Green Chile Stew

Remember last week when I posted “I hope to get in my flowerbeds and work on them this weekend”?  Well, on  April 11th Mother Nature put a stop to that with an ice storm here in Michigan.  Here are some pics of the storm, if you’ve seen them on Facebook, just scroll down.
ice storm 2013
This is the front of my house, the vines look pretty cool!
ice storm 2013

Ice, ice baby!!
ice storm 2013

One more view, these are taken in color too.  It is just so gray out they all look black and white.  Crazy huh?

I will apologize in advance to my southern friends that are not into soup or chili at this time.  This girl needed something warm to eat!  I had a girlfriend over the day after the storm and we had this stew/soup with a side salad.  Perfect for this kind of day.  Luckily, I had power to even cook.  Over half of MI was without power and some people unfortunately still are without.

Enough ice talk, let’s get cooking…

2 T. vegetable oil
3 lbs. boneless pork shoulder, diced
kosher salt
1 large white onion, diced
1 1/2 c. diced Hatch or Anaheim chile peppers
1 small green bell pepper, diced
1 small red bell pepper, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
10 c. low-sodium chicken broth
1 lb. Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and diced
2 (15 oz.) cans white hominy, drained and rinsed
1 large bunch of cilantro, leaves chopped
2 T. cornstarch

My pictures may be deceiving as I cut this recipe in half, as usual.

Heat 1 T. vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Sprinkle the pork with 1 t. salt.  Working in batches, cook the pork, stirring, until browned, about 5 minutes.  Transfer to a plate and keep warm.
pork for green chile stew

Heat the remaining 1 T. oil in a skillet.  Add the onion, chile peppers, bell peppers and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 7 minutes.
veggies for green chile stew

Add chicken broth and vegetables to a pot and bring to a low boil.  Add the potatoes, cilantro and 1 t. of salt.  Cook, uncovered, for 20 minutes.
green chile stew
After 15 minutes add the pork and hominy. Whisk the cornstarch with 1/4 c. of water in a small bowl until smooth. Stir into the stew. Cook for an additional 10-12 minutes until potatoes are tender and stew has thickened slightly.
green chile stew

Serve and enjoy!

If you’re saying this isn’t ‘green’ well, you’re right and congratulations you’re not colorblind! 😉  I cannot get Hatch or Anaheim chiles here so I went with habanero peppers for some heat (perfect!).  Since I cut it in half I only added one bell pepper and I picked a red pepper because they were more fresh than the green.  No fresh cilantro, so I used dried.

I also chose a pork tenderloin over the shoulder, only because I used half the loin for our lunch and the other half for my hubs dinner…he would never eat this soup/stew…lol!!  (It was sooo tender for this soup too).  I omitted the cornstarch step,  as I wanted it to be more of a soup.

Recipe adapted from Food Network Magazine January/February 2013.
Yield: 8 servings

Enjoy your weekend y’all and stay warm!  You southern peeps…send me some sunshine!! 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes, Soups and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Green Chile Stew

  1. Holy cow!! What incredible pics, that ice storm looked terrible. Your stew looks like the perfect meal for an icy cold day. Hope the weather warms up soon.

  2. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Girl, you seriously need to consider visiting us down here in NM. Sure, we get wind part of every day right now but sheesh…we don’t have ice falling from the sky! Besides, we’re the green chile capitol of the world (Hatch is about 20 minutes from here!) so you’d have a good excuse to come here…pick up a year’s supply of chile for the stew, right? The recipe looks delish and I stored it in my recipe folder…in case we drop below 80 degrees anytime in the next 6months or so…;-)

    • Suzie says:

      I would love to visit! I’m also used to the constant wind living by all open fields. This recipe was title New Mexico Green Chile Stew and I thought of you, I just shortened the name 🙂 Oh…don’t tease me with that heat. I would love to have my pool open more than 3 pitiful months out of the year!

      • MisBehaved Woman says:

        Mi casa es su casa, anytime! Anyone that did jump the gun on opening their pool here already probably has a mud-pit after today’s brownout LOL! I’m a wuss and don’t touch bodies of water until we have a couple of weeks of 90+ temps so I won’t even be tempted til mid-June.
        That the recipe was originally called NM Green Chile stew explains why it didn’t look like most chile recipes on the web…horrifying to a native New Mexican! Seriously, some of the stuff that gets passed off as Mexican food is just…ewww…not even close. Of course, we’re food snobs down here and don’t even consider what Santa Fe serves up to be *real* Mexican fare. Blue chips? Black beans and corn in salsa?! Black olives on enchiladas? Wha…?! No. May as well call it “Mexican-Hippie” food! 😉

  3. Jane says:

    Wow that is some crazy ice. Stay warm!

