Pizza Bites

Are you feeling weighted down by fattening week?  ha ha ha!  We have to end the week on the same note, so it’s pizza bites today.  I really don’t get sick of pizza in any shape or form.  Do you?

I have a pile (and a couple drawers full) of recipes for even more kinds of pizza.  There’s one, kind of a breakfast pizza, that has eggs on it that keeps calling my name every time I open the drawer.  Eventually, I will get to it…really.

These would be perfect for get-togethers, New Year’s parties or Superbowl parties too.  Though I make them because it’s Tuesday and it sounds good 😉  You never need a reason to make scooby snacks do you?  Nah.

Okay, enough chit chat, bring on the pizza…

Pizza Bites

1 (13.8 oz.) tube refrigerated pizza dough (not thin crust)
4 mozzarella string cheese sticks, each stick cut into 5 equal cubes
*sliced pepperoni
olive oil
Italian seasoning
parmesan cheese
marinara sauce, pizza sauce or ranch for dipping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Lightly grease a 9 inch pie pan.  Divide the pizza dough into 4 sections, divide each of these sections into 5 equal pieces.  Take each piece and squish it down into a small circle, top with a cube of cheese and a slice or two of pepperoni.

Pull edges of the dough around the filling and pinch closed.  Place seam-side down in the pie pan.  Repeat with the remaining dough pieces.

Lightly brush the tops of the dough balls with olive oil.  Sprinkle with Italian seasoning.

Bake for 15 minutes, take out and top with parmesan cheese and bake an additional 5 minutes until tops are golden brown and cheese is melted.

Serve warm, with dipping sauce as desired.

*I used turkey pepperoni as they are less greasy.  I filled mine with one piece of pepperoni but, would do two next time.

This would also be good with ham and cheese inside and some kind of mustard dipping sauce.

Have a wonderful weekend y’all 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pizza Bites

  1. Cool idea kind of like Monkey bread pizza. Kids would love this (me too!)

  2. Jenna says:

    What an amazing idea! This looks like a good appetizer for our Bible study nights.

  3. Veronica says:

    I’ve been seeing these around too–I think they’re a great idea! Apuginthekitchen mentioned it looked like monkey bread-funny, b/c I’ve mostly seen this done in a bundt pan–just like monkey bread! I like your way better b/c it means you can put cheese on top. mmm

    • Suzie says:

      I’ve seen that way too but, I don’t own one and this way makes the perfect amount for J and I. And yep, you get the cheesy goodness 🙂

  4. These bites look incredible 😀 😀
    Nope definitely not feeling weighted down 😉

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. biz319 says:

    Pizza, in any form, is a good thing! Happy Friday!

  6. What a cool idea! I also dig the last pic—it looks like an angry monster face =D

Leave a Reply

