Asian Beef-Noodle Soup with Spinach, Mint and Basil

Yep, yep, I’m still on a soup kick!  It did warm up for about 2.5 days and now it’s cold again (frost last night!) so bear with me on the soup guys.  Besides, I love soup 365 days a year!  Who’s with me?

I won this cookbook from a friend’s blog, thank you Renee!  And I have used it quite a bit so far, I just need to get blogging so I can show you I’ve been using it.  This cook book is fun and whimsical, super-easy recipes and tips galore.  I love it!

So, let’s get onto the title recipe 😀

Asian Beef-Noodle Soup with Spinach, Mint and Basil

8 oz. uncooked soba noodles, whole wheat fusilli/spaghetti, or rice vermicelli (I used whole wheat fusilli)
6 c. reduced-sodium beef broth
3 T. hoisin sauce
1 T. each reduced-sodium soy sauce, grated ginger root, sesame oil and freshly squeezed lime juice
12 oz. beef tenderloin (or flank steak) thinly sliced
3 c. chopped fresh spinach leaves or baby spinach
1/3 c. chopped green onions
1/4 c. each chopped fresh mint leaves and chopped fresh basil leaves
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 c. bean sprouts

Chop your veggies as stated above.  Try not to eat too many.  Okay, maybe I only have that problem 😉
asian soup

Cook noodles according to package directions.  Drain, set aside and keep warm until soup is ready to serve.  I put my noodles in a ziploc bag with the called for sesame oil to keep them warm and non-sticky.
asian soup2

Cook beef in a separate skillet.  Cook for about 3 minutes.  Set aside.
asian soup3

In a large pot, combine beef broth, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, ginger root, sesame oil (if you did not add it to the noodles) and lime juice.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 3 minutes.

Add spinach, green onions, mint and basil.  Simmer for 5 more minutes.  Taste soup and add salt and pepper, if desired.

To serve soup, place some cooked noodles in the bottom of a soup bowl.
asian soup4

(You can chop the noodles into shorter pieces if you used spaghetti).  Top with a few bean sprouts (I skipped the bean sprouts, not a huge fan) and ladle hot soup over the top.  Serve immediately.
asian soup5
asian soup6
Yield:  6 servings  (my pictures are for 3 servings, don’t be misled, I cut almost everything in half).  Recipe source:  Slightly adapted from: The Looneyspoons Collection Cookbook page 75.

Have a wonderful weekend y’all!! 😀

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Asian Beef-Noodle Soup with Spinach, Mint and Basil

  1. The rate we’re going with this weather we’ll need more soup recipes! Though this weekend should be nice. I hope so. Blue fingernails is not a good look for me. 🙂 This looks yummy.

  2. It’s cold here too, we warmed up for a few days but back in the 40’s and soup is in order. Love your Asian soup!

  3. Your soups (well all of your food) always looks so dang good!! I’m so glad you are enjoying the cookbook. 🙂 I was lucky enough to escape this awful weather last week, but I’ve really had enough of it! Until it warms up, this soup is just the right thing to serve on these never ending cold days and nights!! (Can you believe it was in the 80’s this time last year??)

    • Suzie says:

      Thank you! I love the cookbook, my girlfriend has told me she may steal it…lol! Why did you not take me in your suitcase Renee? I would have been good 😀 I seen the pictures and you were lucky to get away and enjoy nice weather and good food! Yep, I remember it got into the 90’s even last year.

  4. Sam says:

    This look soooo good. I’ve decided that Spring is never coming to Ohio, which makes me very sad.

  5. Jane says:

    Yum, I love soups too, Those flavors sound awesome together!

  6. MisBehaved Woman says:

    It looks yummy! Bookmarked this one for a later time though…we’ve kicked Old Man Winter’s butt out of NM and it’s already too hot to think about soup, dammit. (And don’t say they’re great all year…hot soup in 90-100 temps is just begging for misery!) We’re already busting mid-80’s, we’re gonna melt into the mid-100’s before the end of May…got any good ice recipes??? hehehehe

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, my son and his wife are in TX and said, no way to the soup! I really can eat it all year long. Even in hot weather. I am strange like that 😉 I will have some ice cream and sorbet recipes coming soon, so get ready to chill with those! I think a few cubes of ice down Steve’s back may start a fun ice game 😀

  7. biz319 says:

    You can never have too many soup recipes! I have a leftover beef roast that might work well in this soup – although I love bean sprouts, so I’ll be adding that to mine! Although, now that I think of it, I haven’t made your lasagna soup in almost three weeks!

    • Suzie says:

      What?!? Three weeks are you kidding me Biz? ha ha ha!! I should have said I don’t mind bean sprouts but, mine were a few days old and they scared me…lol!

  8. Sarah says:

    this looks so yummy! i’m with you–soup can be had anytime of the year 🙂

  9. This sounds ad looks fantastic, what a fun, unique and flavorful soup!

  10. Rhonda says:

    I wish I could send you some of our 90 degree temperatures!! This soup looks delicious.

    • Suzie says:

      Wouldn’t it be nice if we could send each other a few degrees one way or the other? I would take all of your 90 degree days or higher!

  11. This looks so good! I love Asian food…I’d have to say it’s my favorite cuisine 🙂 I love that there is mint in this soup! I bet that is delicious…

    • Suzie says:

      One of my favorite’s too Ashley. I just need to make it more 🙂 I was unsure of the mint in the soup but, it totally worked 🙂

  12. This is the soup perfect for all the year round, Suzie. Delicious!

  13. Joanne says:

    What a perfect soup for this weird in-between weather we’ve been having!! Love it’s filled with Asian flair.

  14. Random note: I don’t know if I ever told you but my middle name is Suzie AND I had pho last night for dinner…it’s official, we’re soul mates, Suzie! I love all the herb-age floating in this soup and your broth sounds so comforting and velvety…what a lovely way to kick start a Friday/weekend…yesterday was cold and rainy here but hoping for warmer days soon *fingers crossed* LOOOOOVE you, Suzie!

  15. Suzie says:

    No, I didn’t know that! I love it soul sisters! 🙂 Yes, we’re hoping for some warmer weather too. My doggies have a play date today and it’s kinda’ chilly but, we’ll still all have fun! I heart you too 😀

  16. eliotthecat says:

    That looks delicious. It was a beautiful 70 degree day here but now it is getting cloudy. I am sure we will have sleet again (as we did on Wednesday) before long. 🙂

  17. Totally loving your soup recipes! They’re helping me prepare for the cold that’s about to come here in Australia!

  18. I love soup in the cooler weather and it really is starting to cool down here!! I will have to try this soup, it looks like such a light and delicious broth.

  19. Wendy says:

    I love making soup! There is something so satisfying about a finished product that warms body and soul (and makes great left overs)! I am intrigued by the herb combination in this soup. Next soup day, I’ll be giving this a try. Thanks!

  20. I love soups all year too – and this one looks very tasty! Asian flavors are always welcome 🙂

  21. All of a sudden, it got super cold here so we’re definitely in need of some new soup recipes! This look delicious, especially with all of the fresh greens.

  22. I’ve just discovered your blog and I love it !!! This recipe looks really tasty !! And the photos are beautiful as well !

  23. Karen says:

    Your soup sounds delicious. It has been cold here in New England with a little snow forecasted for tomorrow…your soup would be most welcome.

  24. Tina Evans says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to try this 🙂

  25. Veronica says:

    Wheee! I love this! I’ve been really digging Vietnamese soups lately–v cool to have a simple recipe I can make at home. If you ever come to KS, I will take you to my favorite pho place!

Leave a Reply

