A rollercoaster week and an introduction…

So let’s go back a week shall we? I can explain my lack of blogging and lack of comments on your blogs.  October 3rd I was at work and started getting severe pains in my right side.  It went all the way to my shoulder and was quite painful.  Anyone that knows me knows I have a huge tolerance for pain.  Childbirth was easy to me…put it that way.

By 4 pm that day, I was fired from my job.  Believe me when I say you can get fired for posting things on facebook.  I never said a name and I was making a joke, like usual, but I got canned, booted, kicked to the curb.  After six years, never being in trouble and only one vacation in all those years.  I’ll leave it at that and say no more.  I didn’t feel like facing my husband (or anyone) at that moment, so I went home and slept.  The pain was getting very intense by now.

I started getting a cough by Thursday and just thought it had something to do with the pain in my side.  So Thursday, Friday and Saturday I pretty much stayed in bed, burning up with a fever and coughing so hard I would get sick.  The pain at this time was unbearable.  By Sunday I was going to drive myself to the hospital.  Again, those of you that know me, know I don’t even like going to the Doctor’s let alone a hospital, because I have no health insurance.  I have not been hospitalized (overnight) since I gave birth 21 years ago!!

My hubs went with me and after numerous x-rays and blood tests, they found I had pneumonia, which I get about every other year.  Still, that didn’t explain the pain in my side.  They thought possible gallstones or kidney stones, so I was admitted to the hospital.  At this point, I didn’t care…I just wanted something for the pain.  And guess what?  I got it, I don’t know what it was called but it was a wonder drug that they shot into my IV and let me tell you…I was floating and pain free!  I was happy. Like happy, happy, joy, joy, happy.

The next day brought about 99 more tests, MRI’s, x-rays, scans of scans, blood tests, you name it.  I noticed blood in my urine and it was shortly after that they noticed my blood levels were way below normal.  I was losing blood but, not enough in my urine to make a huge difference.  I was losing blood somewhere.  I had to have a blood transfusion.  I didn’t have gallstones but I had “sludge” in my gallbladder along with some blood.

I was released to come home on Tuesday.  I had meds for pneumonia and pain meds (which don’t work) for my gallbladder.  It was determined my gallbladder should come out but, they can’t do surgery until I’m over pneumonia.

In between all this, on Thursday October 4th, my grandson was born!  I was happy and thrilled but in so much pain, I could hardly talk to my son on the phone.  I felt so horrible to be miserable on the day he was just ecstatic with joy!  On the other hand, if I were in TX to see the baby, I wouldn’t get to even be near him.

I have a check-up with my Doctor tomorrow.  Since I’ve been home, my legs, hands and face have been swelling up.  A lot.  I look like the Michelin man only blown up even more and my eyes are little slits like my ponytail is waaaaaayyyyy too tight!

I was back commenting on blogs yesterday and plan on staying that way.  It all depends on what they do/say today.  I’m hoping (praying) I get to come home with meds and not be admitted again.  I would seriously cry, since I’m jobless and have no insurance.  Sooooo, if I do disappear from your blog comments you will know why and I will try to hurry back.  I am taking a break from my own blog for a week or two.  I’m on a pretty crappy diet with my gallbladder and I’m sure you don’t want to hear about eating things that taste like cardboard and grass or ass.  It just doesn’t make for good blogging 😉

Since all that was kinda’ serious and not much fun, I just can’t end my blog like that.  Of course I have to introduce my grandson!  My son’s name is Derek and this is Derek Calvin Wayne Howe Jr.  I apologize to those of you who have seen these on facebook but, you know I’m a Grandmama now and I’ll post these ’til your eyeballs are bloodshot and you’re screaming no more please!!  ;P

I love this one, he looks so intense!With his Mama, Crissy…so sweet.

