An introduction and Jamaican-Style Jerk Chicken

Well, I hope the little intro blurb I posted shows up on my page but, I cannot be sure. This WordPress stuff has me a bit confused. Most of you coming here know me anyways.  I left the blogging world about 2 years ago and have decided to come back!  I miss friends I met through blogging, meeting new people and I miss sharing recipes with everyone.  And in 2 years I’ve collected a LOT of recipes!  So please bear with me as my blog comes to life, I know it is very plain at the moment (which I don’t mind plain) but, I need to add a bit more, I just don’t know how at the moment…lol!  I figured as long as I can post pictures, videos and links.  I can at least get started.

So, let’s start with Jamaican-Style Jerk Chicken…I love me some jerk chicken…nom nom nom!

Jamaican-Style Jerk Chicken

1/2 c. red wine vinegar
1/2 c. white vinegar
1/2 c. soy sauce
1/2 c. olive oil
1/2 c. orange juice, not from concentrate
1 T. firmly packed brown sugar
1 T. fresh thyme or 1 t. dried thyme, crumbled
1 T. grated fresh ginger
1 t. fresh ground black pepper
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. ground nutmeg
1/2 t. cayenne
6 green onions, trimmed and finely chopped
1/4 c. minced onion (I used white)
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 large jalapeno chili pepper, chopped, seeds and ribs removed (if you want more heat leave seeds in, I added about 1/2 the seeds to give it some kick).
2 packages chicken breasts, chicken tenderloins or chicken thighs (about 3 1/2 – 4 lbs.)

In a food processor (or a blender), add red wine vinegar, white vinegar, soy sauce, olive oil, orange juice, brown sugar, thyme, ginger, pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne, green onions, minced onion, garlic and jalapeno pepper.  Pulse until you have everything broke down into uniform sizes… about 4-6 pulses.  Measure out 1/2 c. marinade and set aside.  (I set aside about 3/4 c.).

Put chicken into a dish and pour marinade over it.

Cover and marinate for 4-6 hours in refrigerator or overnight for the best flavor. Then get the chicken ready to grill or bake.  I’m baking, it’s 28 degrees out and windy, thankyouverymuch!  Though I am a winter griller, just not today.

If grilling use med-high heat, if using the oven preheat to 400 degrees…this is for chicken tenderloins so adjust your cooking time if cooking breasts or thighs. (Using a food thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the chicken, a temp of 165 is done). Take the marinade that was set aside to baste the chicken with.  I cooked the tenderloins for 8-10 minutes.  I was impressed not only with the taste but the simplicity of the recipe.  I love quick and easy recipes.

Serve with garlic bread or some crusty bread to soak up all that Jamaican goodness on the plate!  Enjoy.

Recipe from “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Grilling”….not that I’m an idiot or anything, just sayin’ 😉

About Suzie

My name is Suzie. I'm married and have a son in the Army. I enjoy cooking, country life, reading and my animals, hence the name of this blog. My two German Shepherds are underfoot anytime I'm cooking ;) Oh, I'm also addicted to Food Network Channel.
This entry was posted in Main dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to An introduction and Jamaican-Style Jerk Chicken

  1. Jen says:

    Oh yummmm, I love jerk chicken!! I tried it at a Jamaican restaurant once and there wasn’t enough water in the whole state to cool my mouth down…and I’d do it again. Thank you for this recipe!! I will definitely give it a shot. I’m going to pic it right now so I remember!

  2. Julie Beaton says:

    Love this! Never occurred to me to make it myself! Sometimes I’m an idiot! Go figure! LOL Can’t wait to try this, sounds like a great recipe!

  3. Jenna says:

    Yaaaayy!! I’m so glad you’ve returned to blogging. =) Be assured I’ll be following along. This first recipe you’ve posted has me craving some protein!

  4. Veronica says:

    Jenna stole the words right out of my mouth! I’m so excited–I was thinking this might not ever happen. Love to be able to follow you this way. I’m a much better blog friend than Facebook friend. 🙂 The little intro blurb shows up at the bottom of the page, saying who you are and about your life. Well done getting this together-I know it takes a while to figure everything out but your presentation is clean and nice. Love this recipe! So when you won first place for it with the wings contest, did you use the tenderloins or wings? Or wait, you won with a different recipe-the paremsan something or other…I bet we’ll get to see that one soon! 🙂

    • Suzie says:

      Thanks V! I didn’t know if I’d ever get back to it either. First, I’m a natural-born procrastinator 😉 and second I didn’t know if I felt like “starting over” but, I got over that feeling and seeing the comments today, I’m glad I did. It was my parmesan-garlic wings that won the contest and I’ll be posting when I have time to make it again and get better pics…lol! Or I may just use the ones I have. I have to stop being so picky, that’s how I was on Myspace…way to critical of myself or my pics 😛

  5. Jen says:

    I meant I was going to pin your recipe on Pinterest Suzie, and I did….13 people repinned it!! I think your blog will be very popular 🙂 Keep the recipes coming!! I think we’re gonna try this on Friday.

    • Suzie says:

      I assumed you meant pin it…lol! I haven’t been on Pinterest because I figured it would be another site I’d be hooked on and I’m hooked on enough. I hear everyone talking about it though. I can’t believe that many people repinned…cool! And thank you!! Oh, and if you like heat you’ll want to add the seeds from the jalapeno or even more jalapenos and just taste as you add 🙂

      • Jen says:

        I do like heat, but my stomach probably can’t handle it as much as it used to. I will make it light on the heat and if I need more I’ll add the seeds the second time I make it. I’m sure my husband will be very impressed with this bc he LOVES Jerk Chicken!!

      • Jen says:

        And you really should check out Pinterest, there are soooooo many recipes and finds I know you’d absolutely love!! Now when I want to try something new, I check my boards bc I’ve already pinned enough recipes to try something new once a week.

        • Suzie says:

          Well, let me know how he, and you, like it 🙂 Maybe I’ll sneak over tonight to look at Pinterest because looking through my recipes I have tons of chicken recipes and I need more than just chicken to post!

  6. sherryhon@comcast.net says:

    Kewl site Suzie…gonna try the recipe….but love to hear more about the Wolverine….

  7. Slim says:

    Sounds good Suze. Not sure if I tried this one yet; but, you know me. I like spice over bland.

  8. I can’t believe I’ve never made Jamaican Style Jerk Chicken before! It’s going on my to-do list!

Leave a Reply

