Toasted Marshmellow Creme Brulee

My friend Ward aka Slim is a foodie like many of us.  He does not blog but, we share recipes all the time.  He also bought me one of my favorite cookbooks 🙂  Instead of guest posting he just emailed me and told me how he did things along with his own pictures.  Since I don’t post many sweets on my blog, I thought y’all would like something sweet and something different.  If you have any questions he will be able to answer them.  So, in his words let’s begin…

I’ll add in the things I did wrong and if I was to make it again what I would do different. To start off, I would go with the 4 oz. ramekins instead of the 7 oz. ones.  It was my mistake; but, it gave me more room to play with. That’s where the graham crackers and chocolate came in. The Toasted Marshmallow Creme Brulee came from the September issue of Food Network Magazine.  The graham cracker and chocolate came from me, trying to fill in the space. I figured what goes well with toasted marshmallow?  Why not make a smores. It’s very rich and sweet. The brulee is kind of a custard for those who don’t know.  This is the recipe with my added little bit, the graham cracker and chocolate. Use 4 oz ramekins without.

Toasted Marshmallow (Smores) Creme Brulee

6 graham crackers
I suggest 1 tablespoon of butter per graham cracker
A bag of chocolate chips
50 marshmallows (from two 10 oz bags)
1 3/4 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
2 large eggs, plus 5 egg yolks

Crust

Process the graham crackers and butter together for the crust. (I used whole graham crackers (broke in half) and it made for a really hard bottom.)
Line the bottom of the ramekin.
Use a double boiler for the chocolate. Melt and pour over the graham cracker crust. (I tried baking instead of melting; didn’t work.)

Creme Brulee

1. Thread 24 marshmallows onto skewers and toast over an open flame until golden and charred in spots. (Alternatively, place the marshmallows on a baking sheet and broil, turning with a spoon, until toasted all over.) You can also improvise if you have no skewers handy.2. Put the toasted marshmallows, cream, milk, vanilla and salt into a saucepan and cook, stirring constantly, over medium heat until the marshmallows melt. (Some charred bits may remain.) Let cool 20 minutes.3. Preheat the oven to 325. Whisk the eggs and egg yolks in a bowl. Slowly whisk in 1 cup of the cooled marshmallow mixture, then whisk in the remaining mixture, being careful not to beat in too much air. Pour through a fine mesh sieve into a large liquid measuring cup.

4. Arrange six 4 oz ramekins in a roasting pan. Divide the custard among the ramekins. Transfer the roasting pan to the oven and add enough hot water to reach halfway up the sides of the ramekins. Bake until the custards are set but wobbly in the center, 30 to 35 min. (add 10min with the graham crackers). Remove from the oven and let sit in the water bath until cool enough to handle. Remove custards from water bath and let cool to room temperature, then cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm, at least 2 hrs or overnight.5. Preheat the broiler. Transfer the custards to the freezer to chill, 15 to 30 minutes. Meanwhile, pulse the remaining marshmallows and 3 tablespoons of hot water in a food processor until creamy (mine was lumpy creamy), about 1 minute.  Top each custard with 1 to 2 tablespoons of the marshmallow topping and gently spread to edges with damp fingertips. Broil until the tops are bubbly and dark brown (Be careful, I had one so dark it was in flames). Transfer the Creme Brulees to the fridge to chill, about 1 hour. Serve Cold.

If you have any questions please ask away, Ward will be happy to answer them 🙂  Because this is baking and I can’t answer squat…lol!  Thank you Ward for being my “guest” blogger.  You rock!!

Enjoy and have a great weekend y’all!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Toasted Marshmellow Creme Brulee

  1. Jorie says:

    HO-LY COW. These look amazing. My boyfriend’s mom LOVES creme brulee. I will have to share this recipe. Great post, Suzie!

  2. THAT LOOKS AWESOME! Your friend and you are genius 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • ward says:

      Lol, not quite a genius; but, will not totally disagree with you. I just needed something to fill up that extra space, and who doesn’t like smores.

  3. Slim is making me fat just by looking at these! LOL, I kid-I kid…but these are definitely some good eats…I love burnt sugar and this may just very well be the ULTIMATE Creme Brulee!!

    • ward says:

      There was originally 6 ramekins in the picture; but, 1 came out in flames and I was afraid the rest would catch on fire. Lol, me and a broiler setting have issues. I’m sure you would have liked that one much better 🙂

  4. biz319 says:

    Insulin worthy!! I just sent the link to my daugther – I am the cook, she’s the baker. Thanks!

  5. Veronica says:

    I was like whaaaaat when I saw the title of this blog. I thought your evil twin must have taken over or something. Glad to know you’re still Suzie. 😉 I saw the marshmallow creme brulee in Everyday Food last month (I believe, it may have been another mag) and I thought it sounded really good. Ward, you really took this to the next level! What a great idea to add the graham crackers and chocolate! Bravo!

    • Suzie says:

      I knew this title would get you 😉 I think it was in Food Network Mag, I could be wrong though. He’s working on something pumpkiny next 🙂 He has baking patience unlike me…lol!

      • Veronica says:

        OH yeah, that’s right! So will he be the dessert supplier to your blog? I needs to find me a savory supplier for mine-lol!

        • Ward says:

          I’m not a desert guy. I do like to venture out and try different things. The grill is my favorite and anything that involves, spices, rubs, marinades, sauces, and definitely cheese.

  6. Wow, I missed this one. It looks SOOOO GOOOOD!!! What a great idea. Love s’mores and incorporating those delicious flavors in a creme brulee is brilliant!!

  7. Rhonda says:

    Wow, and wow. These are drool worthy to say the least, I LOVE toasted marshmallows any way I can get them. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  8. Velva says:

    This is delicious! Love, love it! Isn’t it great to have foodie friends like yourself?
    Thanks for sharing.

    Velva

  9. daisyandthefox says:

    Wow!! this looks de-lic-ious!!! i love creme brulees and what a perfect addition with the marshmellow! 🙂
    lovely blog too by the way 🙂

  10. Suzie says:

    Thank you, my friend is the genius behind this though 🙂 I’m glad you enjoy the blog, nice to have you here!

Leave a Reply

