Shrimp Linguine (a different spin)

Do you need something special enough to serve your sweetheart on Valentine’s day?  Or something good enough for your guests?  Well, this is the dish for you.  I would totally make this for guests again and again.  I did treat my friends with this dish a few weeks ago, they thought it was restaurant quality too.  Winning!

Personally, I’m not a fan of Valentine’s day, I think it’s an overrated, non-holiday destined to suck all the money out of you.  One day a year should not be set aside for your significant other…all days of the year they should be paid attention to and adored.  Unless, they’ve made you mad, then you don’t have to abide by this rule.  I love making up my own rules 😉

I came across a recipe on Pinterest  but, it left out most of the directions.  So, by looking at the pictures and trying to re-create it, I came up with this dish.  I’m so glad I did.  It is so rich and mouth-watering, I wish I would have seen those pictures sooner!

So, let’s head to the kitchen shall we…

Shrimp Linguine

1 lb. of cooked large shrimp (thawed and tails removed)
2 T. butter
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 (14.5 oz.) can of diced tomatoes (I bought the tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano)
pinch of crushed red pepper
salt and pepper
2 t. light brown sugar
1 c. of half and half (plus a splash more)
3 T. fresh parsley or 1 t. dried parsley
1/4 c. (heaping) of freshly grated Parmesan cheese (plus extra cheese for topping)
8 oz. cooked linguine

Heat the butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and saute for 2-3 minutes until fragrant.minced garlic  (I may have added more than called for).

Next add the canned tomatoes. canned tomatoes

I broke up the tomatoes in a mini food processor before adding them, I’m not a fan a big chunks of tomato.  You can omit this step or if you’re not a fan you can keep this step.  I thought it looked liked a better finished product also, if you’re going on eye appeal.canned tomatoes in processor

Add the crushed red pepper, a pinch or two of salt and the brown sugar.  Cook for about 5 minutes.shrimp linguine

Next add the half and half and don’t forget that extra splash 🙂  Add the parsley also.  Bring to a slow boil and then immediately turn heat down to medium-low.  Cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally until mixture reduces by a third.shrimp linguine

While this is reducing, cook your linguine according to package directions.

Lastly, add the shrimp, parmesan cheese and a little freshly ground black pepper.  Cover and simmer for about 3 minutes until shrimp are heated through and the cheese is melted. shrimp linguine

Add the linguine and simmer another 3-4 minutes.shrimp linguine

Serve immediately and top with some more parmesan cheese and fresh cracked pepper.  Enjoy!!shrimp linguine

See y’all next week 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Shrimp Linguine (a different spin)

  1. Jay says:

    Looks pretty great!

  2. That looks really good! That creamy sauce looks so tasty and linguine is my favorite type of pasta, I love how easy it is, this is my kind of meal.

  3. biz319 says:

    One word: Amazeballs! Athough I think I shrimped out my husband because its one of the few types of seafood I like – do you think I could sub in bay scallops?? Thanks for all the virtual hugs about our dog Ed Suzie, I really appreciate it!! 😀

    • Suzie says:

      Sure, I think scallops would work well. You’re welcome, I feel so bad for what you guys had to go through 😦 I hope you enjoy your weekend at home though 🙂

  4. Jorie says:

    Yum yum yum! This looks doable and delicious!

  5. I am going to make some pasta tomorrow too. This seems like a perfect pasta lunch for me.

  6. Your flavours look utterly gorgeous 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. Shrimp is literally my favorite so I’d rather give it my money than Vday and HOPEFULLY, I won’t be alone this vday. I love how you made up your own directions. I’d say it came out grrrreat, Suzie! Hope you’re well…lovelovelove!!!!!

    • Suzie says:

      I know you’re a shrimp lover too! I hope you won’t be alone either *fingers crossed* 🙂 This was a tasty dish, I’m so glad I gave it a shot! xoxo

  8. daisyandthefox says:

    oooo this looks so good!! LOVE all the flavors – must make this some time! 🙂

  9. Ward says:

    Looks good… wish people around here would eat shell fish. Making fettuccine alfredo tomorrow and maybe mini chocolate lava cakes.

  10. Veronica says:

    It’s funny you posted this b/c I kid you not, I JUST updated that shrimp & scallop scampi recipe you gave me with photos that were edited to enchance the contrast/color. Then to see you posting another shrimp linguini dish was pretty uncanny! This sound SO flipping good!! Guess I’ll have to eat the whole batch since Haus doesn’t like the shrimp. Oh darn! 😉

    • Suzie says:

      That is wild V!! Great minds think alike 🙂 This is one that will go in my favorites file, I really liked it. Oh and you certainly should make it and eat it all!!! 😉

  11. Yum! This looks like a winner! Maybe I will ask hubbby to make this for me on Valentines Day… I still like V Day but I know what you mean 😉

  12. Rhonda says:

    YUM! This is one of my favorite dishes ever. I agree about the V-day thing, although we are going to go to a sports bar and have dinner because Tom is addicted to their salsa and that is my gift to him 🙂

  13. Joanne says:

    This definitely does sound like quite the special V-Day meal! And I totally agree with your mentality…show the people you love what they mean to you…EVERY day!

  14. Sarah says:

    this sounds amazing. shrimp makes anything seem fancier!

  15. I can’t imagine that this wouldn’t be good!

  16. bakerbynature says:

    Um will you be my Valentine? And make this for dinner, too? OK… cool!

    Seriously – amazing!

  17. Joyti says:

    That does look very tasty and elegant, and I bet you’ll find nothing fancier in any restaurant. Great V-day idea.

    p.s. First time on your blog, and judging from your photo on the sidebar, you look far too young to have a son in the military!

  18. Um YUM! I think I might make this for dinner tomorrow night. The guys would LOVE it. I like how you minced up the tomatoes.

    • Suzie says:

      You know how Biz has a thing with onions? I have a thing with cooked tomato chunks…lol!! If they are small I’m fine, big chunks…no way Jose!! 😉 I hope you try it Renee!

  19. themondaybox says:

    This may sound crazy, but do you think this would have plenty of flavor with out the shrimp? Your sauce looks so delicious but my daughter is allergic to shell food. I think just the creamy tomato sauce on linguini would taste great.

    • Suzie says:

      Nope, not crazy at all. You could totally do the sauce with linguine…the sauce is what made the dish in my opinion (though I do love shrimp but, I know many people with allergies also). I hope you try it 🙂

  20. Julie Rainwater says:

    It looks amazing and I am going to make it. My husband and I both love shrimp and I love pasta. Do you think it would be good with thin wheat spaghetti? That is what I will have to use. But, I really like thin wheat spaghetti, so, I am thinking it will be just as good to use.

Leave a Reply

