Creamed sweet corn with bacon

Sweet corn, what’s not to like?  Especially fresh sweet corn in the summer.  Well, you can tell I’m dreaming of summer today because of this recipe.  Plus it has bacon.  And cream. Mmmm. You can find decent sweet corn in the freezer section of your local grocery store.  I prefer white sweet corn but, you choose what suits you.  This is NOT like that creamed corn in the can that looks like prison mush! 😛  That stuff was intended to torture people!  Really.

Creamed sweet corn with bacon

1/4 c. diced onions
1 T. butter
4 c. sweet corn
4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 c. heavy cream
1/2 c. chicken broth
1 T. flour
1/4 t. pepper
1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese
2 T. minced fresh parsley or 1 t. dried parsley

Cook a pound of bacon, like I did, and eat all but 4 slices while cooking.  This is an optional step.

Saute onions in butter for 2-3 minutes until translucent.  Add corn and bacon and cook an additional 2-3 minutes.

In a bowl, stir together heavy cream, broth and flour.  (I added the pepper too, I just can’t follow a recipe to a tee, I’m a rebel like that).

Pour cream mixture into corn and bring to a boil.  Simmer on low 10-12 minutes until sauce thickens.  Stir in pepper, cheese and parsley.  Yes, I had to use dried parsley.  I live in a teeny-tiny town so finding many ingredients is next to impossible sometimes.  Luckily, I have friends that send me things…yay!  Plus, I order some things online.  I have recently  noticed the local grocery just started carrying things such as ginger root, shallots, star fruit, some new spices and teeth…okay, maybe not teeth 😉  Okay, where was I?

Once thickened, serve immediately or at least very soon 😉

Serves: 6-8
Recipe from: Schwan’s

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Side dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Creamed sweet corn with bacon

  1. Julie Beaton says:

    Made this at Thanksgiving. It is wonderful!

  2. Jenna says:

    Oh, oh, oh! This looks seriously divine. We make something similar at home–a bacon/onion/corn skillet that we have over rice–but making into the creamed version? Total decadence.
    And the fact that your grocery store just started carrying ginger–WHAT??? I’m blown away. I think I’d die without ginger.

  3. Veronica says:

    *drool* that just sounds so heavenly. I LOL’ed at cooking a pound of bacon and eating all but four slices–I like the way you roll! lol And teeth-you’re such a nut. 🙂 I like your photos, they’re nice and bright. I made something for dinner tonight inspired by a recipe you put on facebook last summer. It was so good I’m not waiting-I’m blogging it tomorrow!

    • Suzie says:

      Wasn’t sure who (if anyone) would get the teeth comment…lol! 😉 Oh, I’m excited to see what tomorrow’s blog will be!! Yay! I’m flattered something I posted inspired your dinner 🙂

  4. sherryhon@comcast.net says:

    Gotta try this…you need to talk to that grocer….no ginger…god forbid…and what about an exotic spice like saffron?

  5. That looks delicious, and I loved your bacon cooking technique 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Thanks Rhonda and that is a technique I’ve perfected 😉

      • Suzie says:

        Hi Rhonda, since I don’t know the old look of your blog…I can sincerely say…I love the new look! Thank you for stopping by to say hello today, I’m glad to be be back in the blogging world. My hubs is JUST LIKE YOURS and very rarely eats my dishes…poor soul! And the fact that you love doggies too…I’m hooked girlfriend! 😀 I’m leaving this comment here b/c I was unable to leave one on ur blog 😦

Leave a Reply

