Matzo Ball Soup

Well, it took me 3 weeks to get back but, I’m finally here.  It was the hard drive on my computer.  The good news is I got it fixed, all of my baby (Grandson for those that don’t know) and Army (my son) pictures were saved.  The food pictures all were corrupted by the virus…boo!!  The most important ones were saved and for that I am truly thankful.  It also only cost $35 and I didn’t even know he could save the pictures, he just did it!!  Woot!  I would highly recommend him 🙂

That was the 3rd or 4th hard drive (I lost track) I have put in that computer though and it’s only about 2 1/2 – 3 years old.  I wasn’t too keen on putting anymore hard drives in it but, now I have it if I ever need it.  I have wanted a Mac for years and I broke down and finally bought one.  I have a friend that is knowledgeable (thanks Jay!) about computers and such techy things and he told me what one he would buy, so I bought it!  Should that money (income tax) be used towards hospital bills?  Sure, but I’m tired of paying on those each month and having barely anything left for me.  So, I got a lil crazy and bought a Mac.  Yolo right? 😉  (That’s for you Biz!).

I have to say I love this Mac but, it does take time to learn things.  I really do need to buy the book “Mac for idiots” instead of continually bugging my friends with Macs…lol!

Anywho, I’m back in the game and have missed all my blogging friends and your blogs!  The recipe I have today is for Matzo Ball Soup.  I have seen it on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives about 49 times and it looks so good I finally had to make it myself.  I still cannot make dumplings to save my life but, I CAN make matzo balls!  I couldn’t find matzo meal here and had to order it online, here is the link if you need it.

Let’s get cooking shall we…

Matzo Ball Soup

1/2 c. matzo meal
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 T. reserved chicken fat or vegetable oil
1 t. salt
1/4 t. black pepper
2 T. chicken stock or seltzer (I used seltzer)

For Soup

3 quarts chicken stock
2 1/2 c. shredded, cooked chicken
1-2 carrots, thinly sliced
a few sprigs of dill

Here is the matzo, if you have not worked with it before.
matzo meal

Thinly slice your carrots, I did a lot extra for the dogs.  (They love carrots and low-sodium beef broth…nom, nom!).
carrots
Shred your cooked chicken.
shredded chicken

Mix all matzo ball ingredients in a bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.  (It will look ‘soupy’ at first).
matzo meal

In another pan let your carrots, stock and dill simmer on a low boil until the carrots are tender.  Once tender add your chicken and turn to a low simmer.

In another medium pot bring 1 1/2 quarts of well-salted water (should taste like the sea) to a brisk boil.

Reduce it to a slow boil.  Run your hands under water so they are thoroughly wet.  Form matzo balls by dropping spoonfuls of matzo ball batter approximately 1 inch in diameter into the palm of your wet hands and rolling them loosely into balls.
matzo balls
You can see how the matzo ball mixture firms up…
matzo meal

Drop them into the simmering salt water one at a time.  Cover the pot and cook them for 40 minutes.
matzo balls

A couple minutes before the matzo balls are done ladle some soup into the bowls.  Add 2-3 matzo balls per bowl, top with a couple snips of dill (I had dried dill) and serve immediately.
matzo ball soup

This recipe made 10 matzo balls.  I cooked 5 the first day and 5 the next day.   I had 3 in my soup and the dogs each got one.  Talk about spoiled 😉
matzo ball soup

Note:  Once the matzo balls are done if you have any leftover put them in a separate bowl, if you leave them in the salt water they’ll get soggy and sink and no one like soggy balls.  You can also use rotisserie chicken for this recipe.

This was a combination of Diners, Drive-ins and Dives recipe and also from here.

Have a great weekend y’all and a wonderful St. Patty’s Day too!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Matzo Ball Soup

  1. MisBehaved Woman says:

    WooHooo! Glad you are back in business! Congrats on the new Mac – why the hell NOT treat yourself after the crap you’ve been through??
    And matzoh ball soup…? Yeah, thanks for the reminder that Passover is nearly here and the annual family sedar is coming up…Oh yippee, oh yay, oh joy of joys! Agh! Looks like you nailed the recipe though, for sure! I won’t even lie and say I’ll try to make this one…I’ve made it before and I cheat by getting the pre-made matzoh balls…no muss, no fuss…no stuff falling all apart in your soup if something goes wrong! 😉

    • Suzie says:

      You make me smile….always!!! Enjoy your family outing 😉 *Giggles* I have never seen pre-made balls….hmmm…you may be onto something girl!!

  2. Suzanne says:

    I Love matzoh ball soup, have never made matzoh balls before but you have inspired me to try. I think I would try to get my hands on some shmaltz and I love that you included it in the recipe as an option. This is the ultimate comfort food IMHO. Glad you are back up and running again!

    • Suzie says:

      I wouldn’t have tried it myself but after seeing it so many times, I just had to!! It is a great comfort food and I’m so glad to be back 🙂

  3. Welcome back! So glad your important pictures were saved!

  4. Sam says:

    Yay, so glad you’re back! So glad that the pictures of your babies were saved 🙂

  5. So happy you are back my friend and that your photos were ok 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. So glad you’re back. Just be patient with yourself – before you know it, you’ll be a whiz with the Mac and you’ll never look back! You are going to LOVE it once you get used to it. Your soup sounds lovely!

  7. biz319 says:

    YOLO!!! Love it Suzie! Glad you are back – missed your posts! I always gets that soup when we go to a Jewish deli – can’t wait to try it! Hugs!

