No Sew Fleece Blanket

I’ve seen this project around for a long time now.  I always thought the idea was cute but, until recently I didn’t have a baby to make one for.  Well, my daughter-in-law Crissy, was due the 27th and the little man still hasn’t made his appearance.  While I’m impatiently waiting, I seen pictures of his bedroom and decided to make a blanket for him.

So last Friday my friend Trish (pictured) and I went hog wild loony and made this baby blanket.  Yes, we’re wild and crazy like that 😉  If anyone told us we’d be doing that on a Friday night 20 years ago, we would have laughed our bee-hinds off!  But a Grandma has to be a Grandma and make blankies and such right?  Right on.

The blog I followed to do this blanket was probably the most informative and detailed I have seen out there, so I will post the link at the end of this blog.  I’m basically just showing you pictures of the blanket as it came along.  It really was an easy-to-do project, that could surely be done in a couple hours.  I just like to take 29 breaks, as Trish can attest too 😉  (Really, I think I have adult ADHD, as with any project I need lots of breaks…lol!).

If you want a small extra project that involves a little sewing, when cutting out the corners, save the corner pieces to make a little pillow.  If you have enough extra material cut four more squares out of the extra fleece.  You should have 12 squares.  Using six squares per side, pin the squares together and sew them together.  Do the same with the other six squares.  Place the two pieces (good side together) and pin the edges.  Sewing around the pillow, leave a gap (3-4 inches) to fill the pillow with stuffing and then hand sew the gap.  Voila!  A matching cute little pillow.  We didn’t get to the pillow on Friday…soon though!

The only thing I didn’t see in the blog that I followed was about tying the knots in the blanket.  To be exact, how many ties/loops.  We did two loops, so one knot, and it turned out perfect.  Just in case you were wondering and like to dissect things like I do.  Ha!After we cut our salvage off we then pinned the edges and cut our 5 inch corners out.Close up of the corners.Next we cut our 5 inch long by 1 inch wide fringe.Trish, cutting and pinning 🙂Cute little fringies!  Do every other one and flip…it really does work great like this.The finished product!!Tutorial blog here.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to No Sew Fleece Blanket

  1. Adorable blanket, love the monkey’s!! A good friend made one of those for Izzy and Nando I always wondered how it’s done. You must be a nervous wreck waiting for that baby to come!

  2. ward says:

    Lol, if it kept you busy, it means you were out of trouble. Nice blanket though. Hopefully any day now.

  3. biz319 says:

    My daughter has made those before even though she sews better than I do! So fun – come on now, when is that grandkid of yours going to pop out??!!

  4. Jenna says:

    Aw, what a cute blanket! (and it does look SO soft–mmmmm) Hopefully the little man will decide it’s his time soon–it’s hard to wait. =)

    • Suzie says:

      They are so soft and cozy! I’m keeping myself entertained with a “Guess the baby’s weight” contest on FB, while I await his arrival 😉

  5. I’ve done a couple of these and they are always a hit! And I like that there isn’t any sewing. 🙂

  6. That blanket pols exquisite my friend but well worth the hard work 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. Jorie says:

    So cute, Suzie! Your grandchild will absolutely love it. What a good grandma-to-be you are!

  8. Brilliant! (but then again, I’d expect nothing less)—I cannot sew to save my life so this is going down in the books to give a go–I love the pattern, too! How cute!!!

  9. Veronica says:

    So did Trish know when you were snapping photos that she was going to be on your blog? I never warn anyone! haha! This is always in the back of my mind for an easy hand-made gift that isn’t’ food related b/c I can’t sew. I love how simple it is. Yours turned out great!

    • Suzie says:

      Yeah, she knew. She must not have seen that I posted it yesterday though. Plus, lots of people know when I have camera in hand they may end up on my blog or FB…lol! 🙂

  10. MisBehaved Woman says:

    That is just too adorable! I’m sure it will be loved (and slobbered on) for several years 😉
    Hope the wait is over for you soon!

  11. Cake Whiz says:

    awwww…. this blanket is so cute. the monkey pattern is adorable!

  12. Velva says:

    That is one adorable baby blanket! Cheers to you! Gifts that are made with love always are the best gifts.

    • Suzie says:

      I miss you too. I have a blog written for tomorrow explaining what’s been going on. It was so nice to read everyone today, I really do love my blogging friends!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

