Cranberry Margaritas

How about a cocktail that fits the season?  Here’s a festive cranberry margarita to make stuffing that bird and putting up with relatives a bit easier this year.  I’m teasing, I’m teasing.  I like who I spend the holidays with, it’s the long NASCARish drive that my husband puts me through that makes me jump out of the car upon arrival and run inside screaming, “Where’s the blender?!”

This is the perfect combination of tart and sweet.  I’m not into really sweet drinks.  I save that for dessert 😉  The tartness of this is smooth and subtle and goes well with Thanksgiving dinner.  You can omit the alcohol if you want the virgin version, kids like this as well.  It was kid approved a couple years ago by my nephews and niece.  I’m not sure which version they had but, they liked it.  I kid 😉

This recipe is for the cranberry margarita base, alcohol is not in the jars.  It makes 3 pints and is great to give as gifts.  Just tie a purty ribbon around a canning jar and voila, you have a gift or just something unique to take to the next get-together.  Your guests will thank you.  You can thank me with brownies.

Cranberry Margaritas

1 1/4 c. 100% cranberry juice
3/4 c. water
3/4 c. sugar
12 oz. bag of cranberries, thawed (reserving 12-15 cranberries)
3/4 c. lime juice (fresh preferred)

Tequila
Triple sec

Canning jars

Pour cranberry juice into blender.  Add water, sugar and lime juice.

In a medium pan add the cranberries and 1 cup of water.  Bring to a boil. When berries start bursting, start mashing them with a potato masher.  Let the berries break down for about 3 more minutes and remove from heat.Put a strainer over a container that will hold the cranberry juice and some pulp.  I used a 4 cup glass measuring bowl.  With the back of a spoon smash down the cranberries to get the juice out. Raise the strainer every couple of minutes and scrap the bottom with a spoon.  Add this smooth pulp to the blender. Keep repeating the above process until your cranberries are reduced by at least a third.  You want all the juice and smooth pulp you can get. Once you’re done straining the cranberries, add the juice and any pulp from the “catching” container into the blender.  Put the top on the blender and hold top down with your hand, it will be full.  Blend for about 1 minute, until everything is smooth and mixed throughly.Serve immediately or put cranberry mixture into canning jars to use later or give as gifts.  Fill jars 1/2 – 3/4 inch from the top of the jar.  Refrigerate until use, they will self-seal.

If you chose to can the mixture when it’s time to make the margaritas, add about 2 1/2 cups ice to the blender.  Add 1/2 a jar of cranberry mix and add tequila and triple sec to your preference.  I add about 3 shots tequila and 1 shot of triple sec, to make 3-4 drinks. (One shot equals one ounce).

Sprinkle some sugar on a plate.  Pour a bit of cranberry juice on another plate.  Dip the rims of 4 margarita glasses into the cranberry juice; dip into sugar.  Rinse (extra) cranberries; dip into the sugar.  Thread cranberries onto a cocktail pick and set across glass for garnish.  I skipped this step as I was making these (virgin) margaritas at midnight and didn’t feel like getting all fancy.  Many of my blogs come from nights of insomnia 😛

Turn blender on blend setting for about 1 minute or until the pitcher is frosty.  Pour into margarita glasses and serve.  Cheers!Have a great weekend y’all!  I’ll be in the woods hunting 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Cranberry Margaritas

  1. Love this, what lovely gifts too, cranberry is the best, a little tart a little sweet. Delicious and the perfect holiday drink!! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your lovely family!

  2. Jorie says:

    It makes SUCH a lovely gift, Suzie! I can see this being a huge hit at my holiday gatherings this year. Very unique! I’m pinning it now!

  3. Mmmm… Those are so pretty! And tasty, too, I’m sure!

  4. Joanne says:

    For me it’s a mix of ALL THAT FAMILY, all of the prep/cooking madness that goes into it…AND the traveling. So yeah…I foresee myself drinking quite a few of these babies!

  5. ward says:

    I think I see my present above 🙂 Not a big cranberry fan here; but, add alcohol and my mind is changed. I had a cranberry wine at a local winery. Tasted like cranberries of course, and it was good. I think i see some gifts for family members coming up. This year is a homemade Christmas present year with a small smattering of bought presents.
    You should start your car ride with one of these and have a Happy Thanksgiving Suze!!!

  6. WHat a beautiful gift to give out, the colour and flavour looks and sounds gorgeous 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. OMG…LOVE this. Love that it is so pretty, festive, and can be given as a gift! ( but um…I don’t think I’d have any left to give) Unlike you…I really do need to get my drink on to make it through the day! lol

  8. This is so pretty, who would’t love a treat like this!?

  9. This is such a great idea! I’m cranberry obsessed right now, so I’ll definitely be trying this!

  10. Veronica says:

    This sounds good! I bet I know where those jars are headed. 🙂 So if you make them virgin, do you use soda instead or just omit extra liquid altogether and just mix the base with ice? Good luck with your hunting!

    • Suzie says:

      To make them virgin you just use the base and ice, then blend!! You can add 7 up or club soda for some fizz though, I’ve done it both ways and both are good 🙂 I think for the kids we just used the base and ice last year. Thanks, I need the luck, those deer are elusive!

  11. eliotthecat says:

    What a great gift idea. We will need to keep our family dinner alcohol-free, BUT you know I am adding this to other holiday party menus!!!!!

  12. I love that you’ve used fresh cranberries for this. What a happy and festive drink! Just looking at it, even before a sip, puts you in such a celebratory mood. (and I love what you did with the jars). I can appreciate the bit about your insomnia…I saw a meme the other day that read “my day is all backwards…I get up tired and go to bed wide awake.” lol—if that isn’t you and me! =)

    • Suzie says:

      It is a pretty drink 🙂 I agree with that saying! Totally me…and you! I’ve been known to make jerky all night. I have to check the smoker periodically so if I get on an insomnia roll, I usually make jerky or summer sausage…lol! At least I’m productive 😉

  13. biz319 says:

    Those look amazeballs! I can’t believe the picture of the deer you got on Facebook!!!

  14. Now that’s a holiday drink I can get behind! I just bought my very first fresh cranberries the other day and made cranberry preserves with them. I’ll have to branch out into other cranberry recipes. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  15. Suzie says:

    Oh cranberry preserves sound great, I hope you post the recipe! I have two cranberry recipes posting tomorrow, super easy to make too 🙂 You have a wonderful Thanksgiving as well!

  16. Gretch says:

    Any suggestions for other flavors? I love cranberries but when I told my bf about these he made a face

    • Suzie says:

      Hi Gretch, you could do any other berries the same way. Blueberries, raspberries, strawberries or blackberries. You could also do peaches or plums. Just cut your peaches/plums (any softer fruit, even kiwi) into chunks. Put chunks in a pan (about 2 cups worth), just cover them with water. Bring to a boil and then simmer them until fork tender and drain. These I would just put in the blender to puree, no need to strain them. Keep the water that you boiled them in for water in the recipe. I have made the blackberries ones many times, they’re really good. You can also combine berries too blackberries and raspberries for instance 🙂 Good luck and let me know what combo you make 🙂

  17. Ward says:

    I’m going to attempt this tonight. Just forgot about the cranberry juice; but, I do have some apple….Hmmm cran-apple margaritas?!?

  18. Suzie says:

    Cranberry-apple sounds like a great combination! Let me know how they turn out, and I hope you don’t have to work tomorrow 😉

Leave a Reply

