Tilapia with Chile Lime Butter

My son has always paid me the biggest compliments when it comes to cooking which is nice because my husband has been the worst at compliments.  So, they even each other out…kinda’.  My hubs can look at food and say “Nope, I won’t like it” without even tasting it.  Who the heck does that?  If I ever say something is husband approved, you best try that recipe because it’ll probably be knock-your-socks-off-good!!

My son and I like fish cooked different ways, the hubs only deep-fried.  I made this on a day (over a year ago) that it was just Derek and I at home, so we could enjoy it without hearing, “That looks gross” or “Your actually going to eat that?”  Lol!  We both thought this recipe was excellent.  As in I’d order it in a restaurant excellent.

So, let’s cook…

Tilapia with Chile Lime Butter

For the butter:

1/4 stick unsalted butter, softened
1/2 T. finely chopped shallot
1/2 t. finely grated lime zest
1 t. fresh lime juice
1/2 t. minced fresh Thai or serrano chile, including seeds
1/4 t. salt
cilantro sprigs

For the fish:

1 T. vegetable oil
1/4 t. salt
4 tilapia fillets

Stir together butter, shallot, zest, lime juice, chili and salt in a bowl. (I added some chopped cilantro to the butter also).

Pat dry the fillets and sprinkle with salt.  Heat oil in a non-stick skillet over moderately high heat until just smoking, then saute the fillets, turning over once with a spatula until golden brown and just cooked through (4-5 minutes).  Transfer to a plate.

Serve each warm fillet with a dollop of chili lime butter.  Garnish with cilantro leaves.

 

Served with italian green beans as a side.

Tip:  Extra chili butter…use it on corn on the cob 🙂  (If you’re like me though, there will be no extra).

Serves: 2

Update: I had to make this dish again 1) because it’s so good and 2) because I needed pictures.  I was leary, but I did ask my husband if he’d like to have dinner that didn’t consist of fast food or something out of a can.  He said yes and actually did not make any unruly remarks, he enjoyed it!  Yes, enjoyed it.  See miracles do happen people…;)

Oh, and happy first day of spring!

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tilapia with Chile Lime Butter

  1. Slim says:

    Wow, it’s rare that he likes something. Glad to hear you two sat down to dinner. This sounds delicious and easy to make, I will definitely give it a try. I haven’t had fish for a while and it’s sounding good. Thank you for the recipe.

    • Suzie says:

      You’re welcome and yes, it was a rare occasion indeed especially not to hear the crinkling of his fast food wrappers while I eat something homemade 🙂

  2. Jenna says:

    I’m glad there was a miracle to change your hubby’s perspective on this fish. Because he would have seriously missed out! It looks amazing, simple, and I totally need to try it.

  3. Your husband and my husband do sound so very similar, he wouldn’t even be in the same room if I was cooking fish 🙂 I have pinned this to try, I have some pangasius in the freezer.

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, I told you they were a lot alike…lol! This was highly unusual for him to try this especially since he always likes his fish deep-fried. I’m glad he did though!

  4. biz319 says:

    Hooray for miracles! Mostly when I cook my husband asks “what smells like ass?” He doesn’t like any ethnic food. 😀

  5. Veronica says:

    Wow, that is a miracle! I’m very impressed-that’s pretty cool. This does sound good and we eat a lot of tilapia so I know I’ll have to try this. Thanks for linking to me. 🙂 Are those the potatoes you made with the ranch green onion seasoning packet?

  6. Veronica says:

    P.S. Too funny that it’s the first day of spring, seeing as how it’s the coldest day we’ve had in like a month. LOL!

    • Suzie says:

      V, I was so shocked…I still kinda’ am but, I’m happy he at least tried it!! So simple of a recipe but, sooo good. I loved your green beans, I’ve eaten them many times but, never had a real chance to brag about them 🙂 Yep, those are the taters…love them too, the whole plate was deliciousness. How odd, you are much farther south and it was 84 here today!! (Back to chilly on Thursday though).

  7. Veronica says:

    made it made it ooh ooh ooh i maaaaade it. That my little four-year-old song I made for you. 🙂 Sometimes you just can’t express how good something is, especially when it’s fish and it’s pretty simple like this. I never would have imagined it would be SO good, despite it even being John-approved! I might even make this again this week since I have Serrano and lime left. And of course, lots of tilapia to use up! Thanks girl, I’m glad I finally got around to making it.

    • Suzie says:

      Aww…thanks for the song…lol! 😉 I’m so glad you liked it V! I thought it was delicious too and guess what? The recipe was on the back of a tilapia package! Go figure. You just never know where you’ll find a good recipe. By the way, I’m making your baked spaghetti with cream cheese this week too 🙂 I can’t wait!

      • Veronica says:

        Sometimes you can get great recipes off of packages! One of my favorite cake recipes came on a cake pan wrapper! LOL! Man, I love that stuff. I hope you do too! And John might even eat it b/c it’s so basic.

  8. Pingback: Tilapia with Chile Lime Butter | Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

