a blog. I tried to subscribe but, it wouldn’t let me. I now have you bookmarked in favorites though 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    I have always loved this dish, but lost the recipe. Your version looks wonderful and will be enjoyed by my family. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. Veronica says:

    I’m down with bacon wrapped anything, but water chestnuts happen to be one of my favorite things to eat (love their crisp crunch) so I know I’d love this. I like that you make yourself appetizers to take for lunch. I did that with your vegetable pizza…but this would be my dinner. The whole recipe. 😉

  5. Rhonda says:

    I would make these and then not share with anyone!! 🙂

  6. biz319 says:

    That is my daughters signature appetizer, however, she bastes hers in a teriyaki sauce – so simple and good!

    Have you ever had bacon wrapped around a club cracker and baked? That’s Hannah’s other favorite thing to make – so simple and delicious! We got it from Pioneer Woman a few years ago.

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/12/flashback_1981_-_holiday_bacon_appetizers/

    • Suzie says:

      The teriyaki sauce sounds good too. I checked out the cracker recipe….wow! super simple and they do sound good. I printed it off 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a comment