Watermelon Limeade

If I post some summer recipes do you think summer might stick around?  I know most of you are loving this cooler weather but, I am NOT!  I haven’t used my pool since August 5th and am having severe withdrawals from it.  If I only get to use it June and July…well, I may shed a few tears 😉  I’m going to do a little jig to get summer back!

In the meantime, if you didn’t see on facebook my son got married on Friday August 10th, I’m so happy for him and I’ve gained a beautiful daughter-in-law too.  They will have a more formal wedding next year but wanted to tie the knot before baby (due in Sept.) and his next (unfortunately) deployment.  I’m a happy Mama!

So let’s make a drink to cheer them with!

Watermelon Limeade

1 medium sized seedless watermelon
6 limes
2 T. sugar (or more depending on your liking)

Working in batches, puree the watermelon, lime juice and sugar in a blender until smooth.  (4 cups watermelon, juice of five limes).  Strain in a strainer over pitcher to remove pulp and any seeds, stir strainer for faster removal of juice into pitcher.  Taste; add sugar to your preference.  Slice the last lime and add to pitcher for garnish.  Chill, until ready to serve.

(Isn’t my pitcher the awesomest? :D))

For a cocktail, add vodka or rum if desired.

I also posted this on facebook and no one had a definite answer, maybe one of you can help me out.  Can you tell me what kind of flower this is?  I know it’s in the lily family but, want to know exactly.  The colors are extraordinary and I must have more!

Thanks and have a great Monday!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Watermelon Limeade

  1. Love the pitcher and the drink. Congratulations on both the wedding and the impending birth of your grandchild. Will keep you son in my thoughts and prayers, my nephews are also serving in the military.

    • Suzie says:

      Thank you! I’m a proud Mama right now. I will do the same for your nephews, it can frazzle your nerves sometimes…the military life.

      • I know my poor sister is truly frazzled with both of her boys deployed. Going to get a watermelon and make that drink. So refreshing!

        • Suzie says:

          When my son was deployed I seriously think I aged 10 years. That has to be the hardest thing I’ve been through. I’m so not looking forward to that again. For now though, I have to put those thoughts aside. I’ll add your sister to my prayers also! Enjoy the drink and it is so refreshing 🙂

  2. Sam says:

    Congrats on your son getting married, so exciting!! Deployments suck, I’ll be keeping your son in my thoughts for sure.

    Anything “watermelon” has got my full attention, yummy. Also, those flowers are gorgeous!

  3. Suzie says:

    Thank you! It seems strange that my boy (man) is married and I’m only 29…ha ha ha! 😉 Yep, you know all about deployments…not fun at all. I do have to say the military community is awesome for support though!

  4. Jenna says:

    Congrats to your son!!! That’s awesome, and I don’t know how I missed that on facebook . . .

  5. Congrats to your son and to you! That drink looks so refreshing and we could use it here in AZ, I think our high today will be 113?

  6. Veronica says:

    Congrats on gaining a daughter! 🙂 I’m glad they will have a formal ceremony later, for your sake. I’m sure you must have been a little bummed not to be there. When’s his next deployment?

    The watermelon lemonade sounds so good and refreshing. I would be highly surprised if the hot weather doesn’t return, though I honestly would prefer it not to. You should get a gym membership just so you can go in the sauna, use the hot tub, and the tanning beds. Not the same, but still it’s heat and light! lol

    Those lillies are so pretty but I have no idea what kind they are. Didn’t you plant them?

    • Suzie says:

      Thanks V! Yeah, I’m glad they will have a later ceremony too, I want pictures!! He never really knows when deployment will be. His last deployment the date was changed like 9 times. I hope I get at least one more week of heat (and pool). The only gym here has equipment and nothing else. I can use the high school swimming pool and think I will do that this fall/winter. I love my water time 🙂 And as much as I worship the sun I don’t like tanners…yes, I make no sense 😉 The lilies were planted before I moved in, the former owner is deceased so I may never know what kind they are. Although I have two flower places on FB trying to figure it out!

      • Veronica says:

        Sorry, just now seeing this. They are lucky to have a photographer Mom-you will give them some great pictures. Using the high school swimming pool–cool that you can do that! It’s probably best you don’t like tanning beds–I heard it can be addictive and you don’t want to turn out like that crazy Mom who looks like a brown Crayola that burned her child in the tanning with her. lol It must fry brain cells as well. Bwah!

  7. Congrats on the beautiful wedding 😀
    And a baby on the way? Forever summer in your family 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. Watermelon is my absolute favorite fruit so this makes me very excited!!!

  9. biz319 says:

    I love that pitcher! Although I’ve broken every glass pitcher I’ve ever owned, so now I sport a plastic one 😀

    Congrats on your sons wedding (saw it on Facebook!) Such happy news!

  10. Suzie says:

    The pitcher is pretty heavy but, the margarita glasses (not shown) that came with it aren’t. I started with 6 and have 5 currently 😉 Thank you and I do know who “likes” my posts, I pay attention 🙂

  11. Raquel says:

    the flowers are called Surprise Lilies or Naked Ladies

Leave a Reply

