Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Shrimp cocktail has to be one of my all-time favorite appetizers.  I mean what’s not to love right?  Unless you are allergic to shellfish, I’d say this remains a favorite in many households.  Well, saddle up girls and boys because there’s a new shrimp cocktail in town and it’s kickin’ some cowboy badonkadonk!

Yessiree, I’m talking about spiced up, kick yo’ booty deliciousness here with mexican shrimp cocktail.  Make some you’ll thank me later.

P.S. I’ll take my thank-you’s in food form too, you know where I live 😉

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

1 lb. cooked, peeled, deveined large shrimp (tails off)
2/3+ c. cocktail sauce
1 1.2 T. extra-virgin olive oil
1-2 t. hot sauce (to taste, I used tabasco)
1 t. worcestershire sauce
1 t. horseradish
1/2 t. dried onion or 1 T. minced onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced (leave some seeds in if you like the heat!)
dash of parsley flakes
dash of oregano flakes
1/2 t. dried cilantro flakes
fresh ground pepper (to taste)
pinch or two of kosher salt
splash of lime juice

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl, except shrimp.

Add the shrimp and toss gently to coat.

Chill to let the flavors and heat soak into the scrimp’s 😉  Serve cold with a chilled cerveza.

This is supposed to be an appetizer.  I can’t tell you how many nights it has just become dinner…mmm!  Do you turn appetizers into a meal?

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

  1. Jenna says:

    Appetizers can always be turned into meals! They’re just that tasty. =) And I love the word “badonkadonk”–thank you for the reminder to use it on every occasion possible.

  2. Suzie says:

    Lol Jenna! Enjoy using the word, I think it’s fun too 🙂

  3. Veronica says:

    Badonkadonk-love that you used that. And now I see I’m not the only one. This looks deeeelish, and I will def be making it for a meal! I never eat appetizers but always turn them into meals. This one’s totally meal worthy!

  4. biz319 says:

    I saw that in a Mexican restaurant before – but they served it in like a tall sundae glass with an ice tea spoon – turns out it had calamari, scallops and shrimp in that cocktail – cannot wait to try this!

    Check out my no fail shrimp cocktail recipe:

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2009/10/18/best-shrimp-cocktail-ever/

    I need to buy shrimp – stat!

    • Suzie says:

      Checked out Tony’s version and yes, it looks great. I will def be trying that!! I usually serve these in a margarita glass but, I was being lazy…lol!

  5. This is such a cool take on shrimp 😀
    Looks delicious for seafood loving friends, thank you!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Sam says:

    Your posts always make me smile 🙂 These look delicious, I’m heading to Whole Foods today, and now I have to buy fresh shrimp to try this!

  7. Great idea and a wonderful twist on traditional shrimp cocktail. Really like the Mexican flavors.

  8. Mary says:

    Suzie,you’ve come up with something really special. I have to try this. My cowboys will love this spicy sport. Have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a comment