Whiskey Bourbon Bbq Sauce

Most of us have certain things we’re “choosy” about, for example my husband won’t buy any other ketchup but Heinz and I tend to agree.  Myself, I only buy A-1 steak sauce, no others will do and trust me I’ve tried them all, nothing compares to A-1. ( Nothing except my homemade A-1 that is but, that’s a future bloggity ;)).  When it comes to barbeque sauce I can’t tell you how many different (store-bought) kinds I’ve tried.  None of them make my taste buds sing, instead they put my taste buds to sleep and who wants sleepy taste buds?  I want mine alive and kickin’ and saying “Oh yeah, this is good stuff baby!”  So when I tried this barbeque sauce, myself and my 10, 000 lil’ buds were singin’ and dancin’!  I won’t be buying any more barbeque sauce, I’ll be making this…

Whiskey Bourbon BBQ Sauce

1 minced white onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 c. bourbon whiskey*
1/2 t. ground black pepper
1/2 T. kosher salt
2 c. ketchup
1/4 c. tomato paste
1/3 c. cider vinegar*
2 T. liquid smoke flavoring
1/4 c. Worcestershire sauce
1/2 c. packed brown sugar
1/3 t. hot pepper sauce, or to taste (I prefer Sriracha)

Directions:

In a large skillet over medium heat, combine the onion, garlic and whiskey/bourbon. Simmer for 10 minutes, or until onion is translucent. Mix in the ground black pepper, salt, ketchup, tomato paste, vinegar, liquid smoke, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, and hot pepper sauce.

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer for 20-30 minutes. Run sauce through a strainer if you prefer a smooth sauce or you can put sauce into a blender and puree until desired consistency, which is what I did.

*Notes:  1) I used Jim Beam for my bourbon which worked out great for a smooth tasting sauce.  2) Use Bragg’s cider vinegar if you can (available on Amazon.com and it’s fairly cheap) it is a much better vinegar in my humble opinion.

I doubled this recipe and it made 7 – 1/2 pint jars of bbq sauce plus 3/4 of a cup to use the night I made it 🙂

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Condiments/sauces/etc. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Whiskey Bourbon Bbq Sauce

  1. Jenna says:

    Mmmmm! As bourbon lovers over here, I’m pretty sure this sauce would be a big hit!

  2. Oh I’d love to give it a try myself!!!

  3. biz319 says:

    I am so making this! You might like my North Carolina bbq sauce recipe – reminds me that I need to make some more – bring on the summer grilling! 😀

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2009/08/09/my-new-favorite-barbecue-sauce/

  4. sherryhon@comcast.net says:

    Absolutely gonna try this…perfect timing for the BBQ season…thanks Suze!

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, it’s that time isn’t it? It’s been exceptionally warm here in MI…70’s so we are kinda’ celebrating… 😀 Loving the weather!

  5. Veronica says:

    I can attest that this is some good sauce, people. Got one of those pretty little jars in my fridge right now (which I totally dipped my finger into). I have plans for it next week-Thanks Miss Suze!! So what song were your taste buds dancing to? I’m hoping it was something that involved a lot of pelvic thrusting, like a Michael Jackson tune. 😀

  6. Pingback: Quick Crusty Bread « My Bizzy Kitchen

  7. Rhonda says:

    That looks delicious! I am a brand snob about certain things also, but home made is usually better.

  8. I have a bottle of Maker’s Mark just daring me to use it in this recipe! I am definitely Pinning this. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Suzie says:

    Hi Mary, I hope you try it. I think Maker’s Mark would be great in this recipe 🙂

  10. Rick Lucas says:

    After making this the first time my Mrs. said ” I don’t know why we’d ever buy BBQ sauce again. This stuff is great.” Made my second batch today. I used Southern Comfort both times as that is what I keep on hand.

  11. Pingback: Quick Crusty Bread | My Bizzy Kitchen

Leave a Reply

