Rigatoni and Meat Sauce

This isn’t my Grandma’s recipe but, it reminds me of her.  She was always cooking up some Italian fare.  My desire to cook and feed people must come from her because my Mother could burn water.  Cut up hot dogs mixed with a can of pork ‘n beans was considered a meal…grossss!!  Ice cream ate right out of the half gallon container was dessert.  That could probably be why I don’t (very rarely) eat sweets to this day.  Who knows?

All I know is my Grams could cook and I made many Italian meals with her or wanted the recipe when she cooked a special dish.  Everyone raved about her cooking.  When she passed away I wanted one simple thing of hers.  A cookbook.  I love all of her sidenotes and adjustments and just seeing her handwriting 🙂

My lil tribute to Grams, Rigatoni with Meat Sauce…

1 lb. bulk Italian sausage (I used hot, to spice it up)
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes
1 (16 oz.) can tomato sauce
1 1/2 t. Italian seasoning
1 t. sugar
1/2 t. salt
1/4 t. crushed red pepper
1/2 of a 1 lb. package Rigatoni
Grated parmesan cheese

In a large skillet or Dutch oven, combine Italian sausage, onion and garlic.  Cook until sausage is no longer pink; drain off fat.

 

Stir in next six ingredients.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. 

Prepare Rigatoni according to package directions; drain. 

Serve with meat sauce and top with parmesan cheese, if desired.

Yield: 4-6 servings

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rigatoni and Meat Sauce

  1. That looks delicious, I wish I could find that Dei Fratelli brand out here in AZ, they make some good stuff. Oh and I confess sometimes to eating hot dogs in beans 😉

    • Suzie says:

      Wow, I have something that someone else doesn’t? I better mark this one on the calendar! I had to laugh at the hot dog and bean comment, I don’t think I could even look at it again 😉

  2. biz319 says:

    OMG, that looks so good! Love that last picture too! katheats.com is a food blogger, who basically has a superiority complex – she shows you how to fold clothes and make a bed, she’s so over the top OCD and Type A and is expecting a baby now – and literally started wearing maternity pants at six weeks pregnant because they were so much more comfy than her regular jeans – I almost left a comment to say that “your baby is the size of a piece of rice.”

    But, she gets 1,000,000 hits a day, so there is some interest in her life!

    • Suzie says:

      I had to go to her site and check it out. I checked out a few blogs and that was enough for me! The folding the clothes thing…wth? And maternity pants at 6 weeks is a bit over the top too. Wonder why she gets so many hits, they must be like her or we have a lot of pitiful people in the world who don’t know how to fold clothes…lol!

  3. Veronica says:

    This was such a sweet & moving tribute to your grandmother! Growing up, Italian was my favorite thing to make. We practically lived off of spaghetti with marinara…basically it was the only thing that we were allowed to eat that didn’t make me want to die. I don’t make it much anymore (guess I got my fill growing up) but this looks SUPERB. Grandma would be proud.

  4. Suzie says:

    Thanks V! Sounds like our Mom’s cooked about the same…lol! At least yours could bake and you learned something. I suppose I did too, I learned to cook real food! This is one of my favs. I don’t remember liking anything mine Mom cooked…grilled cheese maybe? 😉

    • Veronica says:

      Well, it was more me being a kid that caused me not to like anything she made. It was SO healthy, I’m not sure there are many kids who would relish bowls of plain cooked lentils or fish stew. I like what she made us now, but not then. And she never baked, I had to teach myself so we could have some sweet treats. I started baking when I was in 4th grade out of desperation for cookies-haha! You know what’s crazy? I never knew how to make grilled cheese until I was 17 and the lady I was babysitting for told me to make a grilled cheese for her son and I was like….how do you do that? LOL! Mom just didn’t make anything unhealthy. We were allowed cheese, but our cheese sandwiches had more tomatoes, onion, lettuce & pickles on them than cheese (on 7 grain sprouted bread). Those are still my favorite sandwiches, though. I’m glad your grandma was a good cook to teach you–and now her legacy lives on!!

  5. I would like to eat this right this minute! I love dishes like this.

  6. Slim says:

    Reading comments and stuff had got me to thinking of when I 1st started using recipes. I think I was around 10 or 11. Lol, was about the same age I 1st got drunk. I remember what I made called for a Graham cracker crust and I thought it was ice cream; but, could be pudding pies. I also know there was a recipe for cookies in the book. It showed kids cooking. Lol, who knows, I could have been a chef if my skills were honed; then I would have missed out on everything else I have done.
    This does look good Suze, I’m thinking the fries in the next recipe will be next on my list. Thanks for all the good eats. 🙂

  7. daisyandthefox says:

    anything makes me drool – this even more so!! ahh looks so yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

