Chicken Teriyaki

I think I just might have the most chicken recipes ever.  I seriously can’t get enough of the bird.  At least the chicken bird, I get plenty of the other bird when I drive…ha!  I feel the same about seafood…can’t get enough of it.  Though my pictures don’t do the chicky justice it was darn good.  And you should totally make it!

This is another recipe from the Looneyspoons Collection cookbook.  The name of the cookbook alone fits me so well.  By the way if you own the book it’s page 159.

Though I didn’t grill this recipe that is what it says to do.  I’ll be getting the grill out soon, cold or not!  Plus, I think it’s time to make some more jerky, this time in the smoker.  It drives the dogs crazy smelling the smoker and knowing what’s in it.  They’re spoiled, they always get some jerky too 🙂

So let’s cook a bird shall we?…

Chicken Teriyaki

Marinade

2 T. reduced sodium soy sauce
2 T. freshly squeezed lime juice
2 T. honey
2 T. ketchup
2 T. minced green onions (white and green parts)
1 T. grated ginger root
2 t. grated orange zest
1 t. minced garlic

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 T. toasted sesame seeds

Whisk together all marinade ingredients in a small bowl.  Place chicken breasts in a large ziploc bag, add marinade and seal bag.  Turn bag several times to coat chicken with marinade.  Marinate for at least 4 hours or overnight, preferably.
marinating chicken

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Remove chicken from marinade and place on a baking sheet lined with foil.  Cook for about 15-20 minutes, turning occasionally, until chicken is no longer pink in the center.  (You can brush the chicken with the extra marinade as long as you boil the marinade first to kill any bacteria).  You can also grill the chicken on a medium setting.  Basting along the way, you will have a much deeper color than I do.boiled chicken marinade

Sprinkle chicken with toasted sesame seeds before serving.
toasted sesame seeds
chicken teriyaki

Yield: 4 servings.

Enjoy!  This is awesome the next day on a chicken sandwich….yum. Have a wonderful weekend y’all! xoxo

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Chicken Teriyaki

  1. Sam says:

    Hmmm, this look fantastic! Definitely a good thing to have around for leftovers on a salad too!

  2. Tina Evans says:

    I’ve been looking for a great teriyaki marinade recipe. I can’t wait to try this 🙂

  3. Always love me some teriyaki… and it’s been way toooooo long!

  4. Sarah says:

    this looks amazing! i can’t wait for summer. and the name of that cookbook is hilarious!

  5. biz319 says:

    I love chicks too! 😀

  6. This looks good and I love chicken teriyaki! My hubby and I haven’t busted out our grill yet either cuz it’s been so cold but I don’t know how much longer we can hold out 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      We finally got it out the other night and will be using again tonight, even though it’s still really chilly…I just had to get my grill on 😉

  7. My kids would love this! 🙂

  8. Haha you and chicken = bffls for life 😀
    Love your recipes always!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. I have some chicken in the oven right now, I eat it constantly too. Hopefully it warms up there for you soon, I swear I am sending some of my AZ heat and sunshine!

  10. I think your photo is awesome, it looks delicious and I love the toasted sesame seeds. I’m with you, chicken is so versatile and I could eat it almost every day. Great recipe!!

  11. eliotthecat says:

    I am so ready to grill too. Will have to add this to my arsenal. Thanks!

  12. Velva says:

    Great recipe. I have a lot of the “chicly” thing going on at my house too.

    Velva

  13. Veronica says:

    I think your picture is great, CW! Sounds really good too and I love the suggestion in a comment about putting extra on a salad. Yummers.

  14. Nothing wrong with an abundance of delicious chicken recipes! How does one smoke jerky …gots me lots of deer meat to tend to…LOL (who do I think I am)…love ya, Suzie!

    • Suzie says:

      You can smoke any kind of meat if you really want too! I have a little smoker and then my grill has a smoker too. One lesson I learned do not smoke things too long! My first batch (years ago) was horrible…lol!! I thought you had to have “smoke” all the time…big mistake! 😉 I know you were joking too, I just went on a comment rampage….tee hee!

  15. This looks fantastic! I love chicken teriyaki, and am always looking for new chicken recipes. Yum!

  16. Wendy says:

    Those of us who eat meat in my house, eat almost nothing BUT chicken! So, I always appreciate yummy recipes for chicken. Marinating is our favorite mode of preparation whether broiled or grilled. This teriyaki marinade looks delicious! I will be trying it out this weekend. Thanks, Suzie!

  17. Joanne says:

    Simple and delicious! Totally the perfect meal!

  18. MisBehaved Woman says:

    This looks SO good!! And 3 months ago, we’d have been all over this one. Now that we own hens, Steve has revolted and doesn’t want to eat any more chick’n, period. Because THAT doesn’t cause a glitch in our standard dinner menu options?! Men….sheesh!

    • Suzie says:

      That is too funny! Yes, that would cause quiet the commotion here too, as we eat it a lot. I couldn’t eat the chickens/ducks/turkeys that I owned either. When I closed my farm a man from a chinese restaurant came and took many of them….eek!!! Some went to other farms though. My three favorites (duck, duck, goose) that I started the farm with went to a friend’s house 🙂

  19. Yum this looks amazing. I am going to pin and make it soon.

  20. Really drolling looks chicken teriyaki,
    and you’ve made it from scratch, great!
    i like to add some mirin or japanese sweet rice wine to the marinade…

  21. The chicken looks wonderful!! I’m so glad you are still enjoying the cookbook! I haven’t made this one yet…but I know I will now!!

  22. Amy Tong says:

    In my house, I serve quite a bit of chickens too. 🙂 I’m always up for new ways to prepare them. I bet these will be super delicious on the grill as well.

  23. Suzie, this looks so good! I’m imagining the leftovers in a lunch salad the next day too!

  24. Suzie, this chicken sounds craaaaaazy good!!! I’ll take my plate now, please 🙂

  25. I also love chicken – have it several nights a week, but I haven’t made this exact recipe – so I am definitely going to try it!

  26. Oh I know how good this recipe is!!! When we were building our house and didn’t have an oven or cooktop this is the recipe I used in the microwave. The marinade is so delicious and makes the chicken look cooked 🙂 I haven’t made this for at least 16 years, thank you so much for sharing, it will be for dinner this week!

Leave a Reply

