Baked Steelhead Fillets

Yes, you read it correctly it does say baked but, you could easily do this on your grill.  Am I the only person that uses the oven in the summer?  I use my grill a lot but, I still use the oven too.  Then again, heat does not bother me at all.  I use my air conditioner maybe one week of the entire summer.  My house can be over 80 degrees and I don’t mind it.  I wouldn’t mind someone fanning me at times but, hey that won’t happen will it? 😉  Unless, you count dog tails fanning you!

Though I did not catch these fish, I’m an avid fishergirl myself…yep, that’s a new word right there.  Nothing beats fresh fish.  This recipe calls for steelhead or trout but, can very easily go with any fish.  Do you know how long it takes to remove pin bones from a fish?  Forever and a day!  That is the longest task in this entire recipe.  Is there a trick that I’m missing on removing pin bones?

This is a great dish for guests or a special occasion, it looks amazing and tastes great.  The fish is light and flaky and moist.  Prep time is almost nothing with the exception of those pin bones.  This recipe is a keeper and was even husband approved…woot!

Baked Steelhead Fillets

2 steelhead fillets
1 stick of butter (1/2 c. butter)
1 shallot, minced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1-2 T. fresh dill or 1-2 t. dried dill
salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 lemon, 1 t. of lemon zest and all of the freshly squeezed juice

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Line a cooking sheet with tin foil and spray generously with cooking spray.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter.  Add the shallot and cook on medium heat for about 3 minutes until the shallot softens.  Add the garlic and the lemon zest, cook for another minute.
Baked Steelhead fillets

Cool slightly.  Squeeze in half the lemon juice.

Place the fish on the prepared baking sheet.  Season with salt, pepper and dill.
steelhead fillets

Spoon the butter mixture over the fish.  Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes, depending on how thick the fish is.  To check for doneness, use a fork to gently pull apart the fish, if it flakes easily, it’s done.

Using a couple of spatulas to keep the fish from falling apart, remove the fish to a plate.

Squeeze the other half of the lemon over the fish, sprinkle with some more dill and enjoy this succulent dish!
Baked steelhead fillets

Recipe adapted from here.  Serves 4 people.

Do any of you go fishing?  I love being outside, if you haven’t noticed.  I could spend every weekend fishing if I could have my way 🙂 Have a great weekend y’all!!

Oh, one last thing…I will be back to posting on Wednesdays next week 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Baked Steelhead Fillets

  1. Sarah says:

    yum! growing up, my grandparents had a cottage on higgins lake & my favorite dinners were where my dad and i would go fishing and bring home a ton of rainbow trout for dinner. so good! fresh fish in indiana is hard to come by 😦

    • Suzie says:

      Higgins Lake is about an hour from my house! Do they still have the cabin there? I’d love to meet up with you sometime if they do and you still go there 🙂 Fishing memories like that are the best!

      • Sarah says:

        too fun! no, they sold the cabin 20 years ago this summer. 😦 how far are you from midland? that’s where my grandparents live now…will prob be visiting sometime this summer.

        • Suzie says:

          I’m about 30-40 minutes away from Midland. If you plan a visit, let me know I’d love to meet for lunch or dinner someplace…I’m sure Midland has lots of good restaurants 🙂

  2. Looks delicious, I have never heard of steelhead, is it a fresh water fish? The fillets look meaty and I LOVE your butter sauce. You crack me up, if the temperature goes above 70 in my house the AC is cranking. The pugs can’t tolerate heat at all. I use my oven but only if the AC is on. Delicious recipe!

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, it’s a fresh water fish. Closely related to trout. Or a kind of trout I believe 🙂 My dogs don’t prefer the heat either and sometimes I run the AC just for them! I myself don’t care for the AC, except in a car! It rained all day but was warm out. My house is now 80 and no air on…lol!

  3. I can’t remember if I’ve ever had this or not but it sounds delicious (I’ll even take the pin bones) wish the pups could do dishes AND remove them, lol. (I personally don’t have a grill so this is perfect for me)!

    • Suzie says:

      If the pups removed them, I would have no fish left…lol! 😉 I thought on one of your blogs I seen a grill going? Maybe you were at a friends. But yes, you definitely don’t need a grill for this 🙂

  4. My dill has been crying for a good recipe to be used in. This sounds wonderful, thanks!

  5. Your baked fish looks fantastic my friend, and I love how you have flavoured it 😀
    Great idea to indoor grill it!

    Cheers
    CCU

  6. The only way you’ll get me to eat trout is smoked…but your fish looks so fantastic, I’d give the sauce a try with tilapia or hake filets!

    • Suzie says:

      I love it smoked too. My hubs is usually not a fan of salmon or steelhead but, he actually complimented this dish, to my amazement 😉 I really, really like tilapia too! This would be great on orange roughy also.

  7. Veronica says:

    Suzie I’m such a wimp, I can’t stand to fish b/c of the pain I know I’m inflicting! Even just catching them is hard b/c I know the pin is caught in their mouths. I know it’s part of nature but if this was in the olden days where we had to kill or starve, I’d bake in exchange for someone else killing stuff for me. LOL! I would totally buy fish to make this dish. 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      my husband says that if this was the olden days, i would not be alive now because i would have starved rather than cleaning meat/fish to eat. haha. either that, or i would have had to be uber rich and had servants to do that for me. as if! 🙂

  8. Veronica says:

    And you know I use my oven all summer! 😀

  9. Biz says:

    I love to fish but I don’t really like to eat it. The one fish I like is sea bass, sadly my store sells it, but at 22 bucks a pound!

    • Suzie says:

      Biz, that is one fish I see on shows often and I have not had it. It’s not available here…if it were that price though…it would still be unavailable…ha!!!

  10. I love this is BAKED as I have no grill. The fillets look very succulent and delicious, Suzie.

  11. Joanne says:

    I totally use my oven all summer also! I mean, you can’t exactly have a grill in an NYC apartment lol!

  12. i can imagine how good is your kitchen smells when baking it……
    Yum…yum,
    btw, i like to add some smoked salt to the baked fish for giving a smokey hint..

  13. Yum! The fish definitely looks worth the effort of removing the bones. I cant imagine how melt in the mouth delicious this would be, delicious!

  14. Looks really good! I use the oven in the summer but only sparingly as I just wilt in the heat! 🙂

  15. Suzie, my husband will love this recipe – I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  16. eliotthecat says:

    Fresh fish is delicious but i was brought up on farm pond catfish—yuck—so I am not a real seafood fan, but your fish looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

