Italian Parmesan Chicken

This recipe was in one of those old cookbooks that I don’t often use because the recipes are compiled from lil ole church members or such and such club members.  To me these cookbooks always contain recipes that call for canned soup mixes, which I’m not against I just don’t like to see every recipe containing that.  Or I don’t want to see 100 different versions of waldorf salad.  If you know what I mean 😉

This one contains a soup mix but, a different variety.  I decided to try it because it sounded easy for a weeknight and I have a busy couple weeks ahead of me so I’m all for easy!  The end of summer is here for us in Michigan, so we’re canning like crazy and taking care of the flowerbeds, etc.  (The dreadful, tearful closing of the pool too…boo hoo!).  All things that keep me working late. When I can whip up a meal in 15 or so minutes, I’m a happy gal!

Italian Parmesan Chicken

1 (8 oz.) bottle of Italian dressing*
1 package dry Lipton onion soup mix
3 T. Lawry’s salt free seasoning
1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese
1 1/2 c. Italian bread crumbs
4-6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I used tenderloins)
salt and pepper
Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place chicken in a ziploc bag with the Italian dressing and marinade for 5-8 hours or overnight (my preference).  Combine bread crumbs, soup mix, seasonings and parmesan cheese.  Remove chicken from ziploc bag and discard bag.  Bread the chicken breasts and place on a greased baking sheet. 

Cook for 25-35 minutes, be sure not to bake too long or chicken will be dry.  Serve with marinara sauce of your choice.  Or a banana.Serves: 4-6

*I used Zesty Italian dressing if you’d like to use that instead.  A little more zip zappity zow!

Enjoy and have a great long weekend y’all!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Italian Parmesan Chicken

  1. Easy and tasty, the chicken sounds great. I love how the chicken tenders cook so quickly. Wonderful meal!

  2. Sam says:

    This sounds so yummy! My husband of course isn’t a fan of the onion soup mix 🙂

  3. Veronica says:

    Yeah, I think the used of canned soups stems from the 50s–back then they used those soups in everything with pride! I even have a chocolate cake recipe with canned tomato soup in it…don’t know if I”ll ever try that. This sounds good! I made a similar version but it uses italian dressing mix mixed with the parmesan cheese and that’s it–coat it on the chicken and bake. It’s really good too and even easier! Plus I know you keep those mixes on hand now. 🙂

  4. Oh wow your Parmesan chicken looks AWEsOME 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. I have a cookbook like that, it was actually my Mom’s. The PA Grange Cookbook from the 70’s. That chicken looks tasty to me! Have an awesome Labor Day weekend!

  6. I love how accessible this is and how delicious it looks, Suzie! I love those sorts of recipes that have been around forever (they make for the best and yummiest)!

Leave a Reply

