Orange Sorbet

I told you I was going to use this ice cream maker and I stuck to my word.  Plus, it’s hot out 😉  So, I have for you another sorbet.  It’s simple, easy and oh-so-refreshing! And yes, I’ve been busy, so this is the shortest blog evah!! 😉

Orange sorbet

1 c. water
1/4 c. sugar
2 c. fresh orange juice
2 T. lemon juice

Zest one of the oranges, set aside.

Peel two large strips of orange rind.  Put water, sugar and strips of rind into a small saucepan.  Heat and stir until sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat.  Let cool for 15 minutes.

Add orange juice, lemon juice and zest to the saucepan.  Stir.  Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour.

Stir throughly and add to ice cream maker, make sorbet according to directions.

Mine took 15- 20 minutes.  Put in freezer immediately.  Let set in freezer 3-5 hours to ripen.

Enjoy!

You don’t have an ice cream maker?  That’s okay, see here on how to make it without an ice cream machine.

Have  a lovely Wednesday peeps! 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Orange Sorbet

  1. Jenna says:

    Looks so refreshing, Suzie! Mmmm. And I hear ya about being busy . . . I can’t even remember the last time I photographed a recipe that I made! (the pizza I posted was from March!) I guess sometimes blogging must take a back seat to life, heh heh.

    • Suzie says:

      It’s summer and I think lots of people are just out and enjoying the weather and doing all those things that prevent us from being outside in the winter…yay!

  2. Veronica says:

    Love how you served it in an orange half! Pretty presentation. This sounds REALLY good about now. The orange flavor appeals to me a lot for some reason. You’re making me think maybe I really should break down and get myself an ice cream maker. Dennis would kiss my feet. He loves ice cream! And I would love this orange sorbet. Oh, I made something today that I thought you might like since you’re into iced coffee. Try freezing your coffee in ice cube trays and blending it in your food processor (or blender if yours is really good-mine sucks) with some milk. (I used 1/4 cup milk for 3/4 cup strong coffee, frozen into cubes.) It gets so fluffy and thick, almost like ice cream. Serve with a straw! Also, you can add sweetener and other things like vanilla or chocolate syrup but I figured you’d like it plain better.

    • Suzie says:

      I know you would get your use out of an ice cream maker! Queen of goodies 😉 My next one is strawberry cheesecake ice cream for John. They make ice cream so quickly, it’s so cool! We had one when I was little and that thing took forever, torture to a kid waiting for ice cream…lol! That iced coffee sounds awesome, I will have to try that! And yep, I’d like it plain 🙂

  3. Yay for ice cream makers!
    This looks so divine!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. Sam says:

    Nom Nom!! My all time favorite ice cream is from a place back home called JB Twisters and it’s an orange vanilla twist. Sooo good, and I find it in stores, but it’s never very tasty.

    • Suzie says:

      Sounds like one I liked as a kid, I think it was called orange dreamsicle…not positive though. I put a scoop of this in a glass, poured sprite over it and it was yummy 🙂

  5. My ice cream bowl is in my freezer just waiting to be used, this looks simple and tasty. I have an orange juice blend at home that would be perfect in this.

  6. Suzie says:

    Luckily I have two freezers so I can keep mine froze all the time too…nice and convenient 🙂

  7. Looks so cooling and refreshing! and i love how you provided an option for those without an ice cream machine! TOO CUTE!!! (AND YUMMY)!!

Leave a Reply

