Oven-fried Potato Chips

This recipe looked so simple and tasty I really wanted to make it.  The thing is it sat in my inbox for over a year.  Why you say?  It’s so easy.  Well, because the last time I used my mandoline I chopped a large chunk off of my right hand ring finger.  It was not pretty.  In fact it was an awful, non-stop bleeding mess for over 4 hours straight!  I did not go to the emergency room because I have no insurance, so unless my appendage is hanging off I do not go.

In this case, around hour 5 when the bleeding started to slow, I superglued my finger.  Which hurt like hell but, ended up in the long run healing without infection.  Needless to say, I was very leary of the mandoline after that.  Just looking at it sent chills down my spine, remembering what I had done.  After about a year and a half (maybe even longer), I seen the recipe and thought it’s time to get over that fear and use the mandoline!  (And the slicing guard).

So here goes, and sorry for the gory introduction 😉

Oven-fried Potato Chips

4 russet potatoes, peeled
butter-flavor cooking spray (such as Pam)
Sea salt to taste

Slice potatoes diagonally 1/8 inch thick.  Use a mandoline if you have one to help cut the potatoes in thin, even slices.  (Please use the slicing guard too!).

Pat the potatoes dry between paper towels.Arrange potatoes in a single layer on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  You will need 2 cookie sheets.  Spray the pototoes with cooking spray and sprinkle with sea salt to taste. Bake in a preheated oven at 500 degrees for 10-15 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.  Ovens vary, so you’ll want to keep an eye on them.  Serve with malt vinegar for that British Pub feel 😀  Mmmm….mmmm good!Yield: 4 servings.

Adapted from Simply Recipes.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Oven-fried Potato Chips

  1. Jay says:

    Those look pretty good. Think I may try this out sometime soon.

  2. Veronica says:

    I remember that incident–oh my, it still makes my insides shrink to think about it! Thanks for reminding me! haha! Glad you were able to overcome your dread of the mandoline (remember I thought you cut your hand on the instrument when you told me? bwah!) to make these-they sound really good. Do they bake up crispy?

    • Veronica says:

      P.S. I have heard of doing this in the microwave too!

      • Suzie says:

        Yes, I remember you thought it was the instrument…lol! Yep, they bake up nice and crisp. You can have them less crisp with less time, all depends how you like them 🙂 I’ve seen the microwave version but, you can do more in the oven than in the microwave, so I tend to go this way.

  3. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Yikes on the finger wound! Glad you’ve healed okay!
    Thanks for the tip on what kind of vinegar to look for. My kiddo loves salt & vinegar chips but I had no idea what kind of vinegar was used…she’s gonna be SO happy this coming weekend!

  4. I bought a microplane cut protection glove for just that purpose:

    http://www.amazon.com/Microplane-34007-Kitchen-Cut-Protection-Glove/dp/B001QXZORE

    makes me cringe to even contemplate it 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      You know what? I have one of those. When I worked at a juvenile home and we had to “pat” them down we had to use these, so we wouldn’t get cut, stabbed, etc. I forgot all about it! Thanks!

  5. Jenna says:

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe you superglued your finger. That is so crazy . . . hard core . . . and kind of amazing. I’m glad you conquered your fear and used the mandoline again, because these potatoes look scrumptious!

    • Suzie says:

      My logic, at the time, was that the hospital uses superglue. So, why not give it a try? And it did work 🙂 (P.S. I have a huge tolerance for pain too).

  6. I love how the ended up…all brown and bubbly on top–with a splash of malt vinegar? My mouth is literally watering. I love the crispiness you achieved WITHOUT a fryer–ahhhhmazing! ^.^

  7. Mmmm these chips beat store bought any day 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. Yum, love chips. Great that they can crisp in the oven, less oil is a good thing!! Never thought to bake at high temp.

  9. Ward says:

    Sounds delicious. I will try this one because I’m a carboholic.

  10. Sam says:

    Yum! I have got to get a mandoline, it’s like the one kitchen gadget that I don’t have.

  11. Randi says:

    A friend of mine did the same thing to her finger( mandolin injury). When I want to slice multiple potatoes, I just use the food processor. I’m afraid of the mandolin.

Leave a Reply

