Cuban Mojo Steak and Radish Salad

We are not traditional when it comes to Easter, Thanksgiving or Christmas dinners.  Though I do like the traditional meals, we drifted away from those years ago, mainly due to complaints from my dear husband.  He didn’t want turkey (no matter who cooked it) because he had enough turkey.  What?  You have it once a year!  Apparently that was too much for him.  So, my Mother-in-law and sister-in-law (and myself) switched things up and the non-traditional was the new tradition. 

We usually go to my MIL’s for Easter but, she made other plans this year.  Yay!  No offense to my MIL but, we really don’t like driving 2+ hours there, visiting for a few hours and driving 2+ hours back…on a Sunday.  It feels like you’ve had no time off.  So, we were grateful to be home and the weather was nice enough to be able to grill out.

John (hubs) gets lucky twice in April (ha ha ha…;)) because he gets to pick two dinners that he actually likes, which is Easter and the 19th, his birthday.  So he picked the cuban mojo steaks and roasted red potatoes.  I added the radish salad knowing he likes radishes.  Did he like the salad?  No way!  Ah well, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad 😉

Cuban Mojo Marinade (or dressing)

1/2 c. extra-virgin olive oil
8 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1/2 c. fresh lime juice, plus 3 T. fresh orange juice
1 t. ground cumin
1 t. dried oregano
1 t. salt, or more to taste
1 t. freshly ground black pepper, or more to taste
3 T. chopped fresh cilantro or flat-leaf parsley

Heat the olive oil in a deep saucepan over medium heat.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant and pale golden brown. 1 to 2 minutes.  Remove the pan from the heat and let cool for 5 minutes.

Stir in the lime and orange juice, cumin, oregano, salt, pepper and 1/2 c. water into the saucepan off the heat.  Return the pan to the heat, let the sauce come to a rolling boil, and cook for 2 minutes.  Taste for seasoning, adding more salt and/or pepper as necessary.  Let the mojo cool to room temperature, then stir in the cilantro.  Transfer the mojo to a jar or bottle with a tight-fitting lid.  Serve the mojo in the jar, shaking it well first. 

 (My steaks marinating…yum!).

Makes about 1 1/2 cups.

Easy roasted red potatoes

8-10 red potatoes, washed and quartered
1 package Garden Green Onion Ranch dressing or regular Ranch dressing
olive oil
salt and pepper

Preheat oven the 350 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with tin foil and lightly spray with cooking spray. 

In a large bowl combine the potatoes and ranch dressing.  Drizzle the potatoes with olive oil and toss again to coat all the potatoes evenly.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Spread evenly on a cookie sheet.

Roast for about 40 minutes or until golden brown.

*Optional: top with grated parmesan once out of the oven. 

Radish Salad

1 large bunch (or bag) of radishes, sliced very thinly using a mandoline
1 medium vidalia onion, sliced and rough chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 T. fresh cilantro (or mint may be used), rough chopped
1 T. fresh chopped chives

Toss these all together in a large bowl and look how pretty the colors are 😀

Next mix the dressing:

2 T. extra-virgin olive oil
2 T. fresh lemon juice
2 t. Garden Green Onion Ranch (dry) dressing mix (regular ranch is fine also)
1 T. dijon mustard
salt and pepper to taste

In a small bowl combine all ingredients and whisk until mixed throughly.  Taste; add salt and pepper if needed. 

 Pour over the radishes and toss to coat evenly.

Add that was our Easter dinner…

Enjoy the recipes and yes, for the record, the radish salad was perfectly fine 😉

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cuban Mojo Steak and Radish Salad

  1. The marinade looks great!

  2. Jenna says:

    Loving the idea of non-traditional fare on holidays. I mean, why not have what you really love? Life’s too short to be hampered by rules and regulations. =) Those steaks are making me deeply desire meat at this hour of 9:49 am. Yikes.

    • Suzie says:

      Now that we’ve been doing it this way for a few years I’m used to it and I do look forward to seeing what people bring. My SIL is a good cook, so I’m always am anxious to see what she has whipped up 🙂

  3. That looks so damn good. Hey guess what? I’ve got all the stuff to do this one right here!

  4. Slim says:

    Looks good Suze. I love the Mojo on toss salads as well, it’s got that spicy bite like Italian dressing (the closest thing I can compare it to).

  5. Veronica says:

    I like that the work “mojo” is in it. haha. Glad to know he gets lucky at least twice a year. 🙂 Does it make you cringe to use a mandoline after your accident?

  6. Suzie says:

    Oh man, the dreaded mandoline! This is the 2nd time I’ve used it since then, the first being about 2 weeks ago and that is since I chopped off part of my finger!! So, it’s been a long, long time. I now use the safety thingy that came with it and quit acting like I’m a chef on Food Network. Even with the safety thing, I’m still leary and uber cautious! You have a good memory V!

    • Veronica says:

      Not like you, but your description of the injury really made an impression and it still makes me cringe every time I think about it. I have an internal reaction like I’m shrinking inside b/c I picture the deep cut. *cringe* On a related note, I found another blog that is doing a mandoline slicer giveaway and I hope I win b/c I want to make things like your radish salad. And it comes with a safety thing that you hold the veggies in place with. After what happened to you, I wouldn’t dare try it any other way!

  7. biz319 says:

    I was telling my husband last night that we hadn’t had chicken wings in a while and he was like “I am sick of them.” I probably haven’t made them in months!

    Check out this post – its a 101 on pinterest – it may help!

    http://mealsandmovesblog.com/2012/01/03/pinterested/

  8. biz319 says:

    And your marinated steak looks amazing!!

  9. That looks so good! my husband would never touch that salad, so no worries 🙂 Actually, he doesn’t even eat turkey…has never even tried it 🙂

Leave a Reply

