Chili (Award winning if I do say so myself).

Every year for the past 7 years, the first week of deer season, we have a cook-off.  The first few years it was a chili cook-off.  Then it was a soup cook-off and last year it was a wing cook-off.  I buy 1st and 2nd place prizes for the winners.  The competitiveness and the cook in me want to be part of the cook-off too though.  So, I enter and I’ve won many times with my chili, my soup and my wings.  Since I am the hostess (with the mostest) though, I obviously won’t claim my own prizes and they go to the next two runner-ups.

It’s always a good time with lots of good food and great friends.  I think our biggest year was the soup cook-off with 13 pots of delicious soup!  We kept blowing fuses in the garage with so many crock pots full of soup plugged in…ha!  It’s a time to brag about your deer you shot (or cry about the one that got away), it’s something to do when it’s cold out (we’re talking the 3rd week of November in MI) and you get to fill your belly with great homemade food and other goodies.  Yes, good times at the Shaw household 😀

I normally make a huge pot of chili for the cook-off, so I’m going to cut this recipe down for you.  This makes 8 generous servings.  Don’t let the long list of ingredients scare you.  It’s all in one pot and it’s simple to make.  Really.  All the ingredients just make it that much better, trust me on this one.  I iz a winnah! 😉

Chili

1 1/2 lb. ground sirloin
10 oz. chorizo
1 T. red wine vinegar
1 t. cumin
1 T. worchestershire sauce
1/2 t. oregano
1 T. paprika
2 T. ground black pepper
1 T. kosher salt
1 T. hot sauce
1/4 c. chili powder
1 T. dried minced onion
1 T. minced garlic
few shakes of sage
4 pieces of bacon
few shakes of dried cilantro
1/2 can of Bush’s medium chili beans*
1 T. syrup or agave nectar
1 (15 oz.) can of tomato sauce
4 c. beef broth
dash of red pepper flakes

Shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream and chopped green onions – optional

In a large cooking pot cook the bacon until crisp.  Set aside on a paper towel.  Leaving 1/2 tablespoon of bacon grease in the pan.  Add the ground sirloin and the chorizo and cook until browned.  Drain the grease off the meat.Add all the other ingredients except the bacon.  Simmer for two hours. 

Add the crumbled bacon to chili and serve while hot.  Garnish with cheese, sour cream and green onions if desired.  This chili, in my opinion, is even better the next day and that is usually when we eat it.  Oh, and with cornbread, have to have the cornbread.

(Thanks to google for the above image, I forgot to take a final picture and this is very close!)

*My hubs is not fond of beans but, I try to sneak in a few because I like them.  He then proceeds to pick every single one out of his chili.  So, add the whole can if you like or omit them altogether if you’re not a bean fan.

If it’s still hot where you live, I hate you, bookmark this for the fall.  I guarantee you won’t be disappointed 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Chili (Award winning if I do say so myself).

  1. Jenna says:

    Your cook-off sounds like so much fun! And this chili recipe looks veeeery freezer-friendly . . . =)

  2. Veronica says:

    I love that you do this chili cook-off every year, what a fun thing to do. I remember this yumtastic chili and how spicy it is–I know you iz a winnah! 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      I hope to have it again this year but, each year the hubs get more grumbly about my parties. I didn’t have my tubing one this summer and that would have been 13 years in a row 😦 Hopefully, the fall party keeps on going 🙂

  3. Veronica says:

    Now I’m craving chili and beer bread. Arg!

  4. I never thought to add sage–I completely agree that this is award winning! YUMMY!!

  5. I deem it award winning my friend, it looks ridiculously delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Yum, yum, yum! I’ll have to bookmark it though. 90 degrees here today. Let the hate begin! 😉

    • Suzie says:

      Lol! Really, I’m just envious. I would love to have your weather. I already closed the pool up and had my fall jacket on this morning. Oh, and I snuck the furnace on too…shhh! 😉

  7. biz319 says:

    Um, why the fuck haven’t I thought of putting chorizo in my chili??!?!!! You will love me because I am going to make this. And you know what’s been staring me in the face all day in our office kitchen? Bags and bags of cheddar jalapeno cheetos! (I have an hour before I leave work, so hopefully I won’t cave!)

    • Suzie says:

      Lol! You crack me up Biz! That’s awesome that your going to make it 🙂 Omg! Not the dreaded cheetos, especially the jalapeno ones. Please tell me your boss didn’t buy them just to torture you…lol! 😉 You won’t cave, I have faith!

      • biz319 says:

        I made this. Its amazeballs. The only thing I did different was not add the hot sauce (my husband is a wimp!) and I reduced the beef broth to 3 cups and added 1 can of black beans and 1 can of white beans to thicken it up, because even after a couple hours it was soupy. I cooked it down another hour this morning – aweseome flavor combination – I don’t think I’ll make another pot of chili without chorizo!

        • Suzie says:

          Biz!! That is so cool! If you describe something as amazeballs, I know I’m a winner. Thanks so much for letting me know and my hubs likes less (or no) hot sauce too…lol! Gotta’ love our wimps though 😉 hee hee! I am making your onion rings tomorrow!! Woot!

  8. Rhonda says:

    It is 93 here right now, at 6pm 🙂 That chili looks awesome and the idea of adding the bacon is genius. My husband would pick out the beans too 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      93 at 6 pm…I wish!! So envious of you hot weather people 🙂 My son is in TX and teases me all the time. Had to laugh about Tom picking out the beans too. 😉

  9. Pingback: Go ahead and take two bites of the cake. « My Bizzy Kitchen

  10. Pingback: Broccoli Rabe Pesto … Pasta « My Bizzy Kitchen

  11. Noah says:

    It is sixty where i live, and i have to say i am not all that happy about it.;)I live in western Pennsylvania, the keystone state.You should visit my blog.Its new so please comment.

  12. Pingback: Fully Loaded Vegetarian Salsa Chili | Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a comment