I will try (key word, try) to post a quick update on Wednesday.  If not, you will see something on facebook or I will still be lurking (and commenting) on your blog.  If you haven’t friend requested me yet on fb…look me up, Suzie Shaw (in Michigan), I’ll gladly accept 🙂  Even though I had a bad week, I had a wonderful week too with this precious new addition to our family.  Life is good, until I have to live in a van down by the river, then I’ll worry…until then, peace out peeps and have a great week 😉  I have missed you all!  xoxo

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A rollercoaster week and an introduction…

  1. First, congrats on being a grandma!! He is adorable.

    I don’t comment often (or ever?) but I have been reading for a while and wanted to say I’m so sorry for all the crap that you’ve had to deal with for the last 2 weeks. It’s terrible. I really hope things get better soon, and I hope you feel better soon too.

  2. Jenna says:

    Oh Suzie! I’m so sorry to hear about your job, and your health, and everything hitting at once. =( I’ll be praying for you. Thankfully your grandson is a ray of light amidst it all. What a cutie!!!!

  3. Oh no, I am so sorry about your job, but more importantly about your health. I am sending you tons of healing vibes and hope that you get better very soon. But now to the great news, your grandson is absolutely adorable!!!!!

  4. Veronica says:

    Hang in there Suzie, you will make it through this! A lot of people are praying for you, including me. I can’t wait till your gallbladder is gone and you are out of pain and healed up. And of course, your grandson is sooo adorable! Congrats on becoming a grandma! ❤

  5. You are constantly in my thoughts my dear friend, prayers and all – I’m so sorry that such a beautiful person as yourself has to go through, we are always here to support!

    Hugs
    Uru

  6. Suzie, first of all congratulations on the arrival of that handsome little boy. I am so happy for you and your son and all. PLEASE take care of yourself, am so sorry about the loss of your job, but am concerned about your health. I will be saying a prayer for you and keeping you in my thoughts. Do take care of yourself and when you are up to it let us know how you are.

    • Suzie says:

      Thanks Suzanne, I am getting better. I have a small post for tomorrow planned. Things are looking up 🙂 And that little boy was totally worth the wait!

  7. Jorie says:

    Oh my goodness, Derek is already the most precious thing on earth! So cute.

    Suzie, I am so sorry to hear about your bout of bad luck with the job and now your health. Do all that you need to get well and recover to your fullest. What terrible timing with your illness. You will get through this! Hang in there! We will all be here when you get back 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      I guess no timing is ever good for bad luck huh? You’re right, I will get through this though and my spirits really are up 🙂 Thanks Jorie!!

  8. Cakewhiz says:

    I am so sorry to hear about all the hardships you have been going through 😦
    Hope everything gets better for you soon…i will keep you in my prayers 🙂

    And omg! Your little grandson is such a cutie!!!!!! I love little babies….hehhe. Congrats on becoming a grandma 😀

    • Suzie says:

      Thank you for prayers and kind words! I just think my grandson is the cutest…the hard part is waiting until Christmas to meet him. I beg for pictures daily…lol!

  9. I”ll keep you in my prayers! The pictures are adorable!! What a cutie!

  10. Pingback: Award And Paying It Forward | apuginthekitchen

  11. azita says:

    Suze – Nice to meet you! I’m sorry about the hits on your job and health but hope all will be on the upswing for you very soon. Congratulations on becoming a grandma to such a darling little boy. Now there’s something to smile about! 🙂

  12. Gloria says:

    Hi Suzie. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s always nice to see a new face. I’m so thrilled to be part of the bake sale Veronica is hosting. I hope it helps a little with all the expenses that are undoubtedly piling up. Your post made me laugh and cry all at the same time! I wish you the best with getting healthy so you can go enjoy your new grandson. What a sweetie pie.

    • Suzie says:

      Of course I had to stop by, I want to get to know all you fabulous people helping out! I’m sure every little bit will help. I’m glad you could still see my sense of humor through all this. I love to have fun so I’m trying (successfully) to stay positive 🙂 Thank you for your kind words about my grandbaby! I look forward to getting to know you better 🙂

Leave a Reply

