Pepperoni Bread

Like most Americans I’m a pizza lover.  Growing up we would leave school to go get pizza bread on our lunch.  I’ve been hooked ever since.  I’ve tried many different recipes throughout the years but, keep coming back to this never-fail recipe.  It’s a great hit for parties and get-togethers.  (I’ve been known to have it for dinner).  It’s quick and easy to whip up and it’s also kid-friendly!

Here’s what you will need:

1 (11 oz.) can Pillsbury French loaf bread
1 egg, beaten
4 oz. sliced pepperoni (I used turkey pepperoni), 4 oz. dice ham (or another filling)
1 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
1/4 c. grated parmesan cheese
1/2 t. Italian seasoning
1 1/2 T. melted butter + 1/4 t. garlic powder, mixed in a small bowl

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray.

Roll bread dough out into a rectangle.  Brush dough with beaten egg.  Arrange pepperoni, ham, mozzarella and parmesan cheese over the dough.  Stay about a half an inch away from the edges.

Roll up dough like a jelly roll and pinch seam.  Then place seam side down on the cookie sheet.

Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes brush the top of the bread with the garlic butter and sprinkle with Italian seasoning and a bit of kosher salt.  Put back in the oven for 5 more minutes or until golden brown.

Remove; let sit for 5 minutes and slice diagonally.  Serve with your favorite marinara or pizza sauce.

FYI…I work at a fire sprinkler company.  So I type the word sprinkler dozens of times a day.  So each time I type sprinkle in a recipe you know I type it sprinkler.  So, for future reference if you see a sprinkler of salt or seasoning, my brain is just still at work 😉 And spell check doesn’t catch it, of course.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pepperoni Bread

  1. This looks so good! It would be great for an appetizer party.

    I use the word “chick” when I talk or write my friends and I have often typed “chicken” instead of chick. That’s what you get when you are a food blogger! Oh, I also called my brother “Milk” instead of Mike in an email once too.

  2. My husband would LOVE this. I remember having pizza bread in school and loving it 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      This is just like the pizza bread at one of the local shops, I think that’s why I like it so much. Good food but, good memories too 🙂

  3. Jenna says:

    Mmm! I think this pepperoni bread would be the guest of honor at any potluck. Plus, my pizza-loving husband would be quite pleased if more pizza-type foods appeared at our table.

    • Suzie says:

      My hubs would be pleased to see more also. I do love pizza but, he can eat it way more than me! In fact he has it every Friday with the guys.

  4. Ward says:

    Looks delicious. I gotta try it sometime.

  5. Veronica says:

    Mmm, this sounds really good and I love how easy it is. LOL, now I”m always going to be one the lookout for a “sprinkler” of this or that. Too funny!

Leave a Reply

