Simple bird feeder and cleaning the grill

I seen both of these topics on Pinterest.  Now that I finally have unlimited internet I can get back to surfing Pinterest late at night when I can’t sleep!

I had picked up a cup and saucer at a yard sale probably two years ago.  Why did I buy a single cup and saucer?  Because they were pretty.  Yep, no logic to it, they were just pretty.  Then they sat in my front porch area collecting dust and no one ever saw them.  I came across this simple bird feeder and immediately knew what I was going to do with that cup and saucer.

At first I used super glue, but that only lasted a couple of days and the saucer came off.  Next I tried hot glue and it held strong for 2 weeks.  Finally, I asked the hubs (a mechanic) what to use and he suggested GOOP.  Worked like a charm and hasn’t come off in over a month!  (I found it at Ace Hardware, I also bought the marine kind that would be suitable for outdoor crafts).
Goop glue

An epoxy would also work, just make sure it is suitable for outdoor use.

And here it is, you simply glue the cup and saucer together.  Handle side obviously goes up to use as a hook.
bird feeder cup and saucer
Fill it with birdseed and hang it up.  I let mine dry overnight first.
bird feeder cup and saucer
Cute little project isn’t it?  With only 2 pieces, that you can pick up at sales all summer long 🙂  I hung mine on a shepherd’s hook.  I usually have hanging baskets on them but, I did bird feeders this year.

The next thing I seen on Pinterest was how to clean your grill grates the easy way.  The little work you have to do comes the next day.

I tested this on one of the three grill grates, to make sure it worked first.  I placed one grate in a trash bag, poured about a cup or two of ammonia in the bag and sealed the bag shut with a large rubber band.  You need it sealed tightly so the fumes stay in the bag and do their work.

Let it sit overnight.  The next day rinse it off and scrub lightly with a grill brush.  Voila!  It looks like new.
grill grates

I cleaned the one on the left hand side and put it on the grill so you could see the difference.  The next day I did the other two grates.  This works so good.  I know some of you may know this trick but, I had never heard of it, so I’m sharing in case some one else hasn’t heard of it.

Have a great week y’all, I know I will.  I picked up my daughter-in-law Crissy, and my grandson, Derek Jr., last night from the airport.  (First time meeting them both face-to-face).  It’s going to be an awesome 2 weeks!  And if you’re friends with me on Facebook, you’re going to be bombarded with pictures…ha!  My son didn’t get to come home because he has to work in the field for a month, which I will miss him, but I will spoil his wife and that grandbaby of mine for sure!
Lil man

This is the little man that I can’t wait to hug and kiss and snuggle with!  (How cute is that onesie too?!).

My blogs are scheduled ahead but, I may skip a day or a few of reading blogs because well…priorities first 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Simple bird feeder and cleaning the grill

  1. The birdfeeder is a great idea, you are spoiling those birds with that beautiful cup and saucer. Suzie, I am just so happy you are finally getting to meet that sweet grandbaby!! He is just so cute and the little onesie is adorable. Have fun with Crissy and that sweet boy and Happy 4th of July, I hope you get to see your son soon.

  2. Sarah says:

    what a great birdfeeder! i’ll have to try that one day when i have a yard. 🙂 have fun with your family- so awesome that it finally worked out!!

  3. I love that idea for a bird feeder! And what an adorable grandson. 🙂

  4. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Love the bird feeder idea – now I know what to make my tea-n-bird loving ma-in-law for her birthday in a couple of weeks…you rock! Have a great visit & I’ll be looking for the cute pics on FB!

  5. Sam says:

    Love the bird feeder,so cute. Your grandson is dang adorable, I’m super excited for you to get to spend time with him and your daughter-in-law. Can’t wait to see all of the FB pics 🙂

  6. The birdfeeder looks fun!
    Your sweet grandson has stolen the whole show, Suzie.

  7. Veronica says:

    I totes would have bought the cup and saucer too-so pretty! Love it as a bird feeder. Looking forward to pics of Crissy & little man’s visit!

  8. Your grandson looks too adorable 😀
    And that bird feeder is beautiful!

    Cheers
    CCU

  9. Cool, thanks for sharing these fun ideas/tips but really, do you think we’re going to concentrate on those when you show pictures of that darling baby? He is precious!

  10. Joanne says:

    That bird feeder is such a cute idea!!

  11. These are both great ideas – thanks for sharing them & I hope you have a great time with the grandbaby!

  12. Rhonda says:

    That bird feeder is so awesome. I love buying cute little cups and saucers too. Have the best time ever with your adorable little grandson and your daughter in law!!

  13. Cutie lil grandson Suzie, congrats then…
    btw, thx for the amonia trick, tempting to try
    btw, have you try cleaning with vinegar before????

  14. That is the cutest bird feeder ever, Suzie but what’s even cuter is that little boy!! OMG, could there be a cuter little face?!! Hope you had an amazing 4th. Love ya, Suzie!!

  15. biz319 says:

    I love that you actually make and do things you pin on Pinterest! I saw a woman pin one of my recipes and I went to her boards – and she had pinned like 30,000 things!

    I am loving the Facebook pictures – keep em coming! 😀

    • Suzie says:

      I try to pin stuff I will actually make or a craft I know I will enjoy. And I definitely don’t have 30,000 things pinned…lol! That’s way to much “stuff”…how would you ever find anything in all that?!? Thank you about the pictures 🙂

  16. I’ve been thinking about this bird feeder ever since your post went up. Whenever I pass a charity/thrift shop I look out for a great tea cup and saucer for this project. Very Madhatter/wonderland-ish. Love.

    • Suzie says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you like the idea. My birds are certainly enjoying it 🙂 I love that you said very Madhatter…it is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

