Strawberry and Red Grapefruit Juice Popsicles

This kind of does not even feel like a recipe but, it’s really good…trust me!  It’s not often I crave something sweet (and this recipe isn’t unless you add lots of sugar) or something cold when it’s still cold here.  But, once in awhile I will want something a little off the chart, so to speak.  Like popsicles.  I wanted popsicles and I don’t even know why, so I came up with this lil jigamapop.

First a story of my affirmation against sweetness.  I like very few sweet things, and if you know me you know this lil fact.  I like fruit but, sometimes that is even too sweet.  The only candy I eat is sour patch kids and that’s because it’s sour before sweet.  One day at work, I ate about a bag and a half..out of boredom.  I wasn’t even hungry.  I left work about an hour later and did not make it two miles down the road when I had to pull over and well…barf!!

I thought it would be hilarious if a police officer came upon the scene. 

Officer: “Ma’am have you been drinking?” 
Me: “No sir, I’ve had one too many sour patch kids”. 
Officer: “Yeah right, come with me Miss you’ll need a breathalyzer”.  As he rolls his eyes and thinks, “At least she came up with a new one, sour patch kids…mmm huh”. 

Oh, the things that go through your head when you’re hanging out of your car wretching…okay, onto the recipe!

Sorry for the visual sidetrack ;P

Strawberry and Red Grapefruit Juice Popsicles

2 1/2 c. strawberries, stems removed and quartered
2 c. red grapefruit juice
1/4 – 1/2 c. sugar (to your liking, I added a tablespoon)
popsicle holders
blender

Popsicle holders…love these!  I come up with all kinds of frozen goodies.

Cut up your strawberries and add to the blender

Add your red grapefruit juice and put into a blender.

Give it a good puree.

And you should be close to 4 cups of liquid, the popsicles holders hold about a half cup each.

Let settle for about 5 minutes and then fill your popsicle holders.

You may have a little bit leftover (due to foam), feel free to drink it, it’s just like a smoothie…mmm!  Put the popsicles in the freezer.

Voila! the next day you have homemade popsicles.

To remove popsicle from container use a little lukewarm water and they will ‘pop’ right out.  Enjoy and have a great weekend y’all!

P.S. I even gave one to the dogs to split and they gobbled it up 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Strawberry and Red Grapefruit Juice Popsicles

  1. Sam says:

    Oh, yum!! I’m kinda, sorta a popsicle addict, so these will definitely be made once I buy some good strawberries.

  2. Jenna says:

    Mmm! I loved homemade popsicles as a kid, and I haven’t had them since I was about . . . 6. And by the way, I love the word “jigamapop” and I think I will adopt it.

    • Suzie says:

      Every summer I have 2 neighbor kids that come over so between smoothies and popsicles, I’ve come up with a lot of recipes!! Adopt away 😉

  3. Have you heard of this Zoku popsicle maker? http://www.amazon.com/Zoku-ZK101-Quick-Pop-Maker/dp/B003U9ZCRO

    My MIL got one and we make popsicles with my nieces all the time, they freeze in like 2 minutes, its crazy. Oh and my husband still cannot eat gummy anything because he did the same thing as a kid, it all came right back up 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      I’ve never seen one until now, that’s a pretty cool gadget and it would be fun for kids to do. I’ll have to stick with what I have because I don’t have room for ANYTHING kitchen-wise anywhere! Yikes. Lol about your hubs story..hee hee 😉

  4. Veronica says:

    A tablespoon of sugar! LOL–it figures. Your story about the imaginary scene with a police officer made me laugh. 🙂 Your strawberries look so pretty and red and it’s making me want some so bad!

    • Suzie says:

      1 tablespoon for 8 popsicles…I know! 😉 I like the tart edge and the berries are sweet enough for me, it’s probably just because I’m soooo sweet….bwah!!!!!

  5. Mary says:

    These sound so refreshing and they have great eye appeal as well. My grandsons will adore them. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. MisBehaved says:

    Okay, now I’ll be getting strawberries today for sure! Already have the red-grapefruit juice on hand (makes a yummy salty-dog) and have the pop holders…thanks for the awesome idea, Suzie!

  7. biz319 says:

    I don’t like too many sweet things too – I’d much rather have pretzels and potato chips, but I love all things graperfruit – yum!

Leave a Reply

