Tortellini and Polish Sausage Soup

Soup.  I love soup.  And since it’s still snowing here in MI, there’s nothing that hits the spot better than some tasty, simple soup.  The pics on this particular post are about two years old.  My son (in the second picture) and a guy at work LOVE this soup and ask for it often.  I’ve even been told by my friend at work that he dreamt about it.  So, it’s has to be good if he is dreaming about it.  So, come on…give it a try!

It’s super simple, hearty and quick for those weeknights 🙂

Tortellini and Polish Sausage Soup

2 boxes beef broth
1 package onion soup mix
1 package smoked sausage (cut into bite size pieces)
19 oz. bag cheese-filled tortellini
pinch each of oregano, basil, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and ground black pepper
(optional) 1/3 – 1/2  of a package of frozen spinach (thawed)

Add onion soup mix to beef broth in a large pan along with the spices. Simmer.

In the meantime, cook polish sausage in a skillet until browned; add to simmering broth.

Cook tortellini as directed on package. Add to broth right before serving. Add spinach if desired.

Serve with garlic bread and enjoy!

My boy, enjoying Mama’s cookin 😀

Variation: Add Northern beans.

*Notes: Add tortellini and spinach right before serving or to each personal dish/bowl. Once it sits too long the tortellini and spinach tend to get soggy.  Just my personal opinion and experience…

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Soups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tortellini and Polish Sausage Soup

  1. Veronica says:

    I love simple recipes like this! I really need them b/c I only make about 1-2 more complicated recipes a week due to time constraints. This one is a lifesaver and sounds so delish! I can’t believe it’s snowing there when it’s warm and sunny in Kansas. I think winter pretty much bypassed us this year.

  2. Jenna says:

    Loving the simplicity of this! And it looks really delicious. Tomorrow Chicago is being swung back into the 50s, but I’m sure we’ll have another soup-worthy cold snap yet.

  3. biz319 says:

    Okay, sans the onions, this looks delicious! although I get shit because I’ll eat onion rings, but not actual onions by themselves. 😀 but hey, I’ll eat just about anything deep fried!

  4. Suzie says:

    That’s pretty funny because I can be picky about them too. I never put onions on pizza because I think it’s gross but, I love french onion soup…go figure! 😉

  5. Veronica says:

    Happy to see Biz stopped by!! She is always about the no onions. I suspect she might like the flavor and it’s just the texture that gets to her, and some day I might be able to convince her of this. 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Yep, I always see her on your blog V! Maybe her onion aversion and my weird onion thingy will lead to a friendship…stranger things have happened…lol 😉 Checking out her blog tomorrow…when I’m not so tired, I may write strange things. HA!

      • Veronica says:

        I need to be more concerned about my words! I typically blurt and then regret! You are so conscientious! 🙂 Biz has the type of blog where she tells what she ate every day. I don’t know how she can keep up with it, but she does, and shares the recipes!

  6. I love tortellini in soup. While it is not cold here, it is allergy season and when I get home and feel exhausted soup is what I crave. Thanks for the simple and tasty looking recipe.

  7. Gosh I bet that son of yours has been SPOILED by your cooking!

  8. Pingback: BSI–Pasta Recap and Winner! « My Bizzy Kitchen

  9. Veronica says:

    The stars have aligned at the most unlikely time for me to make this soup, but somehow I ended up buying both cheese tortellini (it caught my eye) and some kielbasa that I had planned to make something else with. Then all of a sudden I remembered this soup so although we might have heat stroke in the middle of eating it, I’m totes making it this week. HA! How does it store, because I know we won’t be able to eat it all at once. Would it be better to make half a recipe at a time rather than all at once and store leftovers?

  10. Veronica says:

    Made it after church today and it was perfect b/c it came together so fast and we’re usually pretty hungry after church. We both enjoyed it a lot-thank you!! I know I will be making this again come fall and winter.

    • Veronica says:

      P.S. I used kale instead of spinach, and just cooked it with the soup from the beginning so that it would get tender by the time I added the tortellini.

  11. Suzie says:

    I’m glad you liked it V, it does come together really fast but, also is really packed full of flavor too 🙂 Using the kale sounds great! Sometimes I make it without the spinach for some picky people…lol! Most soups with noodles I like to add separately to keep them from soaking up all the broth and becoming soggy. Just my personal opinion, although the noodles in my homemade noodle soup can stay in the pot. The become bigger but, they don’t soak up the broth as much. Weird, I know 😉

    • Veronica says:

      I think it would be better with spinach but it was pretty good with the kale too. I did make the whole recipe and while the tortellini didn’t get soggy, it just wasn’t as enjoyable after storing–pasta that isn’t al dente isn’t as fun. I like the little bit of bite. Yes homemade noodles are wonderful and are OK but I think any pasta is a no-go on storing in liquid b/c you lose the bite.

  12. Pingback: Lemon Zucchini Loaf « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

