Coney Sauce

On Father’s day John had wanted burgers, so that’s what I bought for him.  Though I love me a good burger I just wanted something else.  In fact, I was craving these…

                   (Not my picture, thanks Google).

So it was burgers and polish dogs on the grill.  I wanted coney dogs though, so I came up with a quick and easy coney sauce.  It was so simple but, very good and not that yucky canned stuff.  You could also make a double batch and freeze half of it.  I wish I would have done that very thing.  Anywho, here’s what you’ll need.

Coney Sauce

1/2 a package of ground turkey (my package was 1.25 lbs.)
2 1/2 – 3 T. chili powder
salt and pepper to taste
1 t. ground chipotle chili
1 t. smoked paprika
1 t. onion flakes
pinch of cayenne pepper
1 packet beef flavored flavor boost
2 pieces cooked, crumbled bacon
5.5 oz. can of tomato juice (in the little 6 packs)

Here’s flavor boost if you haven’t seen it yet, since I get things last though around here you’ve probably seen this the past two years! 😉

Add all ingredients to a saucepan except the bacon and tomato juice, just add a splash of that right now. Cook over medium heat until the meat is no longer pink. 

Add the remaining tomato juice and cook down until the juices are almost gone or until your desired consistency.  When almost finished cooking add the crumbled bacon.

Makes enough for one package of hot dogs or polish dogs 🙂

(Sorry for the crappy pic, I had to take this one with my cell at work (lunch) and the lighting is blah. I forgot to take one at home…lol! Guess, I was hungry).

You can tell the heat has been very high this week, it’s been easy simple, summery dishes.  Have a great weekend y’all! 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Condiments/sauces/etc. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Coney Sauce

  1. That is one totally hectic sauce my friend 🙂
    Nice one!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. biz319 says:

    That looks delicious Suzie! Now all that’s missing are the pickled jalapenos on top! 😀

  3. Jenna says:

    Mmmm . . . there’s a hot dog joint down the road from my office that has great Polish sausage. Now to summon the willpower to stay away and eat my leftovers like a good girl instead . . .

  4. Jay says:

    I love a good hot dog. (I use the term loosely to include sausages and such.) Sauerkraut is a must for me at least half of the time, but that coney sauce makes me want to try something new.

    • Suzie says:

      Oh yeah, I love sauerkraut too. Sometimes I want that coney dog though, occasionally with cheese on top 🙂 On the food network shows I’ve seen them topped with all kinds of crazy things!

  5. Mary says:

    Your sauce sounds spectacular! I’d love to have been there for that Polish sausage. I’ll wager no one left hungry :-). Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. Veronica says:

    Every time I finish reading your blogs, I look for the like button and it’s not there. Mind if I add it? Hahaha, I’m such a nutjob–don’t know why I want it here so bad. I think I’m addicted to “liking” things. I wonder if there’s counseling for this sort of thing. Anyway, in case you didn’t figure it out, I like this! 🙂 Double meaty, and kinda reminds me of a favorite eat-chili cheese coneys! Do you have Sonic there?

    • Suzie says:

      Go ahead and add it V, you know I don’t know how to…lol! We don’t have sonic here but they play the commercials here and some of it does look good. I’m hooked on liking stuff too 😉

      • Veronica says:

        woooohooooo! Look at that! I like your post now! so happy! hahaha I’m not a huge sonic fan but I always get their chili cheese coneys and I love their cherry limeades. yumyum.

Leave a Reply

