Refrigerator Dill Pickles

Since I’ve been canning lately I thought I’d show you a quick and easy way to make the perfect dill pickles.  The jars self-seal in your refrigerator, so make room for these babies cuz it’s pickling time!  In our garden we only have two or three (I can’t tell) cucumber plants.  So, I am picking baby cucumbers (pickles) about every other day right now…they grow fast!  Especially if it rains and it has been here.

This recipe is for 2 pints but you can adjust accordingly.  There are no set rules and I don’t use exact measurements.  Probably why I can’t bake 😉  If you don’t like hot peppers or garlic…just omit the step, it will be perfectly fine.  This is just a basic guideline for people that want to can that never have.  Have fun with it!

Here’s what you’ll need:

Refrigerator Pickles

Pickles – whole, sliced or spears (washed and cleaned)
sprigs of dill
black peppercorns
small onion
mustard seed
alum
garlic cloves
cayenne or jalapeno pepper

3/4 white vinegar
3 c. water
2 t. Mrs. Wages dill pickle mix
1/2 t. kosher salt

Wash the dill sprigs off and let drain on a paper towel.  Add a sprig of dill to each jar.

Add 5-6 black peppercorns to each jar.  Quarter a small onion and split between the jars.  Add this much mustard seed…told you I don’t measure! 😉

Add a pinch of alum to each jar.

Slice up your garlic cloves, however many you’d like.  I love garlicky pickles so I put 3 cloves in each jar.  Chop up your hot pepper and leave the seeds in if you like heat (I do).  Add a few pieces to each jar.  Remember this step is optional, if you don’t like heat or prefer very little add less.  Or none.

Add your pickles to the jar. I don’t pack them too tightly.  You want the goodness of all you’ve packed in there to swim around freely.In a medium size saucepan add: the vinegar, water, dill pickle mix and salt.  Just barely bring to a boil and remove from heat.

Stir mixture throughly, pour over pickles and fill jars, leaving 1/2 inch headroom.Put your lid and rings on and refrigerate.They should self-seal after a few hours.  Test the tops to see if they “pop” down in the morning.  If they ‘pop’ they didn’t seal, use those first, with no seal they won’t stay crunchy fresh.  The sealed ones are good for a long, long time but, pickles won’t last THAT long! 😉  I don’t think I’ve ever had a top that didn’t seal with this method though.

They’re best if you wait two weeks or longer to open them.  Enjoy!!

Have a great weekend y’all!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Refrigerator Dill Pickles

  1. Sam says:

    I’m soooo glad that you posted this. I’m definitely going to use it to can my pickles. Spicy and garlicky = LOVE!

  2. Jenna says:

    Yep, your reasons for not baking well are my reasons. Measuring is just so . . . uninspiring! =)

  3. These pickles look so flavoursome 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Rhonda says:

    yum yum yum, pickles are a favorite in this house for sure. I need to give this a try. I am the same way with not being able to bake because I don’t measure anything 🙂

  5. Cakewhiz says:

    My mom makes homemade pickles and i always love to visit her so i can stick my hand into her jars…lol.
    Your pickles look awesome!

  6. Veronica says:

    I have never seen dill like that! It’s usually really fine looking. That’s so cool. Is it yours? I saved this recipe from you but never found Mrs. Wage’s seasoning, but I bet any would work, right?

  7. I have complete faith in you that not only can you bake, you can whip up something heavenly LIKE THAT *snaps fingers* I’m happy that you posted this as for some reason, I’ve always viewed pickling as a daunting task. You’re the best!

    • Suzie says:

      I think the old-fashioned (like my grandma used) way of canning was an all-day, daunting task. Thanks to quick process canning, it’s quick, easy and painless 😀

  8. Veronica says:

    I begged you to add the like button and i’m always forgetting it’s there now! lol-I just went through and liked the last three blogs b/c I forgot to.

  9. biz319 says:

    I loves me some dill pickles!! But I have to be honest, I am 44 and I’ve never heard/seen alum before!

    • Suzie says:

      Alum is pretty much only for canning, as far as I know. At least I’ve never seen it used any other way. In pickling it’s used to maintain crispness, so the pickles stay nice and crunchy, not soggy and gross 😉 It’s found with regular spices or in the summer by the pickling jars, etc. The jar of alum I have has lasted me years!

Leave a Reply