  4. Jorie says:

    Amazing photos, Suzie! I had no idea Michigan had such a bad ice storm last week.

  5. Looking delicious!! Yuck to all the ice! I looked ahead to the next week’s forecast and I’m not impressed. Lots of low 50’s! WTF…it’s almost MAY! thinking warm…thinking warm…lol

  6. Oh please, spring come soon! We are supposed to get another snowstorm tomorrow!
    P.S. I am totally making this sometime!

  7. biz319 says:

    It looks delicious – I can routinely get pork shoulder for .99 cents a pound, I think it has so much more flavor than the tenderloin anyway! And since my husband doesn’t like pork anymore, so its all about ME anyway! 😀

  8. Glad you stayed warm, girlfriend! Those are definitely some crazy pics…love the icicles streaming down the sides …beautiful destruction, eh? Hope y’all get some nicer weather soon (though ’til then, snuggling up with such beautiful chili doesn’t seem too shabby either)! =)

    • Suzie says:

      I love how you worded it…beautiful destruction, yes, it certainly was pretty. Pretty and eerie when I was taking pictures in the morning! It was so quiet too because the roads were bad in the morning.

  9. This is actually perfect for your weather my friend, stay warm and cozy!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  10. Rhonda says:

    That picture of the porch looks so cool, but I am sure you are over anything COOL at this point. The soup looks great and habanero will most definitely warm you up! Sending some AZ sunshine your way.

  11. Sarah says:

    whoa, crazy storm! i had no idea! hope spring comes soon. this stew sounds delicious!

  12. I cannot believe that snow! Oh my goodness! I guess I should believe it though because I was born on the 15th of April in a blizzard in Wisconsin. I’ve lived in North Carolina though for over 30 years and have become quite “southernized”! I think your soup looks like it would be very tasty no matter what the weather!

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, you just never know in the north when your next snow/ice storm is or it could get up in the 90’s in March (last year). Strange and very unpredictable! Like you said you get used to that or used to your nicer weather. My son lives in TX currently and loves the weather 🙂

  13. cakewhiz says:

    mother nature is playing tricks on us this year! it’s still so cold that i wear my winter jacket when going out 😦
    your soup is perfect to keep us warm during this crazy weather!

  14. Suzie says:

    I know she is! I have my winter coat on until May…lol!!

  15. Veronica says:

    Sorry for the weather surprise. Though your pictures ARE beautiful! It may not be your idea of paradise, but dang it’s pretty. We had the same thing happen here but the ice only lasted like one day before the sun melted it. Oh and remember my smooshed daffodils? They survived and perked right back up! I think they’ve learned to adapt to this crazy ks weather-yay! They’ve been up a week now-the longest they’ve ever lasted since they started blooming 3-4 years ago.

    Your soup sounds like a great comforter for the cold weather!

    • Suzie says:

      Yes V, this only lasted a day! It was pretty too. I spent an hour just taking pictures and looking around with the dogs! Just the power outages for many people was not a good thing 😦 My flowers perked back up too and my rhubarb is going crazy!! Lol!! Maybe it gave them a kick in the butt 😉

  16. Joanne says:

    It’s warmer here but chili still sounds good to me! This sounds super tasty!

  17. eliotthecat says:

    Wow, I am behind in my reading so I hope that ice is definitely gone by now and perhaps you can work in the flowerbeds this weekend. Love anything with green chiles!!

  18. Amy Tong says:

    Oh…I don’t blame you for wanting some hot soup. I would do just the same with that kind of storm and temperature! But the view is really stunning and beautiful!

    Ironically, I made soup too, when I’m having 80+ F degree in my area (sorry, I feel bad my area is like summer when it’s supposed to be Spring), but I made a cold soup to chill out. 😛 And my soup was green (yay, glad I’m not color blind…sorry, shouldn’t get so excited!).

    Anyway, I hope you’ll get some warm weather soon to work on the flowerbeds. 🙂 Stay dry and stay warm. Take care.

    • Suzie says:

      It was really pretty, it just did a lot of damage too. We were lucky though!

      If I had your weather I’d be happy about it too and cold soup sounds like a good way to cool down. Thank you!

  19. Good god, that look COLD! Clearly, I can ever complain about winter on the west coast because I have no idea what real cold looks like 🙂 At least you have a giant pot of stew to keep you going!

  20. These winter clicks are so beautiful!
    The chili stew is definitely a perfect treat to warm you up.

  21. Suzie says:

    Thank you!! 🙂

  22. Oh! What a shame you couldn’t get into your garden… but then the snow is so pretty too 🙂

Leave a Reply

