French Onion Soup (for two)

As I was typing this last night I thought “This probably isn’t the best post for Valentine’s Day”, then I thought “Oh well, it’s what’s on the menu!”  Lol!!  Who am I to conform to the norm?  I’m not, as most of you know 😉

I’ve been back on a soup kick lately and wanted some French onion soup, so I scoured the internet and came up with this one as a combination of a few recipes.  I can never agree with just one recipe.  I also don’t like buying a whole loaf of french bread for french onion soup, not using the rest and feeding it to the birds.  Kind of expensive bird food.  So, I also solved that little dilemma also!

If you’re looking for some tasty soup and easy enough for a weeknight, you’ve come to the right place.

French Onion Soup

3 T. unsalted butter
2 c. sliced onions
1 (14.5 oz.) can beef broth or homemade stock
2 T. dry sherry (optional)
1 t. dried thyme
salt and pepper to taste
croutons (your choice of flavor)
2 slices Swiss cheese
1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese

I used these croutons to begin with…croutons

Melt butter in a large pan on medium heat.  Add onions and continually stir until tender and translucent. chopped onions

I chop my onions to bite size, you don’t have to do this, it is just a personal preference.  Do not brown the onions.

Add beef broth, sherry and thyme.  Season with salt and pepper, and simmer for 30 minutes.french onion soup

Turn the oven to broil.

Ladle soup into oven safe bowls and place a few, or ten, croutons into each bowl. french onion soup, croutons

Top with a slice of Swiss and 1/8 c. of parmesan cheese. french onion soup

Place bowls on a cookie sheet and broil in the oven until cheese bubbles and browns slightly.  french onion soup

french onion soup

Enjoy and don’t kiss any one too soon 😉  Happy Valentine’s  day peeps!!  xoxo

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to French Onion Soup (for two)

  1. Beautiful! My husband loves French Onion Soup, but I often find it too salty.

  2. I’m drooling over this crock of soup, Suzie! MMMMMMM….I’ve been known to order this soup in restaurants sans the cheese. WHAT???? I know…for the sake of the waist. But the cheese is really what makes this soup in my opinion!

  3. biz319 says:

    Happy V-Day Suzie! And seriously, I almost threw up in my mouth looking at all those onions! 😀 No offense, that just leaves more soup for you! 😀

  4. Suzanne says:

    Gorgeous!! I think its the perfect post for Valentines Day, cheesy onion soup. Delicious!! Happy Valentines Day to you!!

  5. Rhonda says:

    The croutons are genius! My husband hates soup but I could totally make this for just me and eat it twice 🙂

  6. Jane says:

    Your soup looks so good! I actually ordered some french onion soup just the other day for lunch from a restaurant near my work, and it was soooo salty! I was thinking to myself that I need to make my own at home! lol! I love the cheesy croutony top, yum!

  7. Veronica says:

    I get it, I usually go by a couple recipes too and take what I like from them. This is great, and I love that you used croutons. Smarty pants! This is the perfect recipe for the woman who hates V-day. lol!

  8. Wow!! You have made this one very special French Onion Soup. The recipe started just like the version I used to make in High School and then you gave it an amazing cheesy twist, which would lift it into another world.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Oh also, I have just added yo to my Foodie Friends Blog Roll, thanks for stopping by at my site, I am loving reading yours 🙂

  9. We love onions! I meant we eat onions every day! This is a very satisfying and delicious soup, Suzie.

  10. I just wanna dive into this with you, Suzie! Nothing wrong with being on a soup kick…it’s delicious and I’m always soooo cold, lol. I hope you had a fantastic Valentine’s Day!!!! MUUUUUUUAH!

  11. themondaybox says:

    We love French Onion Soup and your recipe looks delicious. As far as Valentine’s posts go….how much red velvet does this world need? I’ll take soup 🙂

  12. Joanne says:

    that cheesy topping is most certainly romantic!! At least, I’d love to curl up in bed with it. Yum!

  13. mmmarzipan says:

    this looks fabulous, Suzie! wow!

Leave a Reply

