Strawberry Sorbet

Are you tired of seeing ice cream and/or sorbet recipes?  This is probably the last one for the season.  I think 😉  I promised a friend at work I would make her at least one ice cream/sorbet this summer.  I almost missed that deadline, as fall is fast approaching.  Alas, I did come through with some strawberry sorbet for my Miss Jodi 🙂

I’m also glad I got my use out of my ice-cream maker this summer.  I don’t like to buy things and then let them sit.  Like my roaster.  Why I thought I needed one is beyond me.  I believe I used it once and that was at Christmas when I needed two separate ovens on two different temperatures.  After that, it’s been a dust collector.  And a space eater.  The minute I sell it or give it to someone though, low and behold, you know I’ll need it!  Do you have any appliances that collect dust bunnies?

Strawberry Sorbet

2 1/2 c. fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced
1/2 c. sugar
Juice of 2 medium lemons
1/4 c. light corn syrup
2 c. very cold water

Combine the strawberries, sugar, lemon juice and water in a blender.  Puree and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Add the corn syrup and stir until well blended.

Transfer the mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s instructions.

Don’t have an ice cream maker…no fear…looky here!

Makes 1 quart.

Have a great Wednesday y’all!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Strawberry Sorbet

  1. Yum, strawberry sorbet. So glad you are using the ice cream maker, I know what you mean about appliances that sit collecting dust bunnies. Have several, my waffle maker although I love waffles I just don’t make them very often, too fattening.

  2. Sam says:

    Yum!! I’m coming to visit you, ice cream and sorbet are two of my favorite things in this world. I definitely don’t own an ice cream maker–it would be dangerous! Haha my step dad is make me some homemade ice cream when I was home back in early June though, so good! I have way too many appliances that I really don’t need–I probably should sell some before we pcs.

    • Suzie says:

      My favorite was the lemon-lime sorbet. Put a couple scoops in a glass and fill with sprite…sooo good! Sounds like you have a cool step Dad. I need to do something with some appliances too, I just don’t like to get rid of things 😉

  3. Never too tired of such good looking ice cream 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Jenna says:

    You’ve been a sorbet-making machine this summer! And I feel the same way about appliances like my juicer–I really like to make sure they get their use, because it can be easy to forget about them and just let them collect dust.

  5. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Our ice cream maker was deemed a dust collector and donated to a thrift store last winter. That’s really working out great now with all of the yummy recipes you post! AGH!
    The bread-maker, dehydrator and microwave were also cleared out. So far the only regret is the ice cream maker and only because of you lol. 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Lol! Isn’t that how it goes? 😉 I got rid of a dehydrator too. I’m surprised that you got rid of a microwave, I use mine all the time. I have a food processor that sits in a box on the counter because I have no where to put it. I use it often enough, I’m just out of room!

      • MisBehaved Woman says:

        I’ve had closets that were bigger than my current kitchen. I have exactly 2ft of counter space and seriously, I’m not exaggerating. Such a blast when we regularly host family meals/gatherings of 6-10 people aaaayyyeeeeeee!
        The microwave just seemed to encourage the kids to be lazier and eat more junk so when I had to choose between it and the toaster oven…well, pissing off the kiddos won! 😉

        • Suzie says:

          I don’t have much more than you but, I do feel for you girl! Especially when hosting dinners…yikes! Christmas was/is always hard for me, I tend to freak out a bit…lol! 😉 I agree with you on the microwave. Once I thought about it, I really use mine for few things…baked potatoes, melting butter, nothing major. But, hot pockets and pizza rolls yes, total laziness…I have a son from the same generation. I do love it when he calls me now and says “Mom, how do I make salmon like you?”…ah…at least he loves my cooking and wants to carry something on…

          • MisBehaved Woman says:

            Christmas always gets me funky & I’m not sure I even want to contemplate what the holiday entertaining will be like in my shoe-box…I’d not even thought about yet…eeeek! I did finally manage to convince my daughter than some lazy foods taste better when cooked in the toaster oven. Pizza rolls that are crisp and not all soggy are pretty nice, ya know? She still eats ravioli cold from the can rather than heat it on the stove because “that takes too long”….sheesh! I should buy some old-school TV dinners and show her how long lazy foods used to take to cook lol! I’m hoping that someday the kids will call and ask questions like that but I think I still have a few years of questions like, “how long do you boil water” before we get to that point. *Sigh*

            • Suzie says:

              That is funny! My son (who is 21) still eats ravioli cold from the can…gross! They’d freak about an old-school tv dinner or pot pie…lol!

  6. Cakewhiz says:

    I have a rice maker that i just don’t use but it sits on the counter collecting dust and taking uo way too much space! Lol
    But i have been thinking of buying an ice cream maker for a while…i just hope i get to use it as much as you do…hehe.
    This sorbet looks delightful and i love the color 🙂

  7. Suzie says:

    Lol! When I bought it, I thought I better use this and bought a Ben & Jerry’s cookbook with it. I’ve used it a lot this summer so we’ll see how next year goes 😉 Thank you!

  8. Veronica says:

    My waffle maker. I’ve used it like twice in five years. I don’t know why but I think I just like pancakes better? But I hardly ever make those, either. Just not my usual bfast choice. And as far as getting rid of something and then needing it, yes! I sold our smoker when we turned vegan (it only lasted like 3-4 months) and have regretted it ever since. 😦 Your sorbet sounds phenomenal. I’ve never had homemade, bet it can’t even be compared to store-bought.

    • Suzie says:

      Oh, I adore my smoker. In fact we have two of them. I need to do some venison jerky now that you mention smokers 🙂 I tasted the sorbet (because it looked so pretty) but it was way sweet for me…lol! 😉 Jodi said she loves it though.

  9. biz319 says:

    I didn’t use my ice cream maker at all this summer – so sad! Your sorbet looks amazing!

  10. I don’t think I could ever get tired of seeing this on your page, my friend…esp as fabulous as it looks!! 😉

Leave a Reply

