Pork Tenderloin Sliders

Sunday it was beautiful out and I had wanted to grill pork tenderloins just to get out and get some fresh air (which I still did).  When I went to grill though, we were out of propane…boo, hiss, cry!!  Isn’t that how it goes?  Or your grilling and your half way through and the propane runs out and you freak out shaking the propane container (you have to be sure), trying to re-light the grill (8 times) and forgetting that you have an oven in the house…or maybe that’s just me 😉

Anyways, back inside to open some windows in the house and get back to cooking 🙂  I do have a blog to finish, hundreds three people are looking forward to this post. 

Pork Tenderloin Sliders

2 pork tenderloins (about 1 lb. each)
1 T. olive oil and more for drizzling
1 T. + 1 t. chili powder
1 1/2 t. ground cumin
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper
1 T. chipotle pepper in adobo sauce
1/2 c. regular or light mayonnaise
2 t. fresh lime juice
2 bunches green onions
hawaiian sweet rolls or mini yeast buns*
slices of colby jack or monterey jack cheese

Preheat grill to high heat or preheat grill pan to medium high heat.  Rub 1/2 T. oil evenly over each tenderloin.  Combine chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper and sprinkle over tenderloins, pressing down to adhere.  Set aside.  (I bought a peppercorn and garlic loin so I left the pepper out).

Mince the chipotle pepper in adobo sauce and place in a small bowl. 

Add mayonnaise and lime juice.  Stir well and taste cuz it’s really good stuff!  Cover and refrigerate.  Taste again before refrigerating.

Chop up your green onions…boy, I can’t wait to see green grass again…sigh.

Tear off a 12 inch length of foil.  Place green onions in the center, drizzle with a little olive oil and close packet by folding in the sides.

Put pork on the grill or in the grill pan.  If on the grill turn a 1/4 turn every 5 minutes or so.  In grill pan, get a nice sear on each side and then pop into the oven.  Put your green onion package on the grill or in the oven for 15 minutes and remove; set aside.

Either way you cook your tenderloin you should cook it about 25-30 or until internal temperature reaches 160 degrees.  Once pork is done, remove from oven or grill and let rest 10 minutes on a plate or cutting board.

After the waiting period, which is hard trust me, I know 😉  Slice the tenderloin into thin slices about a 1/4 inch thick. 

Next slice the hawaiian rolls or buns in half (with a bread knife please, don’t make me cringe!).  Cover the bottom half with the chipotle sauce.

Top the sauce with some of the green onions.

Add the pork slices and top with cheese (1/4 the slices)…almost done!

And there you have it.  Tasty, pretty easy and a great weekend dinner, or snack, or lunch…you get the point 😉

Who doesn’t love sliders? 😀 Enjoy!

*I cut this recipe in half and used 18 hawaiian sweet rolls, just for an indication of how many rolls to buy.

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pork Tenderloin Sliders

  1. Jenna says:

    These look AWESOME! (am I repeating myself with my comments? Because your recipes keep looking awesome and . . . well, that’s just that)

  2. Veronica says:

    Oh man, oh man, if you could die from drooling too much….I’d be a goner. These sliders are off the chain! I swear I save every recipe you post, and I’m pinning this one too!! You made me laugh out loud when you said three people are looking forward to your post. I know there’s many more, but I’m proud to be one of them. 🙂 I’ll be sure to use a bread knife on my buns-lol. (What do other people use? They’re fingers? Smashed them with a butter knife? That IS cringe-worthy!) lol

    • Suzie says:

      Aww..thanks V! thanks for the pin too! The three people…well, you know I must make myself laugh…;) For the bread…I’ve seen too many blogs that cut with a knife or yes….a butter knife and it makes me cringe!! ;P

      • Veronica says:

        You will die-I don’t actually own a bread knife! But I have a knife that’s very good for cutting bread. Heck, for all I know it is a bread knife b/c I have no idea what kind of knife it is. It is big, long, and serrated but ti is pointed, unlike the bread knives I saw when I googled “bread knife.” Anyway, I’ll be sure to use that bread and not smash it to oblivion-haha.

  3. I love pork tenderloin almost as much as chicken thighs 🙂 Those look awesome, and I love mayo pretty much anyway I can get it.

  4. Slim says:

    To bad you can out of propane. Lol, I love my charcoal grill though, found out why through a book I got for Christmas. Tells of the differences in grills, charcoal is a drier heat than propane, which causes a better carmelisation of whatever you cook on it. Don’t get me wrong, I like propane too, it’s nice having the heat at the push of a button. I never gav e grilling inside much thought, good idea when the weather is to nasty out, or its dark and wintery. I’m glad you liked the sliders, they’re one of my favorites.

    • Suzie says:

      It was a great recipe and I’m glad you recommended it to me. Propane runs out at the least convenient times. I like charcoal also but, propane wins in convenience…unless, you’re out 😉

Leave a Reply

