Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

My husband likes strawberry cheesecake ice cream so I told him I would make him some.  He said “Don’t bother, I won’t like it”.  He thinks homemade things, like ice cream, don’t taste the same as the store bought.  I said they don’t taste the same they’re better!  Still would he try it?  No.

I didn’t figure he would.  I still made it though and even tasted it…too sweet for me but, all my sweet tooth friends will enjoy.  My girlfriend lucked out and got the strawberry cheesecake ice cream.  At least I made someone happy 🙂

Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

2 c. strawberries, hulled and coarsely chopped
1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened
3/4 c. sugar
1 c. milk
1 T. lemon juice
1/8 t. salt
1/2 c. heavy cream

Combine strawberries, cream cheese, sugar, milk, lemon juice, salt and heavy cream into a blender.  Puree until smooth.

Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour (or more is fine).

Pour mixture into ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s directions.

Mine took about 30 minutes.  Put in freezer to ripen for at least 3 hours.

(I apologize for the poor picture quality).

Yield: 1 quart

Recipe from One Perfect Bite.

*Update: Once my husband heard that my friend really liked the ice cream, then he said he’d try it.  Guess I have to make another batch 😉  Silly man.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

  1. Sam says:

    Homemade ice cream is delicious! I’m sure you’ve seen the “ice cream” made from bananas around the blog world…I made my husband chocolate-peanut butter ice cream from them and he wouldn’t try it either. Men!

  2. This sounds better than any commercially prepared ice cream, you should put it in a container for store bought ice cream and serve it. I just bet he’ll gobble it up.

    • Suzie says:

      He would never know. I figured he wouldn’t want to try my homemade A.1. sauce either, so I put it in an A.1. bottle and he never knew the difference!! Lol!

  3. Jenna says:

    Yep. I just know I’d love that stuff. It amazes me when you make sweet things that you probably won’t like–that’s dedication to your sweet-toothed friends! =)

    • Suzie says:

      My son used to love that about me. I’d buy something sweet that looked good, take one bite and say “You can have it”. Sometimes I think he pointed things out purposely 😉

  4. biz319 says:

    I feel you – my husband doesn’t eat 70% of the stuff I make. Like I made chicken tikka masala over the weekend for my lunch this week – his comment? It smells like ass! My next door neighbor, whose wife thinks that cooking is making a casserole with a protein, bag of frozen veggies, “cream of” something soup and ritz crackers on top for dinner – just shakes his head at my husband on what he won’t eat of mine!

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, mine doesn’t eat about 70-80% of what I make. Tony’s comment is too funny! I have a few neighbors or co-workers that I share my food with. They all love it and think John is crazy but, that’s fine by them…lol! 😉

  5. A perfect ice cream with the best of all, this looks incredible 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Veronica says:

    Would he have fell for it if you just scooped it into a bowl and gave it to him, waiting to tell him it’s store bought until after he ate it? That’s totally what I would do with a man like that! lol Anyway, as you know I’m holding off on getting an icecream maker but I have a recipe saved for no-machine strawberry cheesecake ice cream that I want to try. That’s one of my favorite flavors–it sounds awesome!

  7. Suzie says:

    He might have. After he heard my friend liked it now he wants me to make him some! He believes my friend but, not me…lol! 😉

  8. Trisha Umphrey says:

    The Strawberry Cheesecake was awesome! Thank you Suzie from the bottom of my heart and the additional pound on my butt! Brian had a few bites then after I finished it Taylor asked for some. Too late! Sorry though that John believes me over you. He’s such a turd! Love ya’ my friend!!!

    • Suzie says:

      You’re welcome, sorry about the additional butt pound…lol! John knows you’re a good cook, so when he heard you liked it, he then changed his mind and said he’d try it. Such a dork! 😉

  9. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Sounds delish but I’d have a riot in the house if I tried to serve it. *We* only like strawberry ice cream that is solid pink and artificially flavored & as I found out by making a child cry at her birthday party – strawberry ice cream with real strawberries in it is unacceptable. *sigh* Doesn’t it kind of make you wish you could be Queen of your own island and serve up whatever you like without the complaints, snark and refusal to even TRY things???

    • Suzie says:

      Oh, I soooo know where you’re coming from. I think that’s what frustrates me the most with John, is that he won’t even try it! Years ago, cooking dinner could bring me to tears trying to make stuff that we both liked and not get complaints from him. Finally, as I got older and wiser I said, “If you eat you eat, if you don’t oh well!”. Let’s just say he eats fast food or frozen pizzas quite often (and he’s not fat what’s up with that?!?). I know you are talking about kids, mine is just a grown up version 😉

      • MisBehaved Woman says:

        Oh no, I’m not only talking about the childrens of the house. Steve’s taste buds never developed beyond a mid-western bland and military diet. This is the first summer I’ve managed to get him to eat squash and bell peppers. Fruit is still out of the question unless it’s canned peaches – in heavy syrup, of course…blech! That man even tried to feed me instant mashed potatoes as though it’s a real food…*sigh* There are no skins how can they be considered a potato??? He’s making progress but it’s sloooow & painful. Yesterday the neighbor gave me some garden-fresh cherry tomatoes…as I was doing a happy dance & popping one in my mouth he asks, “are they good..?” so I say, “try one!”…he made a funny face and walked away. Men…whatcha gonna do?!

        • Suzie says:

          He sounds pretty much like John. Though I must admit I made him another batch of this ice cream and he’s eating it. That is pretty crazy for him. John’s Mom says since we’ve been together he’s really opened up to more foods and I suppose she’s right but, as you said it’s been a slow and painful process 😉 I have been picking my cherry tomatoes daily and popping them into my mouth. John thinks it’s disgusting…lol! I won’t argue…more for me 😀

  10. You just said the perfect words to win my heart !!!

  11. I think it sounds delicious, but my husband would probably not like it either. 🙂

  12. Trisha Umphrey says:

    He’ll eat it if I say it’s good! LOL! 😉

Leave a Reply

