Pita Pizzas

I seen these pizzas at a birthday party a few summers ago.  Everyone could make their own pizzas and then one guy was burning them to a crisp cooking them on the grill.  The idea that people could make their own was awesome.  They also had a couple people chopping and dicing any ingredients that would get low.  Great party idea! 

Of course I had to start doing this at home and it worked great for when I had a houseful of hungry teenagers.  It also worked great when we had friends over.  So let’s get started, you will need:

Pita bread (Regular or whole wheat)
Pizza sauce (homemade or canned)
Mozzerella cheese
Pizza toppings of your choice, I had pepperoni and ham pizza.  I’m a meat pizza kinda’ girl.
Garlic salt, optional

Carefully slice the pita bread in half. 

Putting the cut side (rough side) down. 

 

If you put the pizza sauce on the rough side it tends to soak into the bread.  Using the flat side guarantees you’ll have some sauce left once it’s cooked.  Trust me on this one, I’m a pita pizza professional perfectionist!  Say that five times 😉  Sprinkle the sauce with a dash of garlic salt.

Now start topping your pizza with your favorite ingredients.

And lastly add the mozzerella cheese.

The last time I made these it was cold outside so I didn’t grill them.  I used the oven, set at 400 degrees, preheated about 10 minutes.  Cook each pizza 5-7 minutes.  On the grill cook over low-medium heat for about 5-7 minutes, keeping the lid shut.  No peeking, yeah right who doesn’t peek? ;

A grilling idea for those nights when you don’t want to heat up your kitchen with the oven. 

And there you have it, perfect little pita pizzas and everyone is satisfied with their own lil’ creation.  Or two, or three.

I think I need to make these again…pronto!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pita Pizzas

  1. Sam says:

    Yum!! I haven’t made pita pizzas forever, I need to start making them for quick lunches!

  2. Jenna says:

    Nice–awesome party food idea!

  3. Rhonda says:

    pita pizza bar, sounds great! I like to make pizza on tortillas but I will give pitas a try!

  4. Veronica says:

    Mmm, now I’ve got a craving!! Love the idea of using a pita.

  5. MisBehaved says:

    We always have hungry teens roaming about and raiding our food – thanks for the awesome idea of how to feed them at least one night a week! 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      You’re welcome! It’s kinda funny because all his friends remember these pizzas and jokingly ask if they can come over for pizzas on facebook 🙂

  6. biz319 says:

    I could have pizza every night of the week and never get sick of it! Love that everyone can add their own ingredients – my daughter doesn’t like red sauce – just olive oil and Parmesan cheese. Have a great weekend!

  7. These are so delicious and a perfect snack!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. Tina Evans says:

    These are so adorable! And I love that everyone gets their own 🙂

Leave a Reply