    • Suzie says:

      I so thought of you 😀 You are awesome Biz and I always love your posts. I’m glad you like this soup too, just don’t like it more than lasagna soup 😉 xoxo

  8. Veronica says:

    Welcome back Suze! OK if you can make balls then you can make dumplings! What is up with that? lol! They look great and I’m glad you got your computer issues under control. Once you’ve got the hang of the mac, let me know if you’d recommend it. I’m so scared to learn new things I don’t know if I’ll ever get one. Are they impervious to viruses?

    • Suzie says:

      Totally different ingredients must be the reason I can make these and not dumplings. I still cannot make a dumpling. I haven’t tried in awhile but, last I checked nope they still were a flop…lol! The macs don’t get viruses like a regular PC. So far I do love it, just a lot to get used to. Funny thing is I will hop on the PC to get pictures or something and find myself doing stuff wrong because I’m already used to being on this one. I will say one thing if you have slow internet, downloads take forever! I downloaded photoshop yesterday and it took 13 hours!!! No kidding.

  9. Glad you are back! I switched from PC to Mac about two years ago and never looked back. I bought an iMac and the thing works just as well as the day I bought it and I use it everyday.

    • Suzie says:

      Everybody I know that has switched says the same thing as you Rhonda. I’m so glad I bought it. It’s been a bit of learning but, I’m getting it. I figure something new out everyday!! 🙂

  10. So glad at least all the important ones got saved…we all missed you tons! (Me the most)! lol =) Glad to see you’re back in the kitchen and love the recipes you share! I’ve never made or had matzo ball soup so this is a definite treat!

    • Suzie says:

      Thanks Angie! I missed you too and laughed that you missed me the most 😉 The soup is a comfort food to me, I can’t get enough of it!

  11. My daughter has a mac…she swears by it. I get confused when I need to use it…lol LOVE matzo ball soup. I’ve been making it for years, in fact, it’s one of the first posts I ever did on my blog! I like to add some fresh dill right in the matzo balls themselves and I always just use canola oil as the fat in them. I also like to use my cookie scoop to get perfectly sized balls! haha Anyhow…yummy soup! and you know what’s weird?, I’m not a fan of chicken soup, but I like matzo ball soup! haha

    • Suzie says:

      When I first got this computer it took me two hours to just get logged in just to begin doing anything!! Lol! I’m getting it though. I like the idea of fresh dill right in the matzo balls. The cookie scoop is a great idea, because balls should be the same size! 😉 Your version sounds terrific and I will be making them that way next time.

  12. Oh I am so pleased that you are back and you didn’t lose the photos of your grandson!

    I have heard of this dish but have never tried it … I am very curious and will have to give it a go.

    • Suzie says:

      Thanks Julie! I was thrilled that the photos were recovered and I learned a lesson. Put them on a disc or send them somewhere where they can’t get deleted.

  13. Joanne says:

    I’m so glad you’re back!! And that you got your pictures back! This matzo soup sounds like just the thing to cure any computer stress woes!

  14. Suzie, welcome back! The matzo balls look really tasty, particularly great in soup.

  15. themondaybox says:

    I am so happy to hear that your computer disaster wasn’t a total loss and that the photos of your guys were saved! I would be devastated if I lost my family photos. We have an external hard drive as a back up with our computer on which we periodically save all data. My daughter started a Mac trend in our house. Then my son followed. Unfortunately, his only lasted just beyond (!) warranty. So, he is on his second Mac. Even after his first was a bit of a lemon (it happens), he wouldn’t consider going back to PC. Once people make the switch, they all seem converted for life! Enjoy your new machine! Your matzah balls look light and fluffy all the way through to the center (not an easy thing). I have never attempted dumplings but I have made many matzah balls over the years. Too many had the consistency of a golf ball, until I started chilling my batter before forming the balls. Now they are fluffy like yours. 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Yes, I was glad it had a good ending too! I have many friends with Macs and they have all said what you just did…they would never switch back! I was getting tired of putting hard drives in, so my friend and I were chatting on facebook and I said, I’m buying one. He could be the spokesperson for Macs 😉 Even with the learning curve, I am liking it so far. I don’t give up on the dumplings but, still I cannot make them. That and omelets are two things I fail at in the kitchen! I wish I would have posted the right pictures for this blog, they look much better with the lighting and editing. Unfortunately, I posted the non-edited ones. Lack of sleep gets the best of me sometimes…lol! 😉

  16. Sarah says:

    so glad you’re back! and with a mac! YAY! i got one 3 years ago and will never go back. i’ve never had a huge computer disaster but there have been some close calls, so i now use an online backup service called carbonite (it’s about $55 for a year’s backup and it’s seamless in the background, always running… so now i don’t worry about losing things. it’s really nice. if you are interested they always send me discount codes for new signups so i could pass that along if you want). this soup looks wonderful!

    • Suzie says:

      I have heard good things about carbonite. It’s endorsed by some computer lady guru on am radio, my husband listens to her all the time. Glad to hear everyone loves their Macs, that is good to hear! Sure, next time they send you a discount code, if you don’t mind please do forward it to me…thank you!

  17. Happy to see you back and posting, darling! Matzo ball soup is one of my (many) weaknesses!

  18. Jane says:

    Congrats on the new computer! I have never used a Mac, not sure if I could get used to it! I don’t think I have ever had matzo ball soup, but it looks good!

  19. eliotthecat says:

    So glad your back and this soup looks delicious (especially on these cold days—what’s up with that?!?!?!?!?)

  20. Maureen says:

    You needed a new computer and congratulations. Losing pictures is heartbreaking.

    Those dogs are definitely spoiled 🙂 Soup looks delicious.

  21. Donalyn says:

    This looks really good – I love dill in matzo ball soups! Sorry about the computer 😦

  22. Never seen or even heard about matzo before..
    this is tempting me to hunt for the matzo….
    wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

