Linguine and red clam sauce

I love pasta and I love clams.  So, on the menu this certain night was Linguine with red clam sauce.  Of course anything with clams in it and I’m guaranteed to be eating solo.  Well, I do have the dogs for company.  They never turn their noses up to any of my food!  John claims that clams are slimy though he eats mushrooms and I think they are slimy.  What the heck dude?  I’ll eat mushrooms on certain things but, they aren’t on the top of my list. 

Even though I cut this recipe in half when I made it, I still had plenty for dinners and lunches!   A great dish for guests, as long as they’re not persnickety. 

Linguine with red clam sauce

1 T. olive oil
1 c. chopped onion
6 canned anchovy fillets, drained and chopped
3 clove garlic, chopped
1/2 t. dried crushed red pepper
2 (14.5 oz.) cans of Italian-style diced tomatoes
4 (6.5 oz.) cans of chopped clams
1/2 c. dry red wine
3 T. tomato paste

1 pound freshly cooked linguine
Chopped fresh parsley
Grated parmesan cheese (optional)

Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium-heat.  Add onion and saute 3 minutes.  Add anchovies, garlic and dried red pepper; saute 2 minutes.  Mix in the diced tomatoes with juices, clams with juices, wine and the tomato paste.  Bring the sauce to a boil, while constantly stirring.  Reduce heat to low and simmer until it’s slightly thickened, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile cook the linguine as directed.  Luckily I cut this recipe in half because here is where the other half ended up.

On the dog-hair covered floor.  At least it was pasta and not a steak!  Pick-up-Stix anybody?  Ha! Remember that game or am I showing my age? hee hee

Add (good) linguine to sauce and toss to coat.  Season with salt and pepper. 

Transfer to a large serving bowl.  Sprinkle with parsley.  Serve with parmesan cheese, if desired. I never did get a picture of this plated.  Either I forgot or I was a hungry girl 😉

Yield:  4-6 servings. 

*I cut this recipe in half and it still made a lot.  So, the serving sizes are big if a full recipe serves 4-6 people.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Linguine and red clam sauce

  1. Jenna says:

    Looking good–and I totally remember pick up stix! I was obsessed with it when I was young.

  2. That looks delicious! Where were the dogs when all that pasta hit the floor, mine would have been on it in a heartbeat 🙂 And my husband wouldn’t even be in the room if I opened a can of clams 🙂

  3. biz319 says:

    You are right – at least you dropped cheap pasta and not a steak on the floor! I’ve never tried clams, but I found out recently I like mussels! 😀

    Happy Friday!

  4. Mary says:

    This really sounds delicious,.I usually use white clam sauce to dress my pasta, but you’ve convinced me to give your red sauce a try. I hope you have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

  5. Veronica says:

    I love that you said persnickety. I don’t hear it a lot but my family has always used that word. 🙂 I only had clam sauce once and was not a fan of the fishy taste in the sauce. Then I added anchovies to a red sauce once to deepen the flavor and now I really can’t stand fishy flavor in my sauce (I added too much and it made me want to hurl.) So I’ll pass on the sauce but it does look tremendous! I would try anything you made me, John needs to broaden his horizons! lol

    • Suzie says:

      I prefer the white clam sauce myself but, wanted to try this. The white remains a favorite. This was just ok to me. But some may love it so I post them anyways 😉 I agree about John and guess what? Since we’ve been together they’ve actually broadened, so you can imagine what he used to be like…eek!

Leave a comment