Hot Buttered Pretzels

Our local county fair was last week.  Since I no longer have a young child I rarely go to the fair.  Occasionally with a friend or my husband and that’s just to check out the animals, see some of the projects/contests and, of course, for the food.

I work right next to the fairgrounds.  The A/C is soooo cold at work I have my window open all summer and even run my heater…a lot!  Soooo, I smell that delicious fair food all day long for a week straight.  Torture, I tell you!  I couldn’t find anyone to go with me and just get food, they all had kids and wanted to stay there.  I didn’t want to go in with them, eat and say “Bye, gotta’ go!” so I went without my fair food but, my craving was still strong.

I came across this recipe and it totally satisfied my craving and better yet it’s homemade, I didn’t have to pay $8 for a pretzel.  Because this is baking I didn’t change hardly a thing in this recipe.  I don’t mess with that, I’m not a baker.  A double plus, my husband and a friend really liked these…yay!!  If you’re from my area…think Hot Sam’s, oh those pretzels were so delicious!  So, let’s get baking some homemade buttery pretzels.

For the dough:

2 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 t. salt
1 t. sugar
1 package instant yeast
7/8 to 1 cup lukewarm water (the amount depends on the humidity of your kitchen)

For the topping:

1/2 c. warm water
1 T. baking soda
cooking spray
coarse sea salt, for sprinkling
3 T. unsalted butter, melted

Combine all the dough ingredients in the bowl of a stand mixer, and mix with the paddle attachment until somewhat combined (or just mix by hand with a wooden spoon).  Change to the dough hook and knead on medium low for 5 minutes.  The dough should feel soft and smooth, not sticky. (I don’t have a stand mixer, I kneaded by hand and 5 minutes was perfect).

Lightly dust the dough with flour, then place in a ziploc bag and let the dough rise for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.

Remove the dough from the bag and place onto the counter top.  Cut the dough into 8 pieces, and let rest for 5 minutes.

(Yes, this picture shows 7 pieces, I had one in my hand as I took the pic 😉  No fear).

In the meantime, whisk to combine the warm water and baking soda and cook in the microwave for 1 minute.  Keep whisking to dissolve.

Roll each dough ball into an approximate 20 inch rope and form into a pretzel shape (or whatever shape you choose).

Roll each piece of pretzel into the soda wash and place onto the greased baking sheet.  Sprinkle with coarse sea salt, then let set for 10 minutes.

Bake for about 7-9 minutes until the pretzels are golden brown.  Brush the pretzels with the melted butter while they’re hot out of the oven.

Enjoy while they are hot.  Heat up some dipping cheese to make them even more splendid. Mmmm!

Yield: 8 pretzels

Recipe slightly adapted from Fifteen Spatulas.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hot Buttered Pretzels

  1. Soft warm pretzels, wow!!!The best treat ever.They look delicious.

  2. wow those look delicious! I totally cheat and make pretzels out of frozen dough 🙂 Yours look much better.

  3. Jenna says:

    I’ve always wanted to try making homemade pretzels!

  4. Veronica says:

    Yumbo! The only time I made pretzels I was on that HCG diet and couldn’t even have a lick but the smell was intoxicating and it was torture watching Dennis gobble them down. Now that I’m on a “let’s see how fat I can get” diet, these are the perfect thing to make! haha!

    • Suzie says:

      I don’t know how you made stuff like that and then resisted! Lol! Your new diet sounds like a blast ;P I’m making more this weekend if you’d like to start on your way over now 😉

      • Veronica says:

        It’s fun but I’m kind of sick of buying clothes in bigger sizes. Ah well, it was fun while it lasted. But I’m not going crazy extreme like the HCG diet–I’ll prob never do that again! It was fast, but I’d rather lose slowly and enjoy things like buttered pretzels along with my health food along the way. 🙂

  5. Pretzel heaven my friend, this looks utterly delicious 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. I was just talking to my friend about how much I love soft pretzels! These look fab, my friend!

  7. biz319 says:

    I. want. that. now! My husband loves soft pretzels – once the heat goes down and I can bake again, these will be first on the list to make. 😀

    • Suzie says:

      I know Biz, I made these and it was like 85 out…ha ha ha! I just had to have them. I’m sure Tony be happy when you make these 🙂

  8. MisBehaved Woman says:

    Fair food is the best food!!! It never would have occurred to me to try something this ‘complicated’ but you make it look so easy – and yummy – I’m willing to give it a try. I have a folder in my email now just for your recipes and this one is definitely being added to it. I can’t try them until it cools down some here…102 + swamp cooler + gas oven = misery!

  9. Suzie says:

    I’m not a baker therefore I don’t attempt to bake too much. This looked easy enough for me though 🙂 That you have a folder for my recipes you like puts a big smile on my face! With your temps, I’d be waiting to make them too…wowza!

  10. Veronica says:

    Suzie, are you a corn dog fan? That is my #1 HAVE TO HAVE fair food when I go. Anyway, I tried something that has the same taste as a corn dog but no frying and really easy. Mix up a Jiffy mix and slice 3-4 hotdogs into it (I like to use a lot so that there’s as much or more hot dogs than batter, like a real corn dog. Bake into muffins–they seem to bake a little faster than the box says, maybe b/c there’s so little batter to each muffin. So good topped with ketchup (or mustard, if you prefer). If you’re not a corn dog fan, never mind! 🙂

  11. Veronica says:

    Or you could do the same thing with full hot dogs in a pan, like this: http://veronicascornucopia.com/2009/08/20/cornbread-dogs/ but I would use 8 hot dogs and put them closer together-this was too much breading to be “corn doggy.” hehehe Also, I didn’t like this homemade cornbread as much b/c it wasn’t sweet enough…so you’d probably like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

