Balsamic BBQ Glazed Chicken

As I was going through my impressive arsenal of recipes that are ready to be blogged about, I quickly realized I have a lot of chicken recipes.  And pizza recipes.  To look through them you would think I survived on only chicken and pizza, with little variance from them.  Which I didn’t but I don’t know why I don’t have more beef or other meat in there as I know I’ve cooked it, maybe I forgot to take pictures or maybe I didn’t deem it blog worthy, I’m not sure.  I will though, put forth the effort to cook more beef, pork or venison…something besides chicken! 

And with that said, I give you today’s recipe…;)

Balsamic BBQ Glazed Chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 c. balsamic vinegar
¾ c. ketchup
1/3 c. brown sugar
1 T. Worcestershire sauce
1 T. Dijon mustard
½ t. salt
½ t. black pepper
½ t. garlic powder 

In a sauce pan, combine balsamic vinegar, ketchup, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard, salt, black pepper and garlic powder.  Whisk together throughly.

Place on stove and simmer for about 15-20 minutes or until the sauce is reduced by about 1/3. 

 

Season the chicken by lightly sprinkling it with salt, pepper and garlic powder.  Heat the grill or grill pan to medium heat and place the meat on the grill.

Use a pastry brush to brush each piece of chicken with some of the balsamic bbq sauce. 

The chicken will need to cook until it reaches 160 degrees which is about 7-8 minutes on each side.  As the chicken is cooking, brush each side with sauce every few minutes. 

Once the chicken is cooked through, allow to rest for a few minutes before serving.  Be sure to serve the remaining warm balsamic bbq sauce for dipping.

This balsamic glaze is soooo good.  I knew before I even made this recipe that I would like the sauce, so I doubled the recipe.  It’s that good.  Use it as a marinade for steak or pour it over some pulled pork…the possibilities are endless.   

The pasta in my photos was easy and quite tasty too.  Boil ¾ lb. of angel hair pasta.  Saving 1 c. pasta water.  Drain pasta and put back into pan. 

Add reserved water and a 10 oz. container of savory garlic Philadelphia Cooking Crème to pasta.  Add some salt and black pepper to taste, stir until combined…voila!  

Balsamic bbq recipe from: Ashley

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Balsamic BBQ Glazed Chicken

  1. Jenna says:

    Oh YEAH! I’m not complaining if there’s a lot of chicken and pizza ’round these parts. This chicken looks pretty darn amazing.

  2. Veronica says:

    Hey, I have no problem with chicken and pizza! This sauce is calling to me–gotta love balsamic! I haven’t tried that cooking creme–did you love it?

    • Suzie says:

      The cooking creme was good V, I’ve been eyeing it up for a while and just wanted something quick with this chicken. It was a great side 🙂

  3. Rhonda says:

    That looks awesome, the glaze would be tasty as a dipping sauce for fries too 🙂 I love fries with BBQ sauce and I get it all to myself because the hubby doesn’t like it.

  4. biz319 says:

    you had me at balsamic – I love all things vinegar!! Definitely going to make this – except just for me – my hubs isn’t much of a fan of vinegar or dijon, while I could take a bath in those two ingredients and be just fine. 😀

  5. Suzie says:

    I love balsamic too! My hubs is not a fan of much of my food which is a joke between friends….my friends love my food…hubs won’t touch it…go figure! 😉

Leave a Reply

