Bacon Cheddar Beer Bread

I am not a baker.  Not by far.  I have made my friend Veronica’s beer bread a few times and have baked a few other things.  Baking is not my favorite though, it intimidates me!  All that measuring and stuff…lol 😉  This was very close to Veronica’s recipe (which is wonderful) so I thought I would give it a shot.

I’m certainly glad I did because it was really good.  My husband ate almost the entire loaf, so that in itself is praise-worthy!  He is usually not a fan of much I make.  Weird man.

You don’t need a stand mixer to make this either.  I don’t own one so I am happy when I find a recipe, for baking, that doesn’t require one.  I have enough kitchen gadgets and because of my lack of baking, will not purchase a mixer.  Though if anyone wants to send me one I will not complain 😉  I tease!

Let’s get baking…

Bacon Cheddar Beer Bread

3 c. all-purpose flour
1 T. baking powder
1 t. salt
3 T. sugar
1 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 (12 oz.) bottle or can of beer
4 slices of bacon, cook and crumbled (or 1/4 c. real bacon bits)
2 T. melted butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare bread pan by greasing with butter or spraying with Pam.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and sugar with a whisk.  Make a well in the center.  Add bacon, cheese and full beer into the well.  Stir mixture with a spoon until well combined.
Bacon cheddar beer bread

Pour mixture into prepared bread pan.  Drizzle with 1 tablespoon of melted butter.
Bacon cheddar beer bread

Bake for 30 minutes.  Remove from oven and drizzle with remaining tablespoon of  melted butter over the top.  Bake for an additional 25-30 minutes or until browned on top and loaf thumps when you tap the top.
Bacon cheddar beer bread

Remove to a wire rack and allow to cool for 5 minutes.  Remove from the pan and allow to cool on wire rack.  You can brush with more butter if you choose.
Bacon cheddar beer bread

Slightly adapted from here.

*Notes:  You can use any cheese that you prefer, monterey jack, colby or a mixture.  When I drizzled the last tablespoon of butter on top, I also sprinkled a little sea salt on it.  This made it almost taste like a cheesy pretzel bread…yum!!  Have a great day!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Bacon Cheddar Beer Bread

  1. Well it look amazing! I’m pinning. Love beer bread! and hey, how can you go wrong with beer+cheese+bacon, right? lol Sprinkling the salt on top…good call!!

  2. MisBehaved Woman says:

    This looks to-die-for good! Mom used to make beer bread and I loved it…never even attempted to make any though because I assumed it was…er…baking. I don’t even think I have a damn bread pan at this point but oh my, now I’ll be out to buy one tonight so’s we can have this with bbq tenderloin & tater salad this weekend. Thanks for the most excellent (and non-baking) recipe – you rock! 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Yes, if I attempt it you know it has to be fairly simple and not a major hassle! I hope you all like it, it sounds like it will be good with what you’re cooking. It heats up well, if you like it warm, but I think it’s best right out of the oven….well, a few minutes out 🙂

  3. Sam says:

    This looks amazing! I might try to make it without the bacon, I think it would be a big hit around here.

  4. Soooooo making this for my husband! Thank you!

  5. biz319 says:

    I never use a stand mixer, in fact every single loaf of bread I make I combine with just my hand, I think the flour incorporates better that way. (and I do wash my hands prior – promise!).

    I know need to make this bread. I am on day 2 of my sourdough starter and hope to make sourdough bread by the weekend! 😀

  6. The bread looks amazing, Suzi. I need to bake this one SOON! You can’t never go wrong with bacon and cheese!

  7. ward says:

    Cheese, beer, and bacon, how can you not go wrong with this?

  8. Sarah says:

    man, my husband would LOVE this bread. will have to surprise him with it 🙂

  9. The bread looks great, I love it. Its a beautiful loaf and I know it’s going to be tasty, would love it with some scrambled eggs for breakfast or a bowl of chili. Yum!

  10. This recipe proves you are a creative and awesome baker 🙂
    You’re too modest!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  11. Jorie says:

    I’m pretty sure I could eat that batter raw…just dip some salty pretzel sticks in and I’d be good to go! Like every recipe you post, this looks amazing, Suzie. I have a hard time believing that your husband doesn’t lick his plate clean every single night!

    • Suzie says:

      That made me seriously laugh out loud! My hubs eats at home about 2-3 nights a week, the rest he eats out. He’s a crazy man! 😉

  12. Bacon Cheddar Beer Bowl!? UM… Heck to the yes!!!! I want this NOW.

  13. Veronica says:

    This is pretty much a meal in itself (all three food groups! Bacon, Cheese, and Bread-lol) and I’m quite sure if I made it, that’s all I would eat for the entire day. Love it!

  14. bec {daisy and the fox} says:

    oooo this bread looks delicious! plus so quick and easy – win win! 😀

  15. Not a baker my butt, Suzie…this looks incredible! Easy, delicious, and bacon + beer? Get outta here! Wish I could lounge about with you and nom on these with even more bacon and cheese, lol.

  16. Pingback: American Craft Beer Week! | Season It Already!

  17. Wendy says:

    Suzie, I don’t know how I missed this recipe. This looks sooooo good. I just discovered beer bread this year around St. Patrick’s Day when there were 20 million recipes floating around. NONE looked this good! I have a love/hate relationship with anything requiring yeast so beer bread is perfect. No wonder your husband ate the whole loaf!

    • Suzie says:

      Baking intimidates me so making bread this way is not so bad! It would be perfect with chili or goulash! He has asked me to make it since then too 🙂

  18. Donna says:

    Ohhhhh….amp this up…slice the next morning…butter it…fry it on both sides and top it with an over easy egg….

Leave a Reply

