Homemade chicken noodle soup

It’s midnight as I’m typing this and it’s 58 degrees in Michigan in November.  Pretty much unheard for us!  Not to worry the cold front is coming in tomorrow and it’s calling for snow.  No!!! I’m not ready.  Are we ever really ready though?  Except for maybe a nice blanket of fresh snow for Christmas morning 🙂

I have a couple of super simple holiday recipes this week but, since the cold is coming, it’s time for some homemade chicken noodle soup.  I never knew how to make homemade egg noodles until about 2 years ago.  Go ahead, you can laugh.  Something so simple and I just had never made them.  A friend explained to me how easy it was and I’ve been hooked ever since.  So easy and so good!

So, I’m posting this in case there is someone else out there in cyberspace or bloggityville that doesn’t know how to make them or just has never made them.  There is really no recipe to follow, you just eyeball your ingredients, mix it, roll it out and cut your egg noodles to dry.  (They won’t dry completely).

Here is what you’ll need:

2 large chicken breasts
13 c. homemade (preferably) chicken stock (I figure in that one cup boils/simmers away)
2 celery stalks, finely chopped
2 carrots, thinly sliced
1 medium onion, finely chopped
salt and freshly ground black pepper

all-purpose flour
2 eggs
milk

To a large stock pot add the following: chicken stock, celery, carrots and onion.  Heat until boiling and add the chicken breasts.  Cook for 15 minutes.  Remove chicken and set aside to cool on a plate.  Turn your stock down to a simmer.

Once your chicken has cooled, take two forks and shred the chicken.Add chicken to the pot, cover and remove from heat.

Now, it’s time to make your egg noodles.

In a large bowl, dump about 2-3 cups of all-purpose flour.  Make a well in the middle of the flour and crack two eggs into well.  Add a healthy splash of milk.  Mix well with a spoon. You don’t want the dough sticky, if it’s sticky add more flour.  A little at a time.  If it’s too dry add more milk, a little at a time.  You want the end product to be a stiff dough.

Roll dough into a ball.  Pull a piece off about the size of a lime.  Sprinkle the counter or work surface with a dusting of flour.  Roll the dough out to 1/8 inch thickness. Using a pizza cutter, slice into thin strips and set onto cookie sheets.Once finished, I let the noodles dry on the cookie sheets for about 45 minutes to an hour, uncovered.Take your chicken stock and heat to medium-high heat.  Once it starts boiling, add the noodles and cook for about 20-30 minutes. Cooking time depends on the thickness and size of the noodles.  Mine usually takes about 30 minutes but, I make a little thicker noodle than stated above.  Add salt and fresh ground pepper to taste.Serve piping hot and enjoy!

This makes a very large pot of soup.  If it’s just you or you and your significant other you may want to cut the recipe in half.  It’s only the two of us here but, I make an entire pot every time…it never goes to waste.  I mean come on, it’s chicken noodle soup 😉

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Homemade chicken noodle soup

  1. Jorie says:

    Yum, Suzie! Reminds me of the kind my mom used to make on cold winter’s days 🙂 sticks to your ribs!

  2. Mmmm this sounds warming and hearty 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. Looks fabulous. Even though we’ve been spoiled this weekend with amazing weather, we’ll be needing this soup soon!

  4. Veronica says:

    That’s a bowl of comfort right there! Chicken noodle soup with egg noodles is one of my favorite things to eat EVER. I needs to do this soon. It’s sooo ridiculously cold right now but over the weekend it was so nice and warm!

    • Suzie says:

      It’s one of my favorites too! A friend of mine at Ft. Riley was saying how cold it was there! It was actually warmer here yesterday than there! I had to get the gloves and hat out today, the winter coat has been out 🙂

  5. Suzie, I’m in awe that you made your own noodles. I’m so happy to see you cooking again!!! What a great and comforting classic. I also like that you added in an extra cup of stock, just for good measure =)

  6. Fran says:

    Suzie that looks really, really good. I don’t make chicken noodle soup that often but seeing this: I need to do it again soon.

  7. Desi says:

    Oh wow I’ve never made egg noodles! You make them look so easy though. To be honest, I’ve never made any kind of dough!!! I think I could do this though. I am not a fan of the canned chicken noodle soups but I’m sure homemade is delicious!!!

    • Suzie says:

      I had never made them either (until a couple years ago), so I know you can do it! It’s easy. They are nothing like canned noodles, which are mushy…yuck!

  8. biz319 says:

    I am definitely going to give this one a try, I’ve never dropped homemade noodles like that in soup before!

    • Suzie says:

      Let me know if you try it Biz 🙂 I think you’ll like it. Total comfort food and easy. It just takes a little bit of time, nothing drastic though!

  9. Joanne says:

    Whoa! I LOVE that you made your own noodles for this! Way to go the extra mile!

  10. Warming, delicious and comforting…this is what I called ‘mom’s cooking’!

Leave a Reply

