Hawaiian Baked Ham and Swiss Sandwiches

This recipe has been calling my name for about a year now.  I have it pinned on pinterest but, I never seem to get around to making it.  Well, I seen it again recently and it made me almost drool.  Maybe I just wanted a ham and cheese sandwich badly but, whatever the case I went to the grocery store after work and bought the ingredients to make them.

Boy, am I glad I did!  These little sandwiches were sooo good.  I have these catagorized under main dishes and appetizers.  We turned it into dinner with a side of good ole potato chips and dip and dill pickle slices.  Yes, some nights I pretend I run a little country cafe and serve only fattening foods.  It’s fun, you should try it! 😉

If you see the amount of butter and go Holy Schnikeys!  Well, so did I.  I followed the recipe though and it is the perfect amount.  I do try to actually follow recipes…sometimes.

So here’s my country cafe sammies…

Hawaiian Baked Ham and Swiss Sandwiches

1 (12 pack) of King’s Hawaiian Original Rolls
1 lb. deli ham, shaved (or ham in the reuseable plastic containers)
8 oz. package of Swiss cheese, thin sliced
1 1/2 sticks of butter, unsalted
3 T. dijon mustard
1 1/2 t. Worcestershire sauce
3 t. poppy seeds
1 1/2 t. dried, minced onion

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt the butter in a small saucepan.  Mix in the mustard, Worcestershire sauce, onion and poppy seeds.  Simmer for several minutes, to let the onions rehydrate.

Cut the entire pack of rolls in half, horizontally (keeping all top and bottom halves in tact).

In a greased 9 x 13 pan, place the bottom half of the rolls and spread 1/3 of the onion mixture over the bottom of the rolls.  Follow that by adding the ham and cheese.  I used 2 slices of ham and I quartered the slices of swiss cheese, using two pieces to top the ham.Replace the tops of the rolls and spread (pour) the remaining onion mixture over the top.Cover and bake for 20 minutes.  Once finished, separate them for serving.

Enjoy!

Slightly adapted from here.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hawaiian Baked Ham and Swiss Sandwiches

  1. Jorie says:

    I’m pretty sure my boyfriend would roll over and die if I made these. Look right up his alley! I’m a sucker for Hawaiian bread too!

  2. biz319 says:

    Um, yes, sometimes a stick and a half of butter is completely necessary! Sans the onions, this sounds delicious!

    • Suzie says:

      The butter did work in this recipe and I wouldn’t do it any other way 🙂 Every time I type onions in a recipe, I want to write “except for you Biz” 😉

  3. Jenna says:

    Suzie, these look amazing. And I can’t even count the recipes that have been calling my name for a year (or more) that I still haven’t gotten around to making . . . so kudos to you for getting this one in the oven!

  4. I reckon these are pretty gorgeous my friend, absolutely perfect tropical sandwiches!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Veronica says:

    The only holy schnikey’s coming out of my mouth is because of all the deliciousness going on here. I can totally handle that much butter. Me and butter are good pals-I can go through ten pounds in a month-no joke! These sound so droolworthy and I’m totally pinning them and hope it doesn’t take me a year to try them.

  6. I’m so into hot sandwiches lately and this I’ve GOTTA try! I’m smacking my forehead bc I JUST saw a loaf on sale the other day 😦

  7. Rhonda says:

    Those buns by themselves are delicious, this looks amazing. Tom doesn’t eat ham but he might just be converted by this!

Leave a Reply